It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art and Art History: Art Websites
Reference and Research Resources for the study of Art
artnet is the place to buy, sell and research fine art online. artnet Galleries is the largest network of its kind, with over 2,200 galleries in over 250 cities worldwide, more than 166,000 artworks by over 39,000 artists from around the globe. artnet Galleries serves dealers and art buyers alike by providing a survey of the market and its pricing trends, as well as the means to communicate instantly, inexpensively and globally. Other key services include artnet Magazine, the insider's guide to the art market with daily news, reviews, and features by renowned writers in the art community and the Price Database.The artnet Price Database is the most comprehensive color illustrated archive of fine art auction results worldwide. Representing auction results from over 500 international auction houses since 1985, the Price Database covers more than 4 million auction results by over 188,000 artists, ranging from Old Masters to Contemporary Art.
AskART is an online database containing over 200,000 artists. From its inception the focus was on American artists from the early 16th-Century through the present. However, in January of 2007 the database expanded to include international artists' auction records.
This site provides access to works by artisans from countries around the world, allowing its customers to buy directly from the artist. Such items include: carvings, paintings, rugs, scarves, decorated pottery, and decorative plates.
A gateway to architecture around the world and across history, with photographic images and architectural drawings, integrated maps and timelines, 3D building models, commentaries, bibliographies, web links, and more, for famous designers and structures of all kinds.
From the Metropolitan Museum of Art, a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history. Authored by the Met’s experts—predominantly made up of curators but also of conservators, scientists, and educators—the Timeline comprises 300 timelines, 930 essays, close to 7,000 objects, and a robust index, and is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on the collection.
The first and foremost tool for art historical research on the Internet (next to Google). It shares key resources and methods of online research so that art historians can find the resources relevant to their work
The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
This image database contains more than 85,000 images, representing approximately 12,000 artists, drawn from the collections of the de Young Museum and the Legion of Honor in San Francisco. The images date from the 6th century BCE to the 20th century CE and include paintings, photographs, prints, furniture, pottery, jewelry, functional art, objects of all styles, and much more.
The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Romanesque, Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism periods (1000-1850), currently containing over 29.000 reproductions.
The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It contains approximately 80,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery.