LibGuides: Health Sci Master List: Home

Nursing Specialties Journals

To search for articles in these journals, click the links below then use the “Search within this Journal” option.

General Nursing Journals

To search for articles in these journals, click the links below then use the “Search within this Journal” option.

Nursing Education Journals

To search for articles in these journals, click the links below then use the “Search within this Journal” option.

Nursing Research Journals

To search for articles in these journals, click the links below then use the “Search within this Journal” option.

Health Sciences Databases

BIOSIS Previews
Indexes journals, books, and conference proceedings on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. Includes citations from Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Fields include nursing and allied health
indexing back to 1937. Includes nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheet.
Consumer Health Complete
CHC provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information
Consumers can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles
Health and Wellness Resource Center- Gale Consumer Health
Provides information from current disease and disorders to alternative and complementary medical practices. New periodical and newspaper articles are added daily
Health & Medicine (Gale OneFile)
Consumer health researchers, students, and health care professionals, providing current information on a range of health care topics
Includes embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals.
MedicLatina
Medical research and investigative journal articles in Spanish. Provides access to full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish. A wide range of topics are covered including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology.
Medline with Full Text
1,370 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,340 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. Includes full-text coverage dating back to 1965, MEDLINE with Full Text is the definitive research tool for medical literature.
Nursing & Allied Health Collection
Emphasis on full text titles cited in CINAHL and over 10 million articles. Content helps nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum
Nursing@OVID
Includes 75 nursing journals in full text. Over 400 nursing journals are indexed for searching purposes
Proquest Nursing & Allied Health
Covers nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, consumer health, and much more. Provides abstracting and indexing for more than 525 titles, with over 470 titles in full-text.
PsycINFO
Abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences
Devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, and contains over 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Ninety-nine percent of its content is peer-reviewed.
PubMED
more... less...

Indexes articles in a broad range of preclinical and clinical disciplines. 11 million bibliographic citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences.
Science of Aging Knowledge Environment
Published from October 2001 to June 2006, SAGE KE provided resources pertaining to aging-related research. Although no longer in print, archived issues can be searched and articles viewed.
UpToDate
Clinical decision support resource associated with improved outcomes. Provides more than 80 research studies that demonstrate its impact on improved patient care and hospital performance.

more... less...

You must register an account before you have access. Follow the link above when you are ON CAMPUS, to register and then you will have access off and on campus with your own login information.
SPORTDiscus
Provides indexing and abstracting of articles and other publications on sport, fitness and related disciplines. More than 240 full text journals

APA Citation Guides

APA Formatting Guide (The OWL at Purdue)

This is a standard guide to assist in all things APA

APA Style FAQ Page

This page goes over some of the more confusing aspects of APA

APA Style Blog

This page is for those with a really confusing APA question, you pose the question and receive an answer from APA experts. You can also search to see if your question has already been asked and see the answer.

APA Video Formatting Your Paper

Video Attribution: David Taylor

Nursing Focused Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Index, abstracts and full text from nearly 590 journal that focus on disciplines in nursing and allied health.
Nursing@OVID
Comprehensive, integrated nursing and allied health portal for practice, education, research, and administration.
Nursing and Allied Health Collection
Emphasis on full text titles cited in CINAHL and over 10 million articles, this collection's content helps nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Proquest Nursing & Allied Health
Includes indexing for nursing journals plus articles in the full-image and Text+Graphics formats from more than 270 publications.
UpToDate
Clinical decision support resource associated with improved outcomes. Provides more than 80 research studies that demonstrate its impact on improved patient care and hospital performance.

more... less...

***You must first register an account by going to the link above while ON CAMPUS! After registering you can use UpToDate on/or off campus though your own login information.

*** Note: If you are off campus you will need to log in with your last name and YSU ID# (for YSU proxy).***

General Medical Databases

Consumer Health Complete
Everyday consumer health care information.
Health & Wellness Resource Center- Gale Consumer Health
Gale's consumer health resource, provides information from current disease and disorders to alternative and complementary medical practices. New periodical and newspaper articles are added daily.
Health Reference Center-Academic
This Gale database is for consumer health researchers, students, and health care professionals, providing current information on a range of health care topics. It includes embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.

Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO)
Information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.

A rich collection of consumer health information. Health Source: Consumer Edition features searchable full text for nearly 300 consumer health periodicals, plus indexing and abstracts for over 300 periodicals. Also included is searchable full text for nearly 1,100 health-related pamphlets; 136 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society, and more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish). In addition, this database includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for U.S. prescription drugs, herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs. Health Source provides access to Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. This database covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc.

Medline with Full Text
Provides references to the biomedical literature. Includes material referenced in Index Medicus, International Nursing Index and Index to Dental Literature. Includes journal citations previously supplied in AIDSLine, CancerLit, BioethicsLine, and HealthStar. “Old MEDLINE” 1950-65 is also available. MEDLINE uses Medical Subject Heading (MeSH). For help in determining the correct Medical Subject Headings, try the Medical Subject Headings site from the National Library of Medicine.
PubMed
Pubmed is the free public version of Medline (EBSCO) It has fewer full text articles, but is accessible anywhere.

Educational Databases

Education Full Text
Provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983.
Education Research Complete
Index, abstracts and full text of articles and other publications in education research.
Educator's reference Complete
Provides full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college.
ERIC
Indexes education-related literature, beginning in 1966. Eric is the world's largest source of education information, containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice.

General Resources

Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 4300 periodicals and contains full text for over 3400 scholarly publications.
Directory of Open Access Journals
A directory of freely accessible full-text scholarly journals. There are over 1600 journals that can be browsed, with over 400 that can be searched for articles. To see if a journal is listed, click “Find Journals.” To search for articles on a particular topic, click “Search Articles.”
EBSCO E-Book Collection
Electronic books (e-books) with an imprint earlier than 2005 on many academic subjects.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Over 25,000 encyclopedic entries.
Gale Power Search
Collection of authoritative periodicals,scholarly journals, newspapers, and reference content.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Select electronic reference materials from Gale.
General OneFile--Gale
Gale's largest general-interest database, with more than 8,000 titles--many full text without embargo.
Global Issues in Context
Global Issues in Context ties together sources to present a rich analysis of issues--social, political, military, economic, environmental, science-related, health-related, cultural--and headlines in world hot spots. Provides information on 21st-century issues and events while highlighting global connections and the interdependence of all nations.
MasterFILE Premier
Index, abstracts, and full text from popular magazines covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more. Designed for a general (as opposed to academic) audience.
Newspaper Source
Full text for regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, and newspaper columns.
Web of Science
Provides references to cited authors and articles as well as keyword searches for the journal literature of the sciences. On the initial screen, select Web of Science. On the next screen, select the databases/years you would like to search, then click either “General Search” for topics or “Cited Ref Search” to find where an article has been cited.

Nursing Quality Journals

Journal of Nursing Care Quality

Nursing Technology Journals

To search for articles in these journals, click the links below then use the “Search within this Journal” option.

CIN Plus

Women's Health Nursing

To search for articles in these journals, click the links below then use the “Search within this Journal” option.

Advanced Searching Tips

AND vs. OR: Combine your terms with AND when they are 2 different concepts that must be included in your search. Combine your terms with OR when they are synonyms and can be interchanged.

ex: Nurse AND Salary

ex: Nurse OR RN

(_____) Parenthesis: Use parenthesis to group synonyms together with the combining term OR

ex: (Nurse OR RN)

* Asterisk: Use the asterisk to look for all endings of a word by first removing the ending, then adding the asterisk. This is also called Truncation.

ex: nurs* ----> nurse, nurses, nursing

ex: educat* -----> educate, educates, education, educator, educators, etc

Nursing Management and Leadership Journals

To search for articles in these journals, click the links below then use the “Search within this Journal” option.

Journal of Nursing Management

Nursing Management

Nurse Leader

Nursing Leadership Forum

Reflections on Nursing Leadership

Health Care Management Review

Using the Maag Journal Finder

If you are looking for the full text of a specific article you will need:

The full citation for an article (Journal name, author, title or the article, volume/issue number, year published, page numbers)

If you are looking for any journal in your subject area you will need:

The main focus area of your research

For Full Text:

1) Make sure you are in the titles tab

2) Search for the name of the journal in your citation

3) Choose the link that matches your journal name and has the year listed in your citation

*NOTE: Embargo 1 year means that articles are not available online until they have been published for 1 year.

For Browsing your Subject Area:

1) Make sure you are in the subjects tab

2) Choose your subject area in the drop down menu

3) Select the sub-section closest to your research topic. This will give you a list of subject specialty journals.

Screenshot of page showing subject search for medicine

Websites for Health Information

CDC Stacks
Open access to all CDC research documents.

more... less...

