Nursing Science and Research: Choosing Where to Search

You have an arsenal of tools to use when researching your topic. You may want to use all or only some of these tools in different resources.

Cochrane:

• Access: Anywhere, request full text via ILL
• Contains: Systematic Reviews and Meta Analyzes
• Tools to Use: Search Terms, Limiters
• Techniques: Search with few terms instead of extensive search 

National Guideline Clearinghouse:

• Access: Anywhere, with free full text
• Contains: Guidelines and Summaries
• Tools to Use: Search Terms
• Techniques: Browse Topics, Search with few terms instead of extensive search

TRIP Medical Database:

• Access: Anywhere, with free full text if you have an account
• Contains: Systematic Reviews, Meta Analyses, Guidelines, Summaries, Randomized Control Trials
• Tools to Use: Search Terms
• Techniques: Copy search terms into PICO search boxes

PubMed: Free Public Site | See "General Medical Databases" below for Full Text Access

• Access: Anywhere, Some full text without logging in while off campus, More full text on campus or when logged in
• Contains: Systematic Reviews, Meta Analyzes, Randomized Control Trials, Cohort Studies, ETC.
• Tools to Use: Search Statement, Search Terms, Limiters
• Techniques: Copy Search Statement Exactly, Edit as necessary by substituting terms and limiters.

Medline: See "General Medical Databases" below for Access

• Access: On and Off Campus for YSU Students, Off campus requires log in
• Contains: Systematic Reviews, Meta Analyses, Randomized Control Trials, Cohort Studies, ETC.
• Tools to Use: Search Statement, Search Terms, Limiters
• Techniques: Copy Search Statement Exactly, Edit as necessary by substituting terms and limiters

CINAHL: See "Nursing Focused Databases" below for Access

• Access:  On and Off Campus for YSU Students, Off campus requires log in
• Contains: Systematic Reviews, Meta Analyses, Randomized Control Trials, Cohort Studies, ETC.
• Tools to Use: Search Statement, Search Terms, Limiters
• Techniques: Copy Search Statement Exactly, Edit as necessary by substituting terms and limiters

Nursing@Ovid: See "Nursing Focused Databases" below for Access

• Access:  On and Off Campus for YSU Students, Off campus requires log in
• Contains: Systematic Reviews, Meta Analyses, Randomized Control Trials, Cohort Studies, ETC.
• Tools to Use: Search Statement, Search Terms, Limiters
• Techniques: Copy Search Statement Exactly, Edit as necessary by substituting terms and limiters

ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source: See "Nursing Focused Databases" below for Access

• Access:  On and Off Campus for YSU Students, Off campus requires log in
• Contains: Systematic Reviews, Meta Analyses, Randomized Control Trials, Cohort Studies, ETC.
• Tools to Use: Search Statement, Search Terms, Limiters
• Techniques: Copy Search Statement Exactly, Edit as necessary by substituting terms and limiter

UpToDate

• ​Access: On and Off Campus for YSU students. Must register for UpToDate ON CAMPUS the first time. Once registered you will have your own username and password that you can use to login from anywhere, including the UpToDate App on your cell phone. You will need to reauthorize on campus every 3 months. *** UpToDate is extending all authorization for 180 days from 2/1/20
• Contains: Guidelines and Best Practice, Patient Information, Drug Interaction, UpToDate Pathways
• Tools to Use: Search Statement, Limiters
• Techniques: Broad search statement, edit as necessary by adding or subtracting terms

*** Note: If you are off campus you will need to log in with your last name and YSU ID# (for YSU proxy).***

1) Follow links within the databases.  

2) Use the Maag Journal Finder (You must have the full citation to do this!)

3) Request a copy through the InterLibrary Loan  Journal Article Request Form (You must have the full citation to do this!)

    Note: You must login to get access to the form ( you will need to enter your name and Y number)

              This process can take 1-2 weeks depending on responses from other libraries.