MUHL 3773 - Music History & Literature 3: Databases

More than 250 journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and the Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) index are available in full text.

Provides full text of journal articles on all aspects of theater and performance, plus indexing for books, book articles and dissertation abstracts. IBTD with Full Text is a multicultural and inter-disciplinary research tool for theater students, educators and professionals. IBTD was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research and continued by the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College.

BDB provides a comprehensive database of shows produced on Broadway, including all "title page" information about each production. IBDB also offers historical information about theatres and various statistics and fun facts related to Broadway.

Information found in IBDB is derived primarily from theatre programs (in most cases from a production's opening night). Supplemental information was taken from newspaper and magazine reports, theatrical text books, interviews with theatre professionals, and League archives.

The world’s largest online classical music library offering streaming access to more than 115,000 CDs. Includes sophisticated advanced search capabilities to find content, and provides music education resources.

Grove Music Online is the eighth edition of Grove’s Dictionary of Music and Musicians, and contains articles commissioned specifically for the site as well as articles from New Grove 2001, Grove Opera, and Grove Jazz. The recently published second editions of The Grove Dictionary of American Music and The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments are still being put online, and new articles are added to GMO with each site update.

The OhioLINK Music Center, a subset of the Naxos Music Library, is an online streaming music database of international works from Classical to Spoken Word. The 78,000+ tracks, 21,000+ works can be searched or browsed by track, title, performer, album, composer and date of composition. Flash player is required. Access to the music files is restricted to the students, faculty and staff of OhioLINK member institutions.

An international bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines. RILM provides a broad, international coverage and concise abstracts. All scholarly works are indexed (articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, films and videos, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, reviews, etc.). Concert reviews, recording notes, pedagogical manuals, etc. are indexed if they are of scholarly interest.

Areas of coverage encompass historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, librarianship, performance practice and notation, theory and analysis, pedagogy, liturgy, dance, criticism, music therapy, and interdisciplinary studies on music and various other fields, including literature, dramatic arts, visual arts, acoustics, aesthetics, anthropology, sociology, linguistics and semiotics, mathematics, philosophy, physiology, psychology, and physics.

In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

Provides biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, along with thousands of images. BRB offers substantive narrative profiles, each about 2,000 words long, from H.W. Wilson publications and other respected publishers.
The biographies are searchable by name, profession, title, place of origin, gender, race/ethnicity, titles of works, date of birth, date of death, keyword, and presence of images. Daily updates provide up-to-the-minute coverage of newsmakers.

Full-text articles, abstracts, and images gleaned from thousands of magazines and journals cover new names and expand on existing profiles. Book review excerpts and full text reviews help users find and select print biographies.

Incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for nearly 200 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915). CMMC contains a sophisticated controlled vocabulary and comprehensive reference browsing (i.e. searchable citations for all peer-reviewed journals covered as “core”).

Contains more than 2 million entries for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Since 1997, new publications have been available electronically, and many publications can be ordered through the system for a fee. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities.

The OhioLINK Electronic Theses and Dissertation (ETD) Center is an open access, online database of undergraduate, master, and doctoral degree theses and dissertation from OhioLINK ETD Center member institutions. Abstracts are available, as well as full-text when provided.

Indexes education-related literature, beginning in 1966. Covers descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. In 1993, ERIC began indexing education-related books, including the output of major publishers.

The online resource for film and television research. It is a comprehensive bibliographic and full text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 270 publications (and selected coverage of more than 300), as well as full text for more than 70 journals and nearly 50 books.

Google Scholar is an online, freely accessible search engine that lets users look for both physical and digital copies of articles. It searches a wide variety of sources, including academic publishers, universities, and preprint depositories looking for:

Peer-reviewed articles
Theses
Books
Technical reports
Abstracts
Reprints

With 50 million pages digitized, and an additional 3 million pages added each year, JSTOR includes more than 2,000 academic journals, plus thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education.

Black Women in America, 2nd ed. (2005)
Dictionary of African Biography (2011)
Dictionary of American Family Names (2006)
Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law, 3rd ed. (2009)
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2008)
Encyclopedia of African American History 1896 to the Present (2009)
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895: From the Colonial Period to the Age of Frederick Douglass (2009)
Encyclopedia of Climate & Weather, 2nd ed. (2011)
Encyclopedia of Enlightenment (2005)
Encyclopedia of Evolution (2005)
Encyclopedia of Global Change (2005)
Encyclopedia of Human Rights (2009)
Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 4th ed. (2009)
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric (2006)
Encyclopedia of Semiotics (2007)
Encyclopedia of Social Work, 20th ed. (2008)
Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls (2008)
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages (2005)
Green’s Dictionary of Slang (2011)
International Encyclopedia of Dance (2005)
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics, 2nd ed. (2003)
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World (2008)
Grove Encyclopedia of American Art (2011)
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art & Architecture (2007)
Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts (2006)
Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art & Architecture (2009)
Grove Encyclopedia of Materials & Techniques in Art (2008)
Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art (2009)
The Oxford Classical Dictionary, 3rd rev. ed. (2005)
The Oxford Companion to Archaeology, 2nd ed. (2012)
The Oxford Companion to Architecture (2009)
The Oxford Companion to Comparative Politics (2012)
The Oxford Companion to Indian Theatre (2011)
The Oxford Companion to Music (2011)
The Oxford Companion to the Book (2010)
The Oxford Companion to World Exploration (2007)
The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium (2005)
The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 6th ed. (2013)
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, 3rd rev. ed. (2009)
The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion, 2nd ed. (2011)
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages (2010)
The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance (2005)
The Oxford Encyclopaedia of the Music of India (2011)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought (2010)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature (2005)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt (2005)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece & Rome (2010)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature (2006)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Children’s Literature (2006)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History (2005)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food & Drink in America, 1st ed. (2005)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos & Latinas in the United States (2005)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Maritime History (2007)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare & Military Technology (2010)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures (2006)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World (2009)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation (2005)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & Performance (2005)
The Oxford Encyclopedia Women in World History (2008)
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History (2009)
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace (2010)

The OCLC union catalog, containing more than 43 million records describing books and other items owned by libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings. WorldCat covers thousands of subjects and includes records for items as far back as 1000 B.C. Materials covered in the catalog include: books, internet resources, computer data files, computer programs, films, journals, magazines, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, slides, sound recordings, and videotapes. WorldCat does not include individual article titles or stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters.