LibGuides: Theatre: Shakespeare

Try these databases first:

Click here for the complete list of Theater-related research databases.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.

In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Google Scholar
An internet search engine that specifically searches scholarly literature and academic resources.

Google Scholar is an online, freely accessible search engine that lets users look for both physical and digital copies of articles. It searches a wide variety of sources, including academic publishers, universities, and preprint depositories looking for:

Peer-reviewed articles
Theses
Books
Technical reports
Abstracts
Reprints
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance (EBSCO)
Index, abstracts, and full text for articles and other publications on all aspects of theater and performance.

Provides full text of journal articles on all aspects of theater and performance, plus indexing for books, book articles and dissertation abstracts. IBTD with Full Text is a multicultural and inter-disciplinary research tool for theater students, educators and professionals. IBTD was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research and continued by the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.

With 50 million pages digitized, and an additional 3 million pages added each year, JSTOR includes more than 2,000 academic journals, plus thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education.
Literary Reference Source Plus (EBSCO)
Information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.

A comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. LRC includes:

+ Over 1,200 Additional Full-Text Literary Reference Books/Works, including titles with a focus on plays/drama, poetry, religious literature, childrenâ€™s literature, Hispanic literature, and other areas
+ Over 200 Additional Full-Text Literary Journals & Magazines, including titles with a focus on multi-cultural studies, folklore, Latin America literature, and historical literature
+ 35 Volumes of New Contemporary Literature Titles from Salem Press relating to Fantasy/Science Fiction, Contemporary Literature, World Philosophy, Quotations In Context, Religious Literature, and Biographies of Nobel Literature Prize Winners
+ 40 Full-Text Literary study guides
+ plot summaries, synopses and work overviews
+ articles of literary criticism
+ full text of literary journals
+ author biographies
+ book reviews
+ author interviews
+ images of key literary figures
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Index to books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.

An index to books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the Association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography are also included.

The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare
Only the first line of each entry is available. Use the book in Maag Library for full access to the information.

WorldCat
Catalog of books and other materials held by libraries worldwide.

The OCLC union catalog, containing more than 43 million records describing books and other items owned by libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings. WorldCat covers thousands of subjects and includes records for items as far back as 1000 B.C. Materials covered in the catalog include: books, internet resources, computer data files, computer programs, films, journals, magazines, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, slides, sound recordings, and videotapes. WorldCat does not include individual article titles or stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters.

Works, Monologues, & Quotes

The Complete Works of William Shakespeare ONLINE
The Complete Works: The Text of the Oxford Edition by William Shakespeare; W. J. Craig, ed.
Call Number: PR 2753 .C8 1915 v.1-3

Publication Date: 1915
Dictionary of Shakespeare Quotations by D. C. Brown, ed.
Call Number: PR 2768 .B73 1963

Publication Date: 1963
Index to the Remarkable Passages and Words Made Use of by Shakespeare, 2nd ed., revised & enlarged by S. Ayscough
Call Number: PR 2892 .A9 1971

ISBN: 0404004377

Publication Date: 1971
The Pictorial Edition of the Works of Shakespeare by Charles Knight, ed.
Call Number: PR 2753 .K72 v.1-2
Quotations from Shakespeare by Peter Quennell
Call Number: PR 2892 .S47 1971

ISBN: 0823800989

Publication Date: 1971
The Soliloquies of Shakespeare: A Study in Technic by Morris L. Arnold
Call Number: PR 2997 .S7 A7 1965

Publication Date: 1965
The Works of William Shakespeare, in Reduced Facsimile from the Famous First Folio Edition of 1623 by William Shakespeare
Call Number: PR 2751 .A15 1887

Publication Date: 1887

Pronunciation Aids

A Pronouncing Dictionary of Shakespearean Proper Names by Theodora U. Irvine
Call Number: PR 3081 .I65 1945

Publication Date: 1945
Shakespeare's Pronunciation by Helge Kökeritz
Call Number: PR 3081 .K6
Shakespeare's Speaking Properties by Frances N. Teague
Call Number: PR 3091 .T44 1991

ISBN: 083875208X

Publication Date: 1990
Shakespeare's Works and Elizabethan Pronunciation by Fausto Cercignani
Call Number: PR 3081 .C4 1981

ISBN: 0198119372

Publication Date: 1981

Criticism

Shakespeare Criticism in the Twentieth Century by Michael Taylor
Call Number: PR2970 .T39 2001

Publication Date: 2001

Shakespeare Criticism in the Twentieth Century traces the reception of Shakespeare in the critical literature from the end of Victorianism to the present day. Following an introductory overview of the major trends in Shakespeare criticism in their embattled state in the twentieth century, later chapters take up the various strands of this criticism in a more expansive manner.
Shakespeare for Students by Mark W. Scott (Editor)
Call Number: OVERSIZE PR2987 .S47 1992

Publication Date: 1992

The mountain of Shakespearean criticism is often more intimidating to students than Shakespeare's plays themselves. This volume attempts to address this problem with a single, accessible volume of criticism to the playwright's eight most popularly studied plays in secondary schools and undergraduate curriculums - Macbeth, Hamlet, Julius Caesar, Romeo and Juliet, As You Like It, A Midsummer Night's Dream, Othello, and The Merchant of Venice.
The Essential Shakespeare by Larry S. Champion
Call Number: Z8811 .C53 1993

Publication Date: 1993

Covers 1511 of the "most significant" English-language books, chapters, and journal articles on Shakespeare that were published from 1900 through 1984. There is a "major section on general studies," but otherwise the primary arrangement is by individual works, making it easy for students to browse for research materials.
Shakespearean Criticism: Excerpts from the Criticism of William Shakespeare's Plays and Poetry, From the First Published Appraisals to Current Evaluations by Gale Research Co.
Call Number: OVERSIZE PR2965 .S44

Publication Date: 1984 - present

This detailed series provides comprehensive coverage of critical interpretations of the plays of Shakespeare. Each volume includes a cumulative character index, a topic index and a topic index arranged by play title.

Relevant LC Subject Headings

Aging in literature
Androgyny (Psychology) in literature
Dramatists, English -- Early modern, 1500-1700
Elizabeth I, Queen of England, 1533-1603 -- Relations with authors
England -- Civilization -- 16th century
England -- Intellectual life -- 16th century
English drama -- 17th century -- History and criticism
English drama -- Early modern and Elizabethan, 1500-1600 -- History and criticism
English drama -- Italian influences
Families -- England -- History -- 16th century
Feminism in literature
Great Britain -- History -- Elizabeth, 1558-1603
Group identity in literature
Literature and society -- England -- History -- 16th century
National characteristics in literature
Politics and literature -- Great Britain -- History -- 16th century
Politics and literature -- Great Britain -- History -- 17th century
Politics in literature
Religion and literature -- England -- History -- 16th century
Sex role in literature
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Characters -- Women -- Dictionaries
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Criticism and interpretation
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Film adaptations
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Knowledge -- Economics
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Knowledge -- Italy
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Macbeth
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Philosophy
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Political and social views
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Relations with literary patrons
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Religion
Sovereignty in literature
Theater and society -- England -- History -- 16th century
Theater -- England -- History -- 16th century
Transvestism in literature
Witchcraft -- England -- History -- 16th century
Women -- England -- History -- Renaissance, 1450-1600
Women in literature