Getting Started - THTR 1559 - Play Production - LibGuides at Youngstown State University

General Information for Theater Studies

Maag Library uses the Library of Congress (LC) Classification System. Unlike the Dewey Decimal System, the LC System is an alpha-numeric system, employing both letters and numbers. Every LC call number begins with a letter or letters which designate the general subject of the material. In the LC classification system, theatre materials can be found in a variety of letter/number combinations. Below are some of the most frequently used designations for theatre resources.

GT500 - GT2289	Costumes -- history/description
GT2290 - GT2341	Hair, cosmetics
GT1747	Masks
NA	Architecture
ND2885	Scene painting
NK8802 - NK8998	Textile arts
PN1600 - PN3307	Drama
PN2068	Make-up
PN2091 .E4	Electric devices; stage lighting
PN2091 .S8	Stage settings; scenery
PN2061 - PN2071	Art of acting
PN2085 - PN2901	The stage and accessories
PN2091 .S6	Sound effects
PN2131 - PN2145	Ancient theatre History
PN2152 - PN2160	Medieval theatre history
PN2171 - PN2179	Renaissance theatre history
PN2181 - PN2193	Modern theatre history
PN3035	The Jewish theatre
PN6110.5 - PN6120	Play collections
PR621 - PR739	English literature-drama
PR641 - PR739	History of drama literature
PS330 - PS352	American literature-drama
TS545 - TT850	Costumes -- construction

Play Synopses

Drury’s Guide to Best Plays
Z 5781 .D8 1978

International Dictionary of Theatre (3 vol.)
REF PN 2035 .I49 1992 v.1-3

A Digest of 500 Plays: Plot Outlines and Production Notes
PN6112.5 .S42

Guide to Great Plays
PN6112.5 .S45

Directories

Directory of Theatre Faculties in Colleges and Universities, U.S. and Canada
REF PN 2078 .U6 D58

Directory of Theatre Training Programs: Profiles of College and Conservatory Programs throughout the United States
REF PN 2078 .U6 D56

