It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Guitar Resources: Articles
Resources for guitar performance, research, and repertoire
How do I find periodical and journal articles about the guitar or guitar music?
There are a number of electronic resources to assist you in finding periodical and journal articles. Below are only a few. To explore other resources available, try the Maag Journal Finder.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
With 50 million pages digitized, and an additional 3 million pages added each year, JSTOR includes more than 2,000 academic journals, plus thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education.
Portal for Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music. Authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe.
Index and abstracts of articles, books, dissertations, conferences, and other literature on music.
An international bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines. RILM provides a broad, international coverage and concise abstracts. All scholarly works are indexed (articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, films and videos, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, reviews, etc.). Concert reviews, recording notes, pedagogical manuals, etc. are indexed if they are of scholarly interest.
Areas of coverage encompass historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, librarianship, performance practice and notation, theory and analysis, pedagogy, liturgy, dance, criticism, music therapy, and interdisciplinary studies on music and various other fields, including literature, dramatic arts, visual arts, acoustics, aesthetics, anthropology, sociology, linguistics and semiotics, mathematics, philosophy, physiology, psychology, and physics.
