Covers emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. This database includes nearly 515 full text titles and over 490 peer-reviewed journals.
Provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. Offers content of interest to both researchers and general users.
Electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
Covers all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service, and social issues and problems.
A comprehensive database covering information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. This database provides complete full text for more than 500 important journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.
Designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
The EJC includes the full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas. Most electronic indexes available to the Ohio academic community link from article citations to the full text in the EJC.
Indexes education-related literature, beginning in 1966. Eric is the world's largest source of education information, containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice.
Gale's consumer health resource, provides information from current disease and disorders to alternative and complementary medical practices. New periodical and newspaper articles are added daily.
This Gale database is for consumer health researchers, students, and health care professionals, providing current information on a range of health care topics. It includes embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
Information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
A rich collection of consumer health information. Health Source: Consumer Edition features searchable full text for nearly 300 consumer health periodicals, plus indexing and abstracts for over 300 periodicals. Also included is searchable full text for nearly 1,100 health-related pamphlets; 136 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society, and more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish). In addition, this database includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for U.S. prescription drugs, herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs. Health Source provides access to Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. This database covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc.
Provides references to the biomedical literature. Includes material referenced in Index Medicus, International Nursing Index and Index to Dental Literature. Includes journal citations previously supplied in AIDSLine, CancerLit, BioethicsLine, and HealthStar. “Old MEDLINE” 1950-65 is also available. MEDLINE uses Medical Subject Heading (MeSH). For help in determining the correct Medical Subject Headings, try the Medical Subject Headings site from the National Library of Medicine.
Pubmed is the free public version of Medline (EBSCO) It has fewer full text articles, but is accessible anywhere.
Which Database Should I use?
ALL topic areas should use the Psychology and Sociology databases on the left.
In addition, if your topic deals with children, include the Education databases as well.
Everyone can also use the general databases since they cover a wide variety of topics.
Searching more than one database
You can search all of the database on the left at the same time EXCEPT the EJC. Simply choose one to start with, then use the link that says "Choose Databases". Then select the ones you wish to use and click OK
