A True Greek Tragedy: The Holocaust in Salonika
A YSU Documentary That