What resources are available to assist me with research?
1. Online [library] catalog
Use to find:
Journal subscription/holding information
Do NOT use an online catalog to find:
Magazine and journal articles! (Use a periodical index instead!)
Types of Library Catalogs:
Indivdiual library catalogs - provide info on the holdings of a particular library
(for example: the Maag Library Catalog: maag.ysu.edu)
Union Catalogs - provide info on the holdings of more than one library
(for example: WorldCat - accessible from the Maag Library Home
Page -- click "Research Databases -- By Name -- U-Z")
2. Commercial Online Databases - click "Research Databases"
These are resources for which the Library pays a subscription fee
In general, the info in these databases is more reliable than most of what
you find using Internet search engines
These resources may provide:
An index to articles in a specific set of magazines and journals which may include:
Citations - author, title, journal name, volume, number, date, pagination
Abstracts - brief summary of what the article is about [Music Literature (RILM)]
Full text of resources also available in print, such as:
Encyclopedias - Grove Music Online, Oxford Reference Online
Newspapers - Newspaper Source, Newsbank, LexisNexis Academic
Journals - Academic Search Complete, Humanities International Complete
3. Print reference sources, including:
Encyclopedias - The New Grove, The Garland Encyclopedia of World
Music, Encyclopedia of Musical Theatre, Encyclopedia of Jazz
Dictionaries - The Harvard Dictionary of Music; Baker's Biographical
Dictionary of Musicians
Monographic bibliographies - books that are lists of sources of info for
specific topics. The Library has a number of composer-specific bibliographies!
Periodical Indexes - Oxford Music Online, RILM Abstracts
Complete Works of Composers, such as Bach, Beethoven, Brahms, Haydn, Mozart, etc.
Musical Monuments - scores of historical significance categorized by
genre or national origin - Das Chorwerk, Denkmaler deutscher Tonkunst
4. Internet resources
Specially selected Websites for Music are available on the Music LibGuide
Internet search engines (such as Yahoo, Google, Bing, etc.) can also be useful
5. Librarians and Faculty Experts!
Scott Pfitzinger is the Multimedia Librarian and liaison with the Dana School of Music.
Other librarians are available by asking at the Reference Desk on the main floor of Maag Library.
Dana's Faculty Members have fine expertise in a wide-ranging variety of areas!