Skip to main content

Public Library of Youngstown & Mahoning County Online Resources: Home

YSU patrons can have access to all of the online resources offered by the Public Library of Youngstown and Mahoning County by signing up for a free public library card.

OBTAINING A LIBRARY CARD

Sign up for a library card from the Public Library of Youngstown & Mahoning County.
The resources listed below can be used offsite with your public library card.

ONLINE RESOURCES

African American Experience: The American Mosaic (ABC-CLIO)
Provides a comprehensive survey of African American history and its heartbreaking struggles, major movements—political, social, artistic, and literary—and most notable events and legislative reform.

African American Heritage (ProQuest)
Genealogy database devoted to African American family history research.

American & English Literature Full Text Collections (Libraries Connect Ohio)
This is a fully-searchable library of works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies, and key secondary sources.

American Indian Experience: The American Mosaic (ABC-CLIO)
Illuminates the historical and contemporary practices and tribulations of more than 150 Native American tribes from all regions of North America.

Ancestry Library (ProQuest) In Library Access Only
The ultimate of genealogy resources, offering access to all available U.S. census images and indexes, the American Genealogical Biographical Index, military records, international records, and more.

AtoZ The World (World Trade Press)
AtoZ the World is the world standard for country profiles, with detailed coverage of more than 100 topics each.

Basic ESL – Learn English Online
Basic ESL improves an individual’s listening, speaking, reading and writing skills through a simple to follow, and instructionally proven curriculum.

Biography Reference Bank (EBSCO)
This large biographical database provides profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, and obituaries.

Britannica ImageQuest
This database provides access to more than two million images on every subject imaginable which have all been rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use.

Business Book Summaries (EBSCO)
This provides comprehensive, yet concise summaries  and reviews of the best business books available.

Business Insights Essentials (Gale)
Easily find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.

Congressional Digest — In Library Access Only
Congressional Digest is an independent journal featuring controversies before the U.S. Congress.  Each issue covers a current debate topic, including background information, legislative summaries, and key arguments.

CultureGrams (ProQuest)
CultureGrams provides reliable, up-to-date facts, figures, and information about daily life and culture, including the history, customs, and even recipes for each of the countries included in the database.

Daily Life Through History (ABC-CLIO)
Explore everyday life throughout the past and present to discover what people ate, wore and used in this authoritative database organized by time period, region and topic. (YSU used to subscribe to this database)

DemographicsNow (Gale)
A comprehensive business and residential search tool that facilitates market reserach reports. Also available are demographic reports of interest to businesses and people writing business plans.

Explora Primary Schools (EBSCO)
Designed with students and educators in grades K through 5 in mind, Explora Primary Schools provides a safe, trustworthy environment for students to look up facts for class projects or homework.

Explora Public Libraries (EBSCO)
Designed with public library patrons in mind, Explora Public Libraries provides easy-to-use features and reliable content from the world’s leading magazines and reference books, grouped into easy-to-browse categories.

Explora Secondary Schools (EBSCO)
Designed with students and educators in grades 6 through 12 in mind, Explora Secondary Schools provides a far better alternative to websites and search engines for students to look up articles and facts for research papers or homework.

Fold3 (ProQuest)
Combining original historical documents with social networking to create a truly unique experience involving the stories of our past, this database features documents, historical newspapers, naturalization information and much more.

Foundation Directory Online – In Library Access Only at MAIN only
Foundation Directory Online is a research tool to help nonprofits find the grantmakers most likely to fund their projects.

Foundation Grants to Individuals – In Library Access Only
Foundation Grants to Individuals Online is an online database of nearly 10,000 foundation and public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers.

Foundation Maps – In Library Access Only at MAIN only
Foundation Maps is Foundation Center’s premier data visualization tool and the easiest way to see who is funding what and where around the world.

Health Reference Series Online (Omnigraphics)
Online access to all print Omnigraphics health-related titles owned by the library.

HeritageQuest (ProQuest)
A growing collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture that combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records with the digitized version of the popular UMI® Genealogy and Local History collection.

History Reference Center (EBSCO)
Books and articles collected by EBSCO on all history topics from prehistory to the 21st Century.

Hoopla (Midwest Tape)
With hoopla digital, patrons can borrow, instantly stream and download free movies, TV shows, music, audiobooks, ebooks, and comics with a valid library card.

Job & Career Accelerator (EBSCO)
Explore detailed information on different occupations, match your interest and skills with a career that’s right for you, search local and national job postings, create resumes and cover letters, practice interviewing skills and track your job search process each step of the way.

Latino American Experience: The American Mosaic (ABC-CLIO)
Defines this national identity as it embraces the heritage and culture of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans, Cubans, Dominicans, Colombians, Ecuadorians, and other Latino peoples in the United States.

Learning Express Library (EBSCO)
Offering interactive tutorials and practice exams, this resource helps people prepare for grade school achievement tests, the ACT, SAT, GED, U.S. Citizenship test, as well as civil service, military, and professional licensing and certification exams.

Legal Information Reference Center (EBSCO)
Providing exclusive online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, Legal Information Reference Center contains hundreds of full-text publications and thousands of legal forms, with more content being added on a regular basis.

LegalForms (Gale)
Provides a wide selection of state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms, such as: real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant and many others.

Lincoln Library Online (FactCite)
For grades K-12, this resource provides information on many subjects, including biography, history, mythology, science, and more.

Literary Index (Gale)
Quick and easy access to author and title listings from over 130 premium literature resources. The referenced products themselves contain complete biographies on authors and critical essays on their writings.

Little PIM (Mango)
Introduces children, 0-6, to foreign languages in a way they can understand and enjoy.

Mango Languages
Mango is our online language-learning tool! There are dozens of language courses available- French, German, Spanish, Chinese, Italian, English, Polish, Hebrew, etc.

Marquis Biographies Online (Marquis Who’s Who)
Features 1.5 million biographies from twenty-four Marquis Who’s Who titles since 1985, plus historical biographies from Who Was Who in America covering the period 1607-1985.

Mergent Archives – Digitized Corporate Manual Collection
This provides every Moody’s corporate manual back to 1909.

Mergent Intellect
This expansive directory resource includes private and public U.S., Canadian, and global businesses, along with residential information.  It also includes job searching and looking up census data by zip code.

Morningstar Investment Research Center
Tracks more than 20,000 stocks and funds, providing reports with 5-year stock price history, ratios, SEC filings, ownership data, and a written analysis

MyHeritage Library Edition (EBSCO)
MyHeritage is one of the largest, most internationally diverse genealogy databases of its kind in the world. It includes billions of historical documents from more than 48 countries, millions of historical photos, public records, indexes and additional resources.

National Geographic Virtual Library (Gale)
This resource brings together a complete archive of National Geographic magazine — every page of every issue from 1888 to the present — along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos

NoveList K-8 Plus (EBSCO)
A wonderful reading resource for kids, children’s librarians and school media specialists, it has information on over 85,000 fiction and nonfiction titles for kids in the K-8 age range.

NoveList Plus (EBSCO)
Helping people find good things to read, this database covers over 161,000 fiction and over 60,000 nonfiction titles for all ages. In addition to finding books by author, title or subject heading you can also search by plots and for read-alikes and other books in series.

Pop Culture Universe (Greenwood/ABC-CLIO)
A fascinating digital library of information on American and world popular culture–both past and present.

ProQuest Digitized Newspapers – Recent
Provides access from 2008 to the present for the following newspapers: New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.

RBdigital eAudiobooks and eBooks (RBdigital)
RBdigital provides Audiobooks and eBooks to stream or download to any device.

RBdigital Magazines (RBdigital)
Full digital copies of favorite magazines are now available to PLYMC cardholders with no waiting or checkout periods.

Salem Online
Provides online, searchable access to the full text of a variety of Grey House, H.W. Wilson, and Salem Press titles owned by the Library, in the following subjects: Health, History, Literature, and Science.

Small Business Builder (Gale)
This is a step-by-step online planning tool for starting, managing and optimizing a business or nonprofit.

Small Business Resource Center (Gale)
Search this database to learn how to start, finance or manage your small business.  Resources include: sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites.

TumbleBook Library (BWI)
TumbleBookLibrary is an online collection of animated, talking picture books, games, puzzles and much, much more to hold the interest of younger readers.

Universal Class (RBdigital)
With your PLYMC Library Card, you have access to FREE instructor-led online courses on many subjects, from academic skills to hobbies to general interest, with continuing education credits certified by the IACET

World Folklore and Folklife (Greenwood/ABC-CLIO)
This multicultural resource includes thousands of classic folk tales and provides information on holidays, festivals, language, stories, fairy tales, proverbs, foodways, and folk remedies.

World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras (ABC-CLIO)
Explores ancient civilizations, dynasties, and empires and profiles city-states, countries, and regions of the ancient and medieval world, providing a dynamic learning experience that encompasses intellectual developments, wars and cooperation, religion, cultural practices, and more from prehistory through to the beginning of the Renaissance.

World History: The Modern Era (ABC-CLIO)
Aimed at high school and high-level middle school students, this comprehensive resource provides easy-to-navigate information on all aspects of modern world history.