Skip to main content

American History: Subject Guide

Resources for topics in American History

Introduction to World History

 

 

The country grows

 Robert D. Ault, MLS

History Librarian
Maag Library  Microforms Center Level 3
Tel: 330-941-1719

Overview

Maag Library provides access to books and articles on American History in a variety of formats. The resources and tips on this page can help you locate the resources you need. For additional assistance, please contact me directly.

Background Information

Trying to decide on a topic?  Use these resources for definitions of historical terms or general information.

A Dictionary of American History (ebook)

This dictionary includes some 3,000 short alphabetically-arranged  entries that cover from the colonial period to the present and includes information about African American, women's and Native American history. 

Maag Reference Room (Main Floor)  E178 .M22

Great events from history: American Series

The three-volume American Series of Great Events from History begins with the arrival of the Indians, the first Americans, from Asia and ends with the first manned lunar landing in 1969. Between these two noteworthy happenings, 336 additional events are studied in depth through the scholarly literature they have inspired.

The Reference Room has over 300 titles on topics to help you get started

 

     
     
     
     
   
   
   
   
 

Finding Books

Books can be found through MaagNet, the Maag Library online catalog, through the OhioLINK Catalog, or through the Worldcat Catalog. Use MaagNet to locate items available through Maag Library. Use the OhioLINK catalog to locate items available through other OhioLINK institutions. Use Worldcat to locate materials in libraries outside of the OhioLINK system. These items can be requested and delivered to Maag Library for pickup.

Browsing for Books

The American History collection is located on Floor 3A (Call Numbers E and F), in the Reference Room, and in Serials (Journals/Periodicals) on the Floor 6. Collections are arranged according to the Library of Congress Classification System. Once you locate a book or journal that is useful in one of these areas, you can locate information on the same or similar topics by locating the same call number in the other areas of the library. See Call Numbers and Floor Plans for assistance. Some of the call numbers where you will find information on American History are:

  • E11-143: America (General)
  • E 151- 887: United States (General)
  • E 186- 199:  American Colonial History
  • E 201-298:  American Revolution
  • E 337.8-400: Early 19th Century America 1801- 1845
  • E415.6-440 : Middle 19th Century America 1845-1861
  • E 456-665: Civil War Period  1861-1865
  • E661-738: Late 19th Century America  1865-1900
  • E740-837.7: 20th Century America
  • E838-889:   Later 20thCentury  1961-2000
  • E895-904:   21st Century
  • F1-975:      United States local history

 


 

Finding Articles

Articles for American History topics are available in print and electronic sources. The information below will help you decide where to begin searching for articles.

Articles in print

History journals that Maag Library receives in print can be located by searching MaagNet, browsing by call number or through the list of History journals received by Maag Library. These journals are located on the sixth floor of Maag Library and are arranged in call number order. Current issues are arranged by title.

Online Articles

Many history journals are now available through online subscription databases and through the OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center. Various terms can be used to search these databases, including subject, keywords, names, historical periods, etc. Most databases allow access by current YSU faculty, students and staff from off campus, although a few are restricted to in-library use only. For more information about connecting from home, see off-campus access.

Historical Abstracts

Index and abstracts to articles covering world history from 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada).

On and off-campus access

Electronic Journal Center
OhioLINK’s collection of full-text electronic journals. Browse or search the online journals.
On and Off-campus access

Academic Search Premier
Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
On and off-campus access

ArticleFirst (OCLC)
Index of the items listed on table of contents pages of over 12,000 journals that covers articles, news stories, letters and other items on topics as diverse as business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, sciences, social sciences, and technology.
On and off-campus access

Digital Commons Network (OhioLINK)
Several databases of electronic images or videos; will eventually also include sound, numeric data, and other types of electronic media.
On and off-campus access

EBSCO Databases
Menu of databases provided through EBSCO Publishing.
On and off-campus access

JSTOR
Supplies full text articles from the very first volume to the last 3-5 years for approximately 240 titles in the Arts & Sciences.
On and off-campus access

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2001.
On and off-campus access

Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies
Index to the literature in Slavic studies, covering more than 19,000 periodicals published primarily in Russia, the republics of the former Soviet Union, and countries in Eastern Europe, plus books, manuscripts, and dissertations.
On and off-campus access

These databases provide a starting point for your research. To see other available databases, visit the Research Databases page.

   

 
 

Web Resources

The links below provide access to History resources on the Internet.

History World
Iinteractive history of the world from the Big Bang to the present day.

Hyper History Online
This site presents over 2,000 topics covering 3,000 years of history in chart form with linked articles, graphics, and maps.

Infoplease World History

Contains almanacs, atlases, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and timelines of world history.

orld History Archives

Repository for documents for teaching and understanding contemporary world history and the struggle for social progress.

World History Compass

Provides links to a wide variety of history sites. Covers such topics as ancient times, mathematics, military, U.S., and technology.

New Video Resource,  a YSU production!  Ash and Smoke:  The Holocaust in Salonika.

For more information or assistance, feel free to contact:

Microforms Information Services Librarian
Maag Library Level Three
Tel: 330-941-1719

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Opposing Viewpoints

Many students have found  that this Maag Library database,  Opposing Viewpoints in Context is a good place to start finding subjects and as the name implies, views from both sides of an issue. 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

Resources are divided into topics which contains numerous full text pieces further categorized by the nature of their material: viewpoints (essays), reference, statistics, magazines and newspapers, images, primary documents and web sites.  Give it a try!

Subject Guide

Bob Ault's picture
Bob Ault
Contact:
Maag Library Level 3 Microform Center
Room 353
330-941-1719

Steven Colbert wants you to remember "You're On Notice!

You're On Notice!

image created by Kathleen Hanna, librarian at  IUPUI

History Pages

 

History Department Home  http://web.ysu.edu/class/history

Like us on Facebook  https://www.facebook.com/groups/254983387857081/

History Club Facebook  https://www.facebook.com/groups/256094007962/

Judaic and Holocaust Studies http://www.ysu.edu/academics/college-liberal-arts-social-sciences/judaic-studies-minor.

It Doesn't Take a Genius... but

Ash and Smoke: The Holocaust in Salonika

Purchase a YSU Documentary to Benefit Scholarship

Now Available For Purchase!

A joint effort of YSU’s Maag Library, History Department and the Department of Media & Academic Computing, this one hour documentary was broadcast by Public Television’s  Western Reserve Public Media  during the 2011-12 season and was rebroadcast in 2013. It may also premiere on WGTE in Toledo. Here is a preview.

This Jambar article discussed the creation of the program. It was featured at the Youngstown Area 2012 Jewish Film Festival and all proceeds from purchased copies  will go to Dr. Saul  Friedman's Scholarship fund for history students studying the Holocaust.  Dr. Friedman died March 31, 2013.

According to the records of the Greek government, 56,500 Jewish citizens lived in the city of Salonika on the eve of the Holocaust.   By December 1944 only three remained.  This is their story–and by extension–it is the story of the Jews of Greece.

Copies are only $10.  

The order form is below and can be mailed to:

                                                                  Center for Judaic and Holocaust Studies

                                                                        Youngstown State University

                                                                        Youngstown, OH 44555 

Questions can be directed to the Center at  330-941-1604 or  judaic@ysu.edu

Ash and Smoke  may also be borrowed from the Maag Library's MultiMedia Center, Call number  DVD 0432.

Ash and Smoke order form