"CDC Stacks allows CDC to connect with more people and share its research. Public health and scientific advancement are best served when scientific information is openly shared and used by the public, public health professionals, health care providers, educators, policy makers, businesses, and private sector organizations. With greater public access, CDC can maximize the effect of public health science and improve the health of the nation."
MedLine Plus
Consumer health resources such as a medical dictionary, encyclopedia, drug resource, and videos.
Dietary Supplement Label Database
Provides dosage and label information for over the counter and prescription dietary supplements.
World Health Organization
WHO began when our Constitution came into force on 7 April 1948. orking with 194 Member States, across six regions, and from more than 150 offices, WHO staff are united in a shared commitment to achieve better health for everyone, everywhere.

Together we strive to combat diseases – communicable diseases like influenza and HIV, and noncommunicable diseases like cancer and heart disease.

Psychology and Sociology Databases

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Covers emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. This database includes nearly 515 full text titles and over 490 peer-reviewed journals.

Psychology (Gale OneFile)
Provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. Offers content of interest to both researchers and general users.

PsycINFO
Electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
SocINDEX
Covers all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Social Work Abstracts (1965-Present)
Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service, and social issues and problems.
Sociological Collection
A comprehensive database covering information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. This database provides complete full text for more than 500 important journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.

General Databases

Academic Search Complete
Designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
Electronic Journal Center (EJC)
The EJC includes the full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas. Most electronic indexes available to the Ohio academic community link from article citations to the full text in the EJC.

Synonyms

Child	Relationship
Children	Partner
Early Childhood	Spouse
Kids	Friend

For each focus area you choose, you should be able to think of a few synonyms that may show up when talking about that concept.

Boolean Operators

Keyword Searching

Social Work Journals

What's a Journal?

Scholarly or peer-reviewed journal articles are written by scholars or professionals who are experts in their fields, for experts in that field.

Social Work- Background Information

Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare by Karen M. Sowers; Catherine N. Dulmus (Editor)
Call Number: HV40|b.C635 2008

ISBN: 0471752223

Publication Date: 2008-03-07

The Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare presents a comprehensive and up-to-date review of this constantly evolving field, featuring contributions from renowned national and international experts. Organized by major foundational areas within the social work curriculum, each volume includes cutting-edge information related to all aspects of the profession to guide practice and policy decision-making across the field. Social work researchers, educators, practitioners, and students will gain important insight as well as practical resources related to this dynamic profession.
International Encyclopedia of Public Policy and Administration by Jay M. Shafritz
ISBN: 0813399777

Publication Date: 1997-11-13

This four-volume encyclopedia is the first major international and comprehensive reference to combine public administration and policy in a single work.Containing approximately 900 articles by over 300 experts, the International Encyclopedia of Public Policy and Administration covers all of the core concepts, terms, and processes of the following areas: applied behavioral science, budgeting, comparative public administration, development administration, industrial/organizational psychology, industrial policy, international trade, labor relations, management, nonprofit management, organization theory and behavior, policy analysis, political economy, political science, public administration, public finance, public law, public management, public personnel administration, public policy, and taxation.
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culture by David A. Gerstner (Editor)
ISBN: 0415306515

Publication Date: 2006-04-12

The Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culturecovers gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender and queer (GLBTQ) life and culture post-1945, with a strong international approach to the subject. The scope of the work is extremely comprehensive, with entries falling into the broad categories of Dance, Education, Film, Health, Homophobia, the Internet, Literature, Music, Performance, and Politics. Slang is also covered. The international contributors come from a wide array of backgrounds: scholars, journalists, artists, doctors, scientists, lawyers, activists, and an enormous range of ideologies and points of view are represented. Major entries provide in-depth information and consider the intellectual and cultural implications of their subjects in a global context. Information is completely up-to-date, including full coverage and analysis of such current or ongoing issues as same-sex marriage/civil union and the international AIDS epidemic. Additionally, there are important appendices covering international sodomy laws and archival institutions, which will be of great value to researchers. The Encyclopediais fully cross-referenced and many entries carry a bibliography. Where possible internet references have been given and there is a full index. The combination of its wide scope, determined international coverage and appendices make the Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culturea uniquely ambitious work and an extremely rich source of information. It is a priority addition for all libraries serving scholars and students with an interest in GLBTQ culture, history and politics across the disciplines.
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women by Cheris Kramarae (Editor); Dale Spender (Editor)
ISBN: 0415920884

