Robert D. Ault, MLS

History Librarian

Maag Library  Microforms Center Level 3

Tel: 330-941-1719

 

Reference Resources

A bibliography of British history, 1914 – 1989 Ref Annex Z202 .R63 1996
Containing over 27,000 entries, this unique reference will be absolutely essential for anyone with an interest in Britain in the twentieth century. Accessibly arranged by theme, with introductions to each chapter, a large range of topics is covered. The volume offers an invaluable guided tour by a leading historian of the bewildering plethora of publications on twentieth-century Britain.

The Blackwell encyclopaedia of Anglo-Saxon England Ref DA 152 .B58 1999
The Blackwell Encyclopaedia of Anglo-Saxon England covers the history, archaeology, arts, architecture, literatures and languages of England from the Roman withdrawal to the Norman Conquest (c.450 – 1066 AD). Drawing on contributions by scholars of international standing, the book comprises a series of some 700 articles by 150 contributors, arranged in alphabetical order, describing the people, places, activities and creations of the Anglo-Saxons. The articles are illustrated by maps, line-drawings and black and white photographs; the book is accompanied by a comprehensive table of the ‘Rulers of the English, c.450-1066′, and by a classified index of head-words to facilitate access to the Encyclopaedia itself.

Britain in the Hanoverian Age, 1714-1837 Ref DA 480 .B75 1997
More than 1,100 signed entries by 250 scholars cover political, economic, literary, intellectual, artistic, commercial, and social life, and spotlight some 600 prominent individuals and families.

The Cambridge illustrated history of the British Empire Ref DA 16 .M29 1996
This book looks at the experience of colonialism in North America, India, Africa, Australia, and the Caribbean, as well as the impact of the empire on Britain itself. Emphasis is placed on social and cultural history, including slavery, trade, religion, art, transport, and the movement of ideas.

The Columbia companion to British history Ref DA 34 .H64 1997
Covering 2,000 years of British history in 850 pages, this comprehensive work contains 4,500 dictionary entries that not only cover political and constitutional history, but also provide information on social, economic, religious, military, naval, legal, and cultural history. Special features include a list of all kings and queens of England and Britain along with a list of prime ministers with their dates and nine line drawn maps that include topics such as “Growth of the British Empire,” “Tribal Britain,” and “England and Wales during the Time of the Romans.”

A Dictionary of British history Ref DA 34 .D52 1983
In approximately 3,000 entries, the Dictionary of British History describes the British Isles, their politicians and people, battles and bards, institutions and occasional iniquities. The main body of the book is complemented by a 40-page chronology enabling the reader to see the relationship between historical movements and personalities.

The encyclopedia of Britain Ref DA 27.5 .G37 1993
This book provides a panorama of Britain’s past and present in 6,000 entries alphabetically arranged. Has facts and statistics about history, politicians, pop musicians, sports personalities, businesses, literature, architecture, art, scandals, disasters, battles, and current affairs.

England Ref DA 27.5 .D29 1993
This selective, annotated bibliography is a blend of over 2,000 reference, and informative studies and descriptions of all aspects of English life, its history, customs and traditions, as well as its business and financial expertise, its changing industry, and its efforts to solve some severe social problems.

Medieval England: an encyclopedia Ref DA 129 .M43 1998
This valuable reference work offers answers to questions on all aspects of life and culture in medieval England-art, architecture, law, literature, kings, commoners, women, music, commerce, technology, warfare, religion, and many others. It takes as its scope English social, cultural, and political life from the Anglo-Saxon invasions in the fifth century to the turn of the sixteenth century. The Encyclopedia also traces England’s ties to the Celtic world of Wales, Scotland, and Ireland, to the French and Anglo-Norman world of the Continent, to the Viking and Scandinavian world of the North Sea, and to the world of medieval Christendom. The result is a detailed portrait of the English Middle Ages and their key historical events, personages, and cultural contexts.

NTC’s dictionary of the United Kingdom Ref PE 1704 .J36 1996
A comprehensive guide to the language, culture, history and geography of the United Kingdom. The dictionary presents 13,500 entries and nearly 17,000 definitions of contemporary and culturally historic concepts, regional terms (including expressions from Wales, Ireland and Scotland), names of royalty and customs, as well as definitions of slang, colloquial and idiomatic expressions.

