LibGuides: Chamber Music: General Resources

Assignment

Basic Library Resources that every freshman Music major should know:

Where can I locate specific music scores for my applied study?

Where can I find recordings of musical compositions?

**MaagNET - on the Library Website (maag.ysu.edu), under "QuickLinks"
**Naxos Music Library - streaming audio from Library Website - Research Databases - by Type - Digital Media
**OhioLINK Music Center - streaming audio from Library Website - Research Databases - by Type - Digital Media
WorldCat - Library Website -- Databases -- Search composition -- request Inter-library loan service from appropirate record.

Where to look for basic, general information about composers, compositions, performers,instruments and musical periods:

The New Harvard Dictionary of Music / Don Michael Randel, ed.
**The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. 2d ed. / Stanley Sadie, ed. - available in full-text online from the LibraryWebsite; we also have the first edition in MMC Reference!
The Oxford Dictionary of Music. 2d ed. / Michael Kennedy

Where can I find biographical information about composers, including dates:

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians. Centennial ed. / N. Slonimsky, L. Kuhn, eds.
The Harvard Concise Dictionary of Music and Musicians / Don Michael Randel, ed.
**The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Stanley Sadie, ed. (most recent is online)
**Biography Reference Bank - full-text online database available from the library homepage
Various monographs (books) that are biographies of composers (ML 410)

Where can I look up the meaning of foreign terms relating to music?

Where can I find out if (and what) thematic catalogues exist for a specific composer?

Where can I find information about specific periods of music (including who the significant composers of those periods were)?