Skip to main content

Music: Music Education

A comprehensive resource guide for music research

Useful LC Subject Headings (Descriptors)

Maag Library uses:
Library of Congress (LC) Subject Headings/Descriptors:

Here are some useful search terms and combinations:
(LC Subject Headings are in BOLD!)

(no need to capitalize when doing online searching)

Accreditation (Education)

Accreditation -- Law and legislation

Active learning

Arts -- Study and teaching -- Standards -- United States

Block scheduling (Education)

block scheduling and music

block scheduling and school*

Charter schools

Child development -- Bibliography

Children's songs

Classroom management

Cognition disorders in children

Cognition in adolescence

Cognition in children

Cognitive learning

Cognitive styles

Disabilities

Early childhood education

Education--Philosophy

Education -- Standards

Education, Primary

Education, Secondary--United States

Educational surveys

Effective teaching

Experiential learning

Formal discipline

Inclusive education

instruction and study

Intellect

Jaques-Dalcroze, Emile, 1865-1950

Kodaly, Zoltan,1882-1967

Laban, Rudolf von, 1879-1958

Learning

Learning disabilities

Magnet schools -- United States

Mainstreaming in education

Middle school teaching

Middle schools

Movement, Psychology of

Multiple intelligences

multiple intelligences and music

Music and technology

Music appreciation

music education

Music in education -- History

Music in physical education

Music -- Instruction and study -- Juvenile

Music -- Instruction and study -- Standards -- United States

Music - Instruction and study - United States - History

Music -- Philosophy and aesthetics

Music teachers  -- Rating of - United States

non performance

Orff, Carl, 1895-1982.

Private schools

Public schools

Schedules, School

School music - Instruction and study

School music -- Public relations

School music supervision

School year--United States

schools and performance

Student teachers -- Supervision of

Student teaching

students and inclusion and music

study and teaching

Teaching

technology and public schools

Year-round schools

Useful Print Reference Sources

Children's Jukebox:  The Select Subject Guide to Children's Musical Recordings, 2nd ed. / Rob Reid.
REF ML 156.4 .C5 R45 2007

Children's Song Index: An Index to more than 22,000 songs in 189 collections, comprising 222 volumes / Helen Grant Cushing, comp.
REF ML 128 .S3 C8

A Guide to Research in Music Education / Roger P. Phelps.
REF MT 1 .P5 2005

Index to Children's Songs: A Title, first line, and subject index / Carolyn Sue Peterson and Ann D. Fenton, comp.
REF ML 128 .S3 P48

The New Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning / R. Colwell & C. Richardson. 
REF MT 1 .N39 2002

The Oxford Handbook of Music Psychology / Susan Hallam, Ian Cross and Michael Thaut, eds.
REF ML 3830 .O9 2009

Music Education Journals (LaGuardia)

These are music education titles recommended in Magazines for Libraries. Cheryl LaGuardia, ed. 20th ed. (2012).

American Music Teacher

Choral Journal*

Instrumentalist*

International Journal of Music Education

Journal of Research in Music Education

Kodaly Envoy

Music Education Research

Music Educators Journal (MEJ)*

 

Check these titles in "Maag Journal Finder" ...>

American Choral Review

American Music Teacher

Teaching Music*

The Voice (Chorus America)

* = Maag Library has a print subscription to these titles!

 

Add'l. Print Subscriptions held by Maag Library

Ethnomusicology

Journal of Band Research

The VOICE [of] Chorus America

Useful LC Call Numbers

School music:  M1992+

            Bibliography:  ML128.S25

                        Discography:  ML156.4.S4

            For

                        Children

                                    Instruction and study:  MT1918+

                                    Song books:  M1994+

                                    Songs:  M1994.5+

Musical Instruction and Study:

Theory of musical instruction and study (Pedagogies):  MT1

History and criticism:

            General:  MT2

            Music study by Americans in Europe:  MT2.5

            By region or country, A-Z:  MT3

Teachers' - supervisors' manuals, etc.:  MT10

Music in special education:  MT17

Music therapy:  ML3920

Special methods:

            Galin-Paris-Chevé:  MT20

            Jaques-Dalcroze:  MT22

Band instruction and study:

            General:  MT733

            Marching bands and maneuvers:  MT733.4

            Drum majoring:  MT733.5

            Baton twirling:  MT733.6

Instrumental techniques:

            Instruction and study for children:

                        Orchestral music, chamber music, etc.:  MT810

Singing and voice culture:

            Techniques for children:

                        General:  MT898

                        Systems and methods:  MT900

                        Special techniques:  MT905

                        Choir training:  MT915

                        School (General)  MT918

                                    Kindergarten

                                    General:  MT920

                                    Methods and exercises:  MT925

                                    Elementary schools.  Junior high schools.  High schools.

                                    General:  MT930

                                    Methods (Vocal):  MT935

                                    Outlines of courses, etc.:  MT936

                                    Methods and exercises (Instrumental):  MT937

                                    Studies and exercises: 

                                                General:  MT945

                                                Action and drill music games:  MT949

                                                

Music Education Websites

Useful Print and Online indexes/Commercial Databases

Print Periodical Indexes relating to Music:  provide subject access to articles in magazines, journals, etc.

*Music Index (with other print indices in the Reference Room) (1949-1999) - this is, perhaps, the most comprehensive index of music periodicals! [REF ML 118 .M84__ ] Also available on CD-ROM (MMC ML 118 .M845__ ) and online!

*RILM (Maag Periodicals - 6th Floor) -  1967-1998; also available online!

*RIPM (Répertoire International de la Presse Musicale; Maag Stacks) - indexes [by title] 18th, 19th, and early 20th Century periodicals -  [ML B35 .I55__ ]

 

Online Commercial/Subscription databases/Periodical Indexes - use to find articles in periodicals on a given topic; all online sources are accessible from the Maag Library Web Site (http://maag.ysu.edu) under "QuickLinks" - "Reserach Databases" (Use "Listed by Subject" to find database recommendations for specific disciplines!)

Music-specific resources:

Grove Music Online - the "Encyclopedia Britannica of music;" a full text online music encyclopedia  (N.B., this source is NOT a periodical index).

The Music Index - print (1949-2007) and online versions (1973-present) - the "Mother of All Music Indexes!" - Unfortunately no full-text is available, but the online version makes searching MUCH easier than the print version! The Music Index is the single most comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature. It surveys data from more than 850 music periodicals from over 40 countries. The Music Index has been available in print since 1949. The Music Index Online edition features over 1.4 million records. The searchable database is updated quarterly. In 2008, The Music Index Online coverage will span from 1973 to the present. Some backfile data from the period 1962-1972 is also included.

RILM - print (Annex) & online availability - (1964- current) - Provides article citations and abstracts from 3500 international music journals and other scholarly works including books, dissertations, bibliographies, concert reviews, critical commentaries, videos and films, etc.

General resources:

Academic Search Premier - online - multi-disciplinary index; coverage varies (approx. last 20 yrs.) - some full text

Dissertation Abstracts - 'Covers every doctoral dissertation completed in the US at accredited institutions for the last 150 years. Includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations.'

Google Scholar - provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.

JSTOR - provides full-text coverage of hundreds of academis journals in the humanities and social sciences, including education and music.

LexisNexis Academic (formerly Academic Universe) - online - coverage varies - provides full text coverage of newspaper articles; also legal, business, and medical info.

MasterFILE Premier - online - multi-disciplinary database; provides full-text for 1,750 general reference publications

Education-specific resources:

ERIC - online - 1966-present; updated quarterly - the U.S. Department of Education's Educational Resource Information Center database, contains citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals. This database also contains full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information.

Middle Search Plus - for middle and high school students; provides full-text for nearly 140 popular magazines for middle and junior high school research.

Multimedia Librarian

Position Vacant's picture
Position Vacant
Contact:
Multimedia Center
Maag Library - 3rd Floor
330-941-2382