LibGuides: Respiratory Care Seminar RESC 6906: 2: Where to Look

The Maag Library Website

Academic Research begins with Academic sources!!! Use one of the databases below to begin your research.

Internet search engines such as Google will return any result that is listed online
There is no way to focus Google Scholar toward medical academic literature
Academic search engines (or databases) return academic journal articles
Choose one of the medically focused databases when you are researching a medical topic. (Note - the list below does not include Academic Search Complete because it is not a medical database)

Note: To access these from off campus you will need to log in to a screen that looks like this...

You name should be entered the same as it appears on your YSU ID
Your Y number is also on your ID. Be sure to include the "Y"
Your pin is usually your Y number again unless you have changed it.

Health Sciences Databases

BIOSIS Previews
Indexes journals, books, and conference proceedings on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. Includes citations from Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Fields include nursing and allied health
indexing back to 1937. Includes nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheet.
Consumer Health Complete
CHC provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information
Consumers can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles
Health and Wellness Resource Center- Gale Consumer Health
Provides information from current disease and disorders to alternative and complementary medical practices. New periodical and newspaper articles are added daily
Health Reference Center-Academic
Consumer health researchers, students, and health care professionals, providing current information on a range of health care topics
Includes embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals.
MedicLatina
Medical research and investigative journal articles in Spanish. Provides access to full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish. A wide range of topics are covered including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology.
Medline with Full Text
1,370 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,340 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. Includes full-text coverage dating back to 1965, MEDLINE with Full Text is the definitive research tool for medical literature.
Nursing & Allied Health Collection
Emphasis on full text titles cited in CINAHL and over 10 million articles. Content helps nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum
Nursing@OVID
Includes 75 nursing journals in full text. Over 400 nursing journals are indexed for searching purposes
Proquest Nursing & Allied Health
Covers nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, consumer health, and much more. Provides abstracting and indexing for more than 525 titles, with over 470 titles in full-text.
PsycINFO
Abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences
Devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, and contains over 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Ninety-nine percent of its content is peer-reviewed.
PubMED
more...less...
Indexes articles in a broad range of preclinical and clinical disciplines. 11 million bibliographic citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences.
Science of Aging Knowledge Environment
Published from October 2001 to June 2006, SAGE KE provided resources pertaining to aging-related research. Although no longer in print, archived issues can be searched and articles viewed.
UpToDate
Clinical decision support resource associated with improved outcomes. Provides more than 80 research studies that demonstrate its impact on improved patient care and hospital performance.
more...less...
You must register an account before you have access. Follow the link above when you are ON CAMPUS, to register and then you will have access off and on campus with your own login information.
SPORTDiscus
Provides indexing and abstracting of articles and other publications on sport, fitness and related disciplines. More than 240 full text journals

Step 2

Use the information in the left hand column to decide where to search and log in!

Assignment Benchmark

At this time you can list which databases you will be using!

(You will enter this into the form at the end of the tutorial)

EX) Medline