Theatre Companies of the World
REF PN 2052 .T48 1986 v.1-2

Community Theatre : Idea and Achievement
PN2267 .G28 1975

American and British Theatrical Biography : A Directory
REF PN2285 .W42

General Reference for Theater

An International Dictionary of Theatre Language by Edward A. Langhans (Editor); Joel Trapido (Contribution by); James R. Brandon (Editor); June V. Gibson (Editor)
Call Number: REF PN 2035 .I5 1985
ISBN: 0313229805
Publication Date: 1985
Includes theatre terms from around the world, with over 10,000 English terms plus 5,000 from more than sixty foreign languages. The aim was to `find and define any theatre term which has been used by readers or speakers of English.' Coverage begins with the theatre of ancient Greece in the sixth century B.C. to the present.
The Oxford Companion to the Theatre, 4th ed. by Phyllis Hartnoll
Call Number: REF PN 2035 .O9 1983
Publication Date: 1983
While maintaining the primary purpose of preceding editions in providing a solid survey of the development of the theatre from its beginnings in primitive ritual to the present day in all countries that have a continuing theatrical tradition, this new edition offers more information on contemporary writers, directors, players, companies, and theatres, both metropolitan and regional. An extensive system of cross-referencing leads the reader to entries containing related information, and a generous bibliography offers guidance on further reading.
The Cambridge Guide to American Theatre by Don B. Wilmeth (Editor); Tice L. Miller (Editor)
Call Number: PN 2220 .C35 1993 (also in REF)
ISBN: 0521401348
Publication Date: 1993
An encyclopedic guide to all aspects of the American theatre from its earliest history to the present, with over 2,300 cross-referenced entries on people, venues, plays, and other theatrical phenomena. There are over 100 topical entries covering theatre in several major US cities and such disparate subjects as African-American, Asian and Hispanic theatre, theatre architecture, scenic design, gay and lesbian theatre, magic, unions, puppetry, and alternative, popular forms (such as circus, vaudeville, burlesque, tent shows).
The Cambridge Guide to Asian Theatre by James R. Brandon (Editor); Martin Banham (Editor)
Call Number: PN 2860 .C35 1993
ISBN: 052141623X
Publication Date: 1993
A comprehensive and authoritative single-volume reference work on the theatre arts of Asia-Oceania. Nine expert scholars provide entries on performance in twenty countries from Pakistan in the west, through India and Southeast Asia to China, Japan and Korea in the east. The entries are accompanied by rare photographs and helpful reading lists.
The Cambridge Guide to Theatre by Martin Banham (Editor)
Call Number: REF PN 2035 .C27 1995
ISBN: 0521434378
Publication Date: 1995
Substantially revised and updated for this new edition, this is the most comprehensive guide to the history and current practice of worldwide theatre available today.
The Cambridge Guide to World Theatre by Martin Banham (Editor)
Call Number: REF PN 2035 .C27 1988
ISBN: 0521265959
Publication Date: 1988
The Cambridge Guide to World Theatre is an illustrated single-volume reference that emphasizes international theater and performance in its broadest sense. A-to-Z entries provide clear and concise information on traditions, theories, companies, playwrights, practitioners, venues and events.
Facts on File Dictionary of the Theatre by William Packard (Editor)
Call Number: REF PN 2035 .F27 1988
ISBN: 0816018413
Publication Date: 1989
The Reader's Encyclopedia of Shakespeare by Oscar James Campbell and Edward Quinn
Call Number: REF PR2892 .C3
Publication Date: 1966
Analytical Sourcebook of Concepts in Dramatic Theory by Oscar L. Brownstein; Darlene M. Daubert
Call Number: Z 5781 .A55
ISBN: 0313213097
Publication Date: 1981
Theatre in the Twentieth Century by Tulane Drama Review Staff; Robert W. Corrigan (Editor)
Call Number: PN 2020 .T8
ISBN: 083691631X
Publication Date: 1977
Contemporary Theatre
Call Number: PR 737 .C6 1963
Publication Date: 1962
Preface, by J.R. Brown and B. Harris.--Two romantics: Arnold Wesker and Harold Pinter, by C. Leech.--Realism and parables: from Brecht to Arden, by G.W. Brandt.--George Bernard Shaw, by A.R. Jones.--Somewhat in a new dimension, by A. Nicoll.--Verse and prose, by K. Muir.--Back to the text, by R.D. Smith.--Dipsychus among the shadows, by H.A. Smith.--The Irish theatre: retrospect and premonition, by J. Jordan.--Television drama, by J.L. Styan
The Dictionary of Theatre Anthropology by Eugenio Barba; Nicola Savarese; Richard Fowler (Translator)
Call Number: REF PN 2041 .A57 A5313 1991
ISBN: 0415053080
Publication Date: 1991
Juxtaposing the performer's craft as it is understood in the Occident and Orient -- in the context of plays, combat, religion, and ritual -- this sourcebook on global theatre elucidates the nature of dramatic action and the actor's craft by examining the dramatic event cross-culturally.
Encyclopedia of Musical Theater by Kurt Ganzl
Call Number: REF ML 102 .M88 G3 2001 v.1-3
ISBN: 0028649702
Publication Date: 2001
Fully revised and updated to document such developments with 500 new articles, more than 4,000 revised articles and dozens of color photos. From the dawn of operetta in the 18th century to the present, this set offers an unrivaled amount of information on the people, the songs and shows in America and around the world.
International Dictionary of Theatre by Mark Hawkins-Dady (Editor)
Call Number: REF PN 2035 .I49 1992 v.1-3
ISBN: 1558620958
Publication Date: 1992
International and historical in scope, this reference includes nearly 1,500 entries and is divided into three volumes: Volume 1: Plays focuses on 600 of the world's most significant plays, with an authoritative essay on each play and more than 300 photographs. Volume 2: Playwrights contains biographical and bibliographical information and essays on 485 playwrights. Volume 3: Actors, Directors and Designers, features a capsule biography, descriptions: of roles and theatre productions and bibliographic information on 300 entrants.
The Oxford Companion to American Theatre by Gerald Bordman
Call Number: REF PN 2220 .B6 1984
Publication Date: 1984
2004 edition also available online
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance by Dennis Kennedy (Editor)
Call Number: REF PN 2035 .O94 2003
ISBN: 0198601743
Publication Date: 2003
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance provides comprehensive, authoritative, and up-to-date information about the performing arts internationally, through history, and in the present.
Theatre Backstage from A to Z by Warren C. Lounsbury, ed.
Call Number: PN 2035 .L6 1972
Publication Date: 1972

THTR 1559 - Play Production: Getting Started

General Information for Theater Studies

Play Synopses

Directories

General Reference for Theater