Politics Subject Guide: Political Science

If you are not on campus, you must login to authenticate (select your institution, enter your name and YSU ID#).

Political Science and Law  Databases

Includes citations and abstracts to articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present from over 2,000 journals in the humanities and social sciences.

 

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) Off-campus access

A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 4300 periodicals and contains full text for over 3400 scholarly publications.

 

Associations on the Net (Political Science and Law)

Once on the site, select a subject category. If message says “no items found”, select “Subject collections” and/or “Magazines.”

 

Background notes

Concise info on most countries published by the U.S. State Department. Entire database is keyword searchable. (Try “absolutist” for a start.)

 

Center for American Women in Politics

The Center for American Women and Politics (CAWP) is a university-based research, education and public service center. Its mission is to promote greater knowledge and understanding about women’s participation in politics and government and to enhance women’s influence and leadership in public life.

 

Center for Progressive Leadership

            The Center for Progressive Leadership (CPL) is a national civic training institute that develops diverse leaders who can effectively advance   progressive political and policy change.  CPL was founded by a broad and diverse group of progressive leaders from around the country who   saw crucial gaps in training, mentorship, coaching, and support for progressive campaign, organization, community, policy and political  leaders.

 

Common Cause

“Common Cause is a lobbying organization whose main goal is to make “our government more accountable to its citizens. It does not support any of the political parties, but works for government reform.”

 

Country at a Glance

Overview of data on U.N. Member Nations.

 

Country Studies

Covers information previously published in Country Study/Area Handbooks 1986-1998 by the Research Division of the Library of Congress. Funding for this program was discontinued in 1998.

 

DOSFAN Electronic Research Collection

A partnership of the United States Department of State, the Federal Depository Library Program, and the Federal Depository Library at the University of Illinois at Chicago, this site consists of archived electronic documents and publications of the Department of State and the U.S. Arms Control and Disarmament Agency. Also responsible for answering questions regardin the content of severla U.S. government sites.

Electronic Journal Center (EJC) [OhioLINK] (1995 to date)

Full-text articles from OhioLINK electronic journal subscription databases. Currently includes over 4000 scholarly journals, including more than 340 titles in politics, political science, and law. For search tips and help see: EJC help.

 

Federal and State Law Locator

Legal research site providing extensive web site listing for researching federal and state laws.

 

Global Gateway

Electronic resources on the nations of the world selected by Library of Congress subject experts.

Historical Abstracts

Index and abstracts to articles covering world history from 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada). Includes or has links to full text.

 

Infonation

Statistical data for member countries of the United Nations.

International Political Science Abstracts Off-campus access

Index and abstracts to journal articles in political science, international relations, law, and public administration / policy. Includes or has links to full text

JSTOR Off-campus access

Supplies full text articles from the very first volume to the last 3-5 years for approximately 240 titles in the Arts & Sciences.

Opposing viewpoints Off-campus access

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

Oxford Reference – Politics and Social Sciences Off-campus access

Currently includes searchable full text of the following reference books: A Dictionary of Contemporary World History, Oxford Guide to Countries of the World, A Dictionary of Geography, A Dictionary of Political Biography, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics, A Dictionary of Psychology, Dictionary of the Social Sciences, A Dictionary of Sociology, The Oxford Guide to the United States Government, and Handbook of the World.

 

To the Contrary (PBS)

“To The Contrary [provides] an important, timely forum for women to discuss national and international issues and policies…With more women in Congress and the Cabinet, women’s issues and perspectives are more high-profile than ever before. Americans have cast strong votes of confidence in women leaders and leaders who promote concerns embraced by women. To The Contrary, a leader in women’s perspectives, will continue to make their voices heard throughout its [fifteenth] season of broadcast.”

 

United Nations

Web site of the United Nations. Includes online publications and databases.

 

United States. Department of State

See especially Countries and Regions and International Topics and Issues.

 

United States Government Documents (Maag Library)

A guide to information on the Web published by the federal and state governments (prepared by Maag Library).

 

Washington Week (PBS)

“Washington Week is the longest-running public affairs program on PBS. The show first aired locally on WETA on February 23, 1967…. [It]features a group of journalists participating in roundtable discussion of major news events.” Each week, each journalist is assigned to become expert on a given topic. They are then interviewed/questioned by the other three. No hype, no argumentative discourse, just informed journalism on topics of the previous week and of the day.

 

World Factbook

Factual and statistical information published by the CIA. Country information updated as of August 2003. Use the search box at the top of the screen to select a country.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, 1975-2006

Index and abstracts to journal articles in political science, international relations, law, and public administration / policy. Includes or has links to full text.

 

Maag Print Resources include:

 

International Resources and Statistics

America at the Polls Ref. JK524 .A73 2005x

“A Reference Guide to Concepts, Ideas and Institutions”

 

Dictionary of World Politics Ref. D 419 .K87 2002

“A Reference Guide to Concepts, Ideas and Institutions”

 

Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law Ref. JX 1226 .P33 1986

Dictionary of World Politics Ref. D 419 .K87 2002

“A Reference Guide to Concepts, Ideas and Institutions”

 

Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy 3 vols. Ref. JX 1407 .E53

Includes articles on the principle movements and ideas influencing American foreign relations (themes, doctrines, policies).

 

Europa World Year Book Ref. JN 1 .E85

Part I provides an overview of international organizations. Part II is a listing by country, including information on the constitution and government, judicial system, political organizations and diplomatic representatives.

 

From Suffrage to the Senate: America’s Political Women : an Encyclopedia of Leaders, Causes, & Issues, 2 vols.

Ref. HQ 1236.5 .U6 S32 2006

International Yearbook and Statesmen’s Who’s Who Ref. JA 51 .I57 (Latest in Ref.)

Provides a detailed listing of UN agencies, major intergovernmental organizations, world population and GNP statistics. Gives an economic, historical and political description of all countries, as well as brief biographical sketches of major political personalities throughout the world.

 

Oxford Companion to Politics of the World JA 61 .O95

Includes information on countries, political institutions, and concepts.

 

Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law Ref. JX 1226 .P33 1986

Political Handbook of the World Ref. JF 37 . P6

Contains essential, current political information about every country in the world. Also lists the composition and activities of many intergovernmental organizations.

 

Political Parties of the of the World Ref. JF 2051 .D39 2005x

Includes information on countries, political institutions, and concepts.

 

The Statesman’s Yearbook Ref. JA 51 .S7

Includes information on international organizations and a political and economic overview of the nations of the world. Contains an insert with fold-out world map and flags of the world.

 

Treaties and Alliances of the World, 3rd ed. (will soon be replaced by the 8th ed., 2007)     JX 4005 .T72 1981

Provides details of major alliances and organizations. Lists multilateral and bilateral treaties in the fields of defense and economic cooperation. Maps illustrate countries’ membership in alliances or organizations.

 

Treaties in Force KZ 235 .T74 Lastest edition also available online

Produced by the U.S. Department of State, this is a descriptive list of the treaties and international agreements to which the U.S. is a party.

 

United States. Dept. of State. Foreign relations of the United States JX233 .A3

Papers relating to the foreign relations of the United States

 

Yearbook of the United Nations JX 1977 .A37Y4