Skip to main content

Social Work: Home

Social work is a helping profession focused on “social change, problem solving in human relationships and the empowerment and liberation of people to enhance well-being” (IASSW & IFSW 2001).

Web Sites

·  National Association of Social Workers
Site includes recent developments in Social Work, a link to the Code of Ethics of the National Association of Social Workers and the NASW JobLINK.

·  Ohio Department of Job and Family Services online
This online site includes links regarding adoption, child care, health plans, unemployment benefits for the State of Ohio.

·  U. S. Department of Health and Human Services
The HHS site includes a topic search, news, links to other federal agencies in human services. Has links to opportunities in funding, grants, research, training and employment.

·  Social Work Department at Youngstown State University
Includes information on admissions, curriculum, field work, career opportunities, and the Nursing Home Administration Program

Locating Books

MaagNET Library Catalog


  • For search tips and information see Using MaagNet.
  • Not sure of a topic? Here are a few Library of Congress Subject Headings to get you started:
    • aged
    • alcoholism
    • child abuse
    • corrections
    • family
    • group homes
    • social case work
    • social problems
    • social work as a profession
    • youth service

Multidisciplinary Resources

  • ERIC 1966 to present. Off-Campus Access
    An index and abstracting service for the literature of Education. Includes references to reports and studies as well as journal articles. For assistance in locating ERIC Resources, see ERIC Database Resources
  • Education Abstracts 1983-present. Off-Campus Access
    Provides references to journal articles in Education. Especially good for any topic that deals with children (child care, child abuse, child development).
  • Social Sciences Index 1983 to present.         Off-Campus Access
    An index to the journal literature of the social sciences. Includes links to some full text. Previous years in Ref. AI3 .S62.
  • Sociological Collection Off-Campus Access
    Covers all areas of sociology using abstracts, indexes and full text.
  • SocINDEX Off-Campus Access
    SocINDEX offers extensive coverage of all areas of sociology using abstracts, indexes and searchable citations.
  • Psychological & Behavioral Sciences Collection Off-Campus Access
    This database uses indexes, abstracts, and full text to cover many topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology.

Blogs

A directory of Social Work blogs from around the world.

The blog for the National Social Workers Association.