LibGuides: Journalism Resources: Home

Basic Resources

Maag Library Catalog
This is the catalog for items available at Maag Library.
Search Ohio
Use Search Ohio to find and borrow books from public libraries around the state.
Research Databases
Use the databases to find indexes and full-text articles.
Maag Journal Finder
Use Maag Journal Finder if you already know the exact article you want and simply need to find out if it is available.

HeinOnline
HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 165 million pages and 200,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges an important research gap by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,600 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of academic journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.

Scholarly Sources
Scholarly sources are those written by experts in a particular field. They are usually peer reviewed and available in databases.
Trade Publications
Trade publications are those journals and magazines published by and for people working in a particular field.
Popular Sources
Popular publications are non-scholarly sources such as magazines and newspapers, usually written by journalists.

Creating a Database Search Statement

Part 1: Selecting Keywords (4:37)
Part 2: Boolean Operators (4:53)
QUIZ: Parts 1 and 2
Complete this quiz after you have watched parts 1 and 2 of the series. (Have your instructor's email address handy if you want to send them a copy of your score!)
Part 3: Phrase Searching and Nesting (4:56)
Part 4: Truncation (4:58)
QUIZ: Parts 3 and 4
Complete this quiz after you have watched parts 3 and 4 of the series. (Have your instructor's email address handy if you want to send them a copy of your score!)

FLOOR	SERVICES, COLLECTIONS & CALL NUMBERS	ELEVATOR
6A	Call Numbers: QD 86 - Z	3
6	Silent Study Floor Government Documents	1 and 2
5A	Call Numbers: PR 1500 - QD 85	3
5	Silent Study Floor Archives & Special Collections Call Numbers: N - PR 1499	1, 2, and 3
4A	Call Numbers: HG - LT	3
4	Group Study Floor Group Study Rooms Library Instruction Room	1 and 2
3A	Call Numbers: DT - HF	3
3	Group Study Floor FitDesk Bikes Maag Café Call Numbers: A - DS, M-MT	1, 2, and 3
Main Level	Administrative, Librarian & Staff Offices Library Services Desk & Course Reserves Current Newspapers InterLibrary Loan Research Lab	1, 2, and 3
Lower Level	English Language Institute Family Study Room Lactation Room Podcasting Rooms Testing Center Writing Center Vending Machines	1, 2, and 3
Beeghly College of Education	Wilcox Curriculum Resource Center (CRC)