The new Arthurian encyclopedia Ref DA 152.5 .A7 N48 1996
A chronology of landmarks in Arthurian history, archaeology, literature and art. A map showing major sites in Arthurian legend and history. More than 1,300 entries made by over 130 contributors. 92 photographs and illustrations. More than 90 entries on Arthurian characters.

The Oxford illustrated history of the British Army Ref DA 50 .O94 1994

From the Napoleonic Wars to the battle of the Falklands, from the pike and musket to the Challenger tank, The Oxford Illustrated History of the British Army brings to life the colorful and far-reaching history of this long-lived institution. Lavishly illustrated with more than two hundred and seventy black-and-white pictures, twenty-four color plates, and fourteen maps, this volume provides a wealth of historical detail as it takes readers on a lively journey through the annals of the British Army.

Finding Books

Books can be found through MaagNET, the Maag Library online catalog or through the OhioLINK Catalog. Use MaagNet to locate items available through Maag Library. Use the OhioLINK catalog to locate items available through other OhioLINK institutions. These items can be requested and delivered to Maag Library for pickup.

For more help finding books, see Finding Books.

Browsing for books

History resources are located throughout the library: items in the Reference Room, Serials and in the circulating collection are all arranged according to the Library of Congress Classification System. Once you locate a book or journal that is useful in one of these areas, you can locate information on the same or similar topics by locating the same call number in the other areas of the library. See Call Numbers and Floor Plans for assistance. Some of the call numbers where you will find British History information are:

• DA 1-995: Great Britain
• DA 20-690: England
• DA 700-745: Wales
• DA 750-890: Scotland
• DA 900-995: Ireland

Searching For Books

See Finding Books for more information. To find books by subject, search MaagNet or the OhioLINK catalog. If you are not sure of the exact subject for the topic you are researching, begin with History and browse the list of subjects or use one of the subjects below to get started.

• Great Britain — Church history
• Great Britain — Civilization
• Great Britain — History
• Great Britain — Kings and rulers — Biography

Finding Articles

History articles are available in print and electronic sources. The information below will help you decide where to begin searching for articles.

Articles in print

History journals that Maag Library receives in print can be located by searching MaagNet, browsing by call number or through the list of History journals received by Maag Library. These journals are located in the sixth floor of Maag Library and are arranged in call number order.

Online Articles

Many journals are now available through online subscription databases and through the OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center. Various terms can be used to search these databases, including subject and keywords. Most databases allow access by current YSU faculty, students and staff from off campus, although a few are restricted to in-library use only. For more information about connecting from home, see off-campus access.

Academic Search Premier
Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
On campus Off campus

AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive
Photos from The Associated Press, plus graphics, text and audio.
On campus Off campus

ArticleFirst (OCLC)
Index of the items listed on table of contents pages of over 12,000 journals that covers articles, news stories, letters and other items on topics as diverse as business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, sciences, social sciences, and technology.
On campus Off campus

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (ISI Web of Science)
Index and cited references for articles in the arts and humanities.
On campus Off campus

Digital Media Center (OhioLINK)
Several databases of electronic images or videos; will eventually also include sound, numeric data, and other types of electronic media.
On and off campus access

Digital Video Collection
Full-length educational videos on many subjects; from the Films for the Humanities and Sciences.
On and off campus access

Electronic Journal Center
OhioLINK’s collection of full-text electronic journals. Browse or search the online journals.
On and off campus access

Historical Abstracts
Index and abstracts to articles covering world history from 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada).
On and off campus access

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
Index to journal articles, books, proceedings, and other literature in the history of science, technology and medicine, and allied historical fields.
On campus Off campus

Humanities Abstracts
Index and abstracts to articles from diverse subject areas within the humanities.
On and off campus access

JSTOR
Supplies full text articles from the very first volume to the last 3-5 years for approximately 240 titles in the Arts & Sciences.
On campus Off campus

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2001.
On and off campus access

Oxford Reference, History
Reference books on History.
On campus Off campus

These databases provide a starting point for your research. To see other available databases, visit the Research Databases page.

Web Resources

The links below provide access to British History resources on the Internet.

Britannia: British History
The internet’s most comprehensive treatment of the Times, Places, Events and People of British History.

British History Online
British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust.

British & Irish History (University of Washington Libraries)
List of links leading to websites with information about British and Irish History. Includes links for Scottish History.

Internet Public Library
Links for information on European History. Includes many links on British History.