Skip to main content

Psychology: Home

Psychology is an academic and applied discipline that involves the scientific study of mental functions and behaviors ---Wikipedia

Locating Books

MaagNET Library Catalog

  • For search tips and information see Using MaagNet.
  • Not sure of a topic? Here are a few Library of Congress Subject Headings to get you started:
    • Psychology
    • Human Biology
    • Mental Health
  • Browse: the collections

    Resources in Psychology may be found throughout the library: in the Reference Room, in the General and Oversize Collections, in the Serials/Microforms area and in Government Documents (see Building Guide).

    • Use the following sections of the Library of Congress Classes for Psychology to browse the shelves for books and periodicals. (For a listing of what the initial letters of LC Classes stand for, see the Library of Congress Classification Outline).
      • BF1-990 - Psychology
      • BF173-175.5 - Psychoanalysis
      • BF309-499 - Consciousness, Cognition
      • BF501-505 - Motivation
      • BF636-637 - Applied Psychology
      • BF712-724.85 - Developmental Psychology
      • BF725-727 - Class Psychology

 

Multidisciplinary Resources

  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is the world's largest scholarly, multi-discipline, full text database designed specifically for academic institutions. This resource indexes over 4300 periodicals and contains full text for over 3400 scholarly publications. Academic Search Premier includes full-page images as well as color embedded images. This scholarly collection provides full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
  • Electronic Journal Center
    The Electronic Journal Center (EJC) is OhioLINK's collection of full-text research journals. OhioLINK researchers can register to be notified by email about new relevant articles according to subject, author, or journal title.
  • SocINDEX
    SocINDEX provides references to periodical articles in the Social Sciences, including Psychology and Psychiatry. Has links to library holdings and possible sources of full text articles.

Blogs

The Last Psychiatrist: thoughtful, iconoclastic perspective from a practising psychiatrist. 

Child Psychology Research Blog: by clinical child psychologist, an expert on mood disorders.

Research Blogging: posts collected from variety of blogs but all peer-reviewed research.

PsychCentral Blog: team blog, focusing more on clinical topics: depression, anxiety etc..