LibGuides: First Year Experience -- Information Literacy: Home

Welcome!

Welcome to Maag Library's information literacy module for first year students. Learning to navigate the library and locate information will be essential to your college success. In this module, you will learn to:

Find an item in Maag's online catalog
Read a call number
Order items from other academic libraries through OhioLINK
Recognize a scholarly journal
Locate a scholarly journal article in Academic Search Complete

All of the boxes below contain links to valuable resources and information. The material required for this module, however, is in just two boxes: Finding Books and Finding Articles.

Follow the steps in Finding Books and Finding Articles to complete the module. That's it!

Finding Books

Finding Books in Maag Library
Step 1: Watch this video on locating books in the library's catalog and on the shelf.
Ordering Books from OhioLINK
Step 2: Watch this video about OhioLINK and My Library Record.
Maagnet and OhioLINK quiz
Step 3: Take the quiz! (Have your instructor's email address handy so you can send them a copy of your results.)

Resources You Should Know

MaagNET Library Catalog
This is the catalog for items available at Maag Library.

OhioLINK Library Catalog
This is the catalog of items available for borrowing from libraries around the state of Ohio. Allow 3-5 business days for delivery.

A combined catalog of over 7.8 million books and other library materials from many of Ohio’s universities, colleges, community colleges and the State Library of Ohio. OhioLINK’s design allows you to transfer a search from your local library catalog to the OhioLINK combined catalog with the touch of a button. The OhioLINK catalog provides immediate access to the library holdings of the whole system, including current availability status. Requested books and other materials are delivered to your library within a few days. Catalog entries for electronic books and journals link directly to those resources.

Search Ohio
Use Search Ohio to find and borrow books from public libraries around the state.
Research Databases
Use the databases to find indexes and full-text articles.
Maag Journal Finder
Use Maag Journal Finder if you already know the exact article you want and simply need to find out if it is available.

Audio tour

Finding Articles

Accessing Research Databases
These instructions show you how to access Maag's research databases.

Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
Step 1: Watch this video explaining the difference between scholarly and popular articles.
Academic Search Complete
Step 2: Watch this video on finding journal articles in Academic Search Complete.
Opposing Viewpoints tutorial
Step 3: Watch this video on finding articles in the Opposing Viewpoints database.
Quiz
Step 4: Take the quiz! (Have your instructor's email address handy so you can send them a copy of your results.)

Maag Library Building Guide

FLOOR	SERVICES, COLLECTIONS & CALL NUMBERS	ELEVATOR
6A	Call Numbers: QD 86 - Z	3
6	Silent Study Floor Copy Machine Current & Bound Journals Government Documents	1 and 2
5A	Call Numbers: PR 1500 - QD 85	3
5	Silent Study Floor Archives & Special Collections Call Numbers: N - PR 1499	1, 2, and 3
4A	Call Numbers: HG - LT	3
4	Group Study Floor Copy Machine Group Study Rooms IT Service Desk Library Instruction Lab	1 and 2
3A	Call Numbers: DT - HF	3
3	Group Study Floor Copy Machine Maag Café Microforms Multimedia Call Numbers: A - DS, M-MT	1, 2, and 3
Main Level	Research Services / Printing / Quiet Study Administrative Offices Circulation & Closed Reserves Copy Machine / Copy Cards / Change Machine Current Newspapers InterLibrary Loan Information Services Office Technical Services	1, 2, and 3
Lower Level	English Language Institute Testing Center Writing Center Vending Machines	1, 2, and 3
Beeghly College of Education	Wilcox Curriculum Resource Center (CRC)

Subject Guide

Becky Moore

Email Me

Contact:

1 University Plaza
Youngstown, OH 44555

rkmoore@ysu.edu

330-941-1720

Subjects:Africana Studies, American Studies, English, Ethnic Studies, First Year Experience, Honors College, Journalism, Language & Literature, Women & Gender Studies

Citation

Citing Resources

Assignments

Library Skills Assignment
This brief assignment lets you practice using MaagNET, OhioLINK, and two research databases to find books and articles.
Library Audio Tour Assignment
Check out an iPod at the research services desk on the main floor of the library and complete this assignment as you walk through the building.