Publication Date: 2000-12-27

For a full list of entries and contributors, sample entries, and more, visit the Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women website. Featuring comprehensive global coverage of women's issues and concerns, from violence and sexuality to feminist theory, the Routledge International Encyclopedia of Womenbrings the field into the new millennium. In over 900 signed A-Z entries from US and Europe, Asia, the Americas, Oceania, and the Middle East, the women who pioneered the field from its inception collaborate with the new scholars who are shaping the future of women's studies to create the new standard work for anyone who needs information on women-related subjects.
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America
ISBN: 0684312611

Publication Date: 2003-12-05

This new three-volume set is an accessible and scholarly reference that provides a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States. Long needed by researchers, the "Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America includes approximately 545 articles ranging from short biographical entries to longer essays surveying topics such as the Stonewall riots, federal law and policy, same-sex institutions and AIDS. Wide-ranging in scope, this new encyclopedia complements courses in a variety of disciplines, including history, American studies, literature, psychology, sociology and others. Features include a guide to archival sources, a chronology/timeline, a historical overview essay and a comprehensive index.

Grey Literature

The Twelfth International Conference on Grey Literature in Prague in 2010 arrived at the following definition:

"Grey literature stands for manifold document types produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in print and electronic formats that are protected by intellectual property rights, of sufficient quality to be collected and preserved by libraries and institutional repositories, but not controlled by commercial publishers; i.e. where publishing is not the primary activity of the producing body."

Examples of grey literature include: conference abstracts, presentations, proceedings; regulatory data; unpublished trial data; government publications; reports (such as white papers, working papers, internal documentation); dissertations/theses; patents; and policies & procedures.

Grey Literature in Systematic Reviews

Grey literature is not information that has been commercially published, therefore it includes studies that show positive results and failures. Failures are just as important as the positive results because evidence-based information includes both. Additionally, grey literature helps reduce publication bias and creates more balanced research and information within a systematic review.

Depending on what your topic is there are various options when trying to locate grey literature. Locating grey literature can feel daunting at times, so concentrate on abstracts or conference proceedings, unless you are researching a drug or intervention in pharmacology; then you would focus on clinical trials or pharma data.

Below are some links regarding the importance of grey literature:

Finding Grey Literature Evidence and Assessing for Outcome and Analysis Reporting Biases When Comparing Medical Interventions

Grey Matters! Find Grey literature

"Gray literature: An Important Resource in Systematic Reviews"

Grey Matters: A Practical Tool for Searching Health-Related Grey Literature

Sources for Grey Literature

Databases for Grey Literature

NY Academy of Medicine Grey Literature Report

This report is a bimonthly publication of The New York Academy of Medicine (NYAM) alerting readers to new grey literature publications in health services research and selected public health topics. The database platform is keyword searchable and serves as an archive for the cataloged reports.

OpenGrey: System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe

The System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe, is an open access database to 700.000 bibliographical references of grey literature produced in Europe and allows you to export records and locate the documents in many research disciplines.

GreyNet

The Grey Literature Network Service was founded in 1992. The goal of GreyNet is to facilitate dialog, research, and communication between persons and organizations in the field of grey literature. GreyNet further seeks to identify and distribute information on and about grey literature in networked environments

Dissertations & Theses Resources

Theses & Dissertations--OhioLINK (2000 - present)

A catalog of dissertations, theses and published material based on theses and dissertations. This catalog is created by OCLC member libraries worldwide and includes dissertations, theses, etc. in all subject areas.

Dissertation & Theses-- Proquest (1861- present)

Contains more than 2 million entries for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Since 1997, new publications have been available electronically, and many publications can be ordered through the system for a fee. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities.

CINAHL with FullText

This database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheet. Searchable cited references for many journals are also included. CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides full text 337 of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included.

Clinical Trials and Registries

Cochrane Library

Cochrane is for anyone interested in using high-quality information to make health decisions. Whether you are a doctor or nurse, patient or career, researcher or funder, Cochrane evidence provides a powerful tool to enhance your healthcare knowledge and decision making.

TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) Database

*Public Database - may require InterLibrary Loan Request to acquire full-text.*
Clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

ClinicalTrials.gov

ClinicaTrials.gov is a Web-based resource that provides patients, their family members, health care professionals, researchers, and the public with easy access to information on publicly and privately supported clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions. The Web site is maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).