Skip to main content

Maag Library Guide to Online Services: Expanded Vendor Content

Many publishers have generously expanded content during this time. Information and links are listed below to help you locate expanded content and give you an idea of how long it will be available. Additional content may be added, so check back periodically.

Access Medicine

Access Medicine: Access to ebooks and textbooks, quick reference materials, medication and drug information, multimedia resources, case studies, study tools, patient education, and hospital administration information.

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews: Nonprofit publisher dedicated to synthesizing and integrating knowledge for the progress of science and the benefit of society. 52 journals covering biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, economics.
All access controls have been lifted until June 15, 2020.

Case Files Review

Case Files Review: Highlights case studies in the medical field. Includes basic science cases, clinical rotation cases, and post-graduate cases.

Cengage

Cengage: For US colleges experiencing unplanned, mid-semester impacts due to COVID-19, Cengage is offering students free access to all our digital platforms and 14,000 ebooks through Cengage Unlimited, for the remainder of this semester.

Cengage Unlimited: Student Access to Course Materials During COVID-19*: Instructions to sign in and create an account to start free access.

Cochrane Library

Cochrane Library: Access is temporarily unrestricted for everyone in every country. Cochrane is taking this unprecedented move to ensure that all Cochrane evidence is accessible for all those involved in combating the pandemic and its effects on public health.

EBSCO

EBSCO has expanded content available to faculty & students until June 30, 2020. Authenticate with your name & YSU ID number.

  • Academic Search Ultimate: Academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos in virtually every discipline from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more. Includes more than 77,000 videos from the Associated Press.
  • Business Source Ultimate: Essential full-text journals, case studies, country economic reports and company profiles, as well as interviews with executives and analysts. Over 27,000 videos from Harvard Business Publishing, IGI Global, Kiplinger Washington Editors, the Academy of Management and other top providers.
  • MasterFILE Complete: Provides full text periodicals covering an extensive range of subject areas including business, health, education, fitness, sports and leisure, personal finance, general science, multicultural issues, DIY and fashion.
  • EBSCO eBook Academic Collection: Includes thousands of e-books covering many academic subjects. All e-books available with unlimited user access. New titles are added regularly. Optimized search and read experience.

Elsevier: Science Direct

Elsevier has granted access to  256 textbooks for all active ScienceDirect customers.

List of Available Elsevier Textbooks with Direct URLs

ScienceDirect: Authenticate with last name & YSU ID# 

Flipster (EBSCO)

Flipster: Easy-to-use digital magazine newsstand by EBSCO which provides access to best-selling digital magazines from top publishers including National Geographic, Conde Nast, Meredith, Bloomberg L.P., and more.

Internet Archive: National Emergency Library

Internet Archive: National Emergency Library: A collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.

FAQs about the National Emergency Library

JSTOR

JSTOR: Expanded access through June 30, 2020. Content includes additional journals and primary source collections and a rapidly growing collection of ebooks.

Further details about this program and participating publishers.

Ohio State University Press

Ohio State University Press: For the duration of this crisis, all Ohio State University Press monographs, and the linguistics textbook language files, will be open and free to use through the Ohio State University Libraries’ Institutional Repository, The Knowledge Bank.

Project Muse

Project MUSE: Supporting its participating publishers in making scholarly content temporarily available for free on their platform. MUSE expects to announce additional participants and will continually update the list of publishers offering free access to content at Free Resources on MUSE During COVID-19.

Public Books Database

Public Books Database: Many academic presses have made hundreds of their titles freely accessible online. The Public Books Database aims to catalog such resources in a single location and to highlight titles of particular interest. The list will be updated regularly as additional materials are made available.

SAGE Publishing

SAGE Publishing: Free Resources to Help You Transition to Teaching Online: SAGE has opened up access to resources to help faculty set up and manage an online course quickly and successfully at no charge

  • Free etextbooks from VitalSource and RedShelf
  • Free LMS resources
  • Free access to SAGE Vantage courseware with textbook content
  • Free access to articles in SAGE journals and SAGE Knowledge
  • Tips, free resources, and advice from experts

University of Michigan Press

University of Michigan Press: All content in the University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection (UMP EBC) is free-to-read (not to download) through June 30, 2020. The UMP EBC contains the Press’s scholarly output published since 2012 as well as new books and older titles as they are digitized.