Dental Hygiene 1511 and 1512: Books

This comprehensive textbook/CD-ROM learning system is designed to revolutionize the way in which students learn and apply dental hygiene concepts. It teaches the fundamentals of clinical practice and focuses on actively engaging the reader in the learning process. By partnering interactive exercises and video segments on CD-ROM with textbook material and related cases, this outstanding tool reinforces dental hygiene concepts and procedures on a number of levels. Students don't just learn information, they use it. In addition, all topics in the text are directly related to the American Dental Education Association's Competencies for Entry into the Profession of Dental Hygiene*ensuring that this resource is practical, useful, and invaluable to anyone learning dental hygiene.

Be prepared to take your national board with this full-length simulation of the NBDH exam. This bestselling resource now reflects the new case-based format of the national exam along with content that covers new guidelines, especially in the areas of infection control and pharmacology. As you prepare and practice for your exam, you will find multiple ways to study with over 60 clinical case studies, and 1,500 plus questions. The accompanying CD-ROM includes an electronic, simulated exam as well as other interactive-review activities, such as crossword puzzles and word finds. Over 60 "testlets" with accompanying questions, answers, and rationales present hygiene-specific cases that cover the major board topics. Simple, clean layout provides an "all-in-one" package with an outline format and review questions and answers in every chapter. Clear and accurate illustrations, including many new and photos and line drawings provide additional visual learning. New NBDHE Case Study Format in the form of "testlets" simulate the NBDH exam testing conditions. Bound-in CD-ROM includes a full, simulated exam with 350 questions, key terms, color images, crossword puzzles, word finds, and more. CD-ROM includes PowerPoint slides with mnemonic devices and references from the text to reinforce key information. Updated coverage in infection control and pharmacology follows the latest CDC guidelines and outlines dental considerations for newer drugs. Expanded use of tables and flow-charts make the content easier to digest, and flow-charts assist in clinical decision-making.

The first public health text for hygienists … by hygienists!   Now in its the second edition, Dental Public Health: Contemporary Practice for the Dental Hygienist continues its tradition of addressing the unique and changing role of the hygienist.  All aspects of practice are covered, including prevention modalities, dental health promotion, education activities, and other interventions.  Readers will gain essential knowledge to effectively position and practice dental hygiene in the public health setting.   Features: Laboratory Manual available on FREE Companion Website www.prenhall.com/nathe Tied chapter-by-chapter to the text, this on-line resource provides interactive self-assessment with instant feedback. New chapters on Biostatistics, Financing Dental Care, Program Evaluation, Epidemiology and Careers in Dental Public Health are included in this edition. Real-life spotlights and scenarios found in each chapter expose the reader to the experiences of dental hygienists working around the world Expanded Chapter 17-Dental Public Health Board Review exposes students to the National Board examination requirements.

Comprehensive and up to date, Dental Hygiene, 3rd Edition offers complete coverage of today's dental hygiene skills and theories -- all based on the Human Needs Model for better hygienist/patient communication. With a strong focus on clinical application, each section closely follows the critical thinking and clinical assessment approach that a hygienist must use in the classroom, clinic, and practice. Clinical competencies at the beginning of each chapter provide a clear, quick overview of exactly what you need to know, and procedure boxes with detailed steps and rationales ensure that you understand the reasoning behind each step in the competencies. In addition, new chapters on caries risk assessment and the oral-systemic health connection keep you up to date with today's major areas of research. Each section takes you from conceptual foundations of dental hygiene through patient assessment, treatment, and evaluation. Scenario boxes challenge you to integrate complex information as you assess, diagnose, plan care, and evaluate the outcome of care. Client Education Issues and Legal, Ethical and Safety Issues boxes inform you of the latest information in these important areas. Critical Thinking exercises provide opportunities for independent thought and problem solving. Tables and boxes build upon and simplify information from the text, making study and review quick and easy. Evolve website contains free online resources, including weblinks, self-assessment quizzes, and professional development worksheets for student review. A reorganized section for Individuals with Special Needs includes chapters on Cleft Palate, Physical Abuse, Blood Diseases, and Mental Illness, all reflecting evidence-based research now available in these areas. New chapters on caries risk assessment and the oral-systemic health connection -- hot topics in today's dental sciences. New anesthesia guidelines keep you up to date with what's new in pain and anxiety control. Essential resources and websites are now included at the end of each chapter for easy reference. New illustrations provide a fresh, reader-friendly design. Self-assessment quizzes are available online, all case-based to follow the NBDH format. Free online access to the Legal and Ethical Decision Making chapter, including an 'asset center' to assist you with clinical skills.