Skip to main content
Banner Image

Government Documents: Home

GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS:

Maag Library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law.
(Title 44 United States Code)

ABOUT THE GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS COLLECTION:

Government publications are a valuable resource for papers and research projects. They are timely, authoritative, and diverse--covering topics from business, energy, drug abuse, education and civil rights, to many other political, scientific, and social areas of study.

Maag Library has been a selective government depository since 1971. Currently Maag selects about 48% of the publications available through the FDLP: Federal Depository Library Program. Documents are selected which support YSU's curricula, research, and programs as well as documents of general interest to residents of the 13th Congressional District. Maag is also a depository for selected Ohio documents.The State Library of Ohio serves as the regional government depository for Ohio, and thus collects 100% of the publications available through the FDLP.

Most government publications are now published on the Web and are easily accesible through MaagNET or any Internet browser. The selected print collection is located on the Sixth Floor and is available during all Library Hours. For assistance, ask at the Reference Desk on the main floor or contact Christine Adams (contact info right).

Circulation Policy: Use of the collection is open to the public. Borrowing of materials, however, is limited to current faculty, staff and students as well as those patrons belonging to Friends of Maag Library. Reference materials must be used within the library. The circulation policy of the Government Documents section reflects the general circulation policies of Maag Library.

For more information, see Maag Library's Government Documents Collection Development Policy.

MAAG LIBRARY GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS COLLECTION:

Library directory sign indicating government documents are on the 6th floor of Maag Library  Government documents area on 6th floor of Maag Library
Maag Library Government Documents Collection - 6th Floor    

Government documents reference and State of Ohio documents sections on 6th floor of Maag Library Copier available next to government documents reference section on 6th floor of Maag Library
Government Documents Reference & State of Ohio Documents

Closeup of government documents reference section on 6th floor of Maag Library Closeup of State of Ohio documents section on 6th floor of Maag Library
Government Documents Reference                   State of Ohio Documents        

Aisles of congressional publications on 6th floor of Maag Library Congressional publications divided by red folders labled with Congressional committee and SuDoc stem
           Congressional Publications                    Congressional Publication Dividers        

Labeled boxes of Congressional publications - SuDoc stem, Congress & Congressional committee Government document items displayed on bottom shelves on the 6th floor of Maag Library
    Labels for Congressional Committees            Items Displayed on Bottom Shelves      

Government documents aisle endcap displaying sign, SuDoc numbers & poster on how to find U.S. Government publications Government documents map boxes on 6th floor of Maag Library
      Posters for Finding SuDoc Numbers                             Map Boxes                          

Government documents CD/DVD & pamphlet file on 6th floor of Maag Library Government documents map/atlas case on 6th floor of Maag Library
   Gov Docs CD-ROM File & Pamphlet File       Government Documents Map/Atlas Case   

Microfiche cabinets on 6th floor of Maag Library Microfiche readers on 6th floor of Maag Library
     Government Documents Microfiche                       Microfiche Readers                   

NOTABLE GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS:

2012 National Strategy for Suicide Prevention: Goals & Objectives for Action
Report of the U.S. Surgeon General & National Action Alliance for Suicide Prevention

Bumble Bees of the Eastern United States
USDA Forest Service and the Pollinator Partnership

Celebrating 30 Years of the Space Shuttle Program
National Aeronautics & Space Administration 2012

The Citizen's Almanac: Fundamental Documents, Symbols & Anthems of the United States U.S. Citizenship & Immigration Services 2010

Commanding Generals & Chiefs of Staff 1775-2013: Portraits & Biographical Sketches
Center of Military History United States Army 2013

Confronting the Nation's Fiscal Policy Challenges: Statement of Douglas W. Elmendorf, Director, Before the Joint Select Committee on Deficit Reduction, U.S. Congress
Congressional Budget Office

Deep Water: The Gulf Oil Disaster and the Future of Offshore Drilling, Report to the President, January 2011
National Commission on the BP Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill and Offshore Drilling

Earth as Art
National Aeronautics & Space Administration 2012

The End of Don't Ask, Don't Tell: The Impact In Studies and Personal Essays by Service Members and Veterans Edited by J. Ford Huffman & Tammy S. Schultz

The Financial Crisis Inquiry Report: Final Report of the National Commission on the Causes of the Financial and Economic Crisis in the United States
Official Government Edition, The Financial Crisis Inquiry Commission

Freedom by the Sword: The U.S. Colored Troops, 1862-1867
Center of Military History United States Army 2011

The Future Can't Wait: Over-the-Horizon Views on Development
USAID Symposium on Future Development Challenges 2011

Keeping America Informed: The U.S. Government Printing Office: 150 Years of Service to the Nation U.S. Government Printing Office 2011

Macondo: The Gulf Oil Disaster: Chief Counsel's Report 2011
National Commission on the BP Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill & Offshore Drilling

Preparedness 101: Zombie Pandemic
U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services Centers for Disease Control & Prevention 2011

Report of the Senate Select Committee on Intelligence Committee Study of the Central Intelligence Agency’s Detention and Interrogation Program, together with a forward by Chairman Feinstein and Additional and Minority Views (Senate Report 113-288)
Declassified Executive Summary and Findings and Conclusions, including declassified additional and minority views.

A Review of ATF's Operation Fast and Furious and Related Matters
Office of the Inspector General Oversight & Review Division September 2012

The Senate's Civil War
U.S. Senate

Then Came the Fire: Personal Accounts from the Pentagon, 11 September 2001
Center of Military History United States Army 2011

The War on Poverty 50 Years Later: A Progress Report
Council of Economic Advisers 2014

Warren Commission Report
The President's Commission on the Assassination of President Kennedy, commonly known as the Warren Commission, was created by President Lyndon Johnson and chaired by Chief Justice Earl Warren.

Business & Economics Government Documents

Christine Adams
Contact:
Christine Adams, MLS
William F. Maag Jr. Library
Information Services
Phone: 330.941.3681
Email: cmadams02@ysu.edu

WEBTech Notes

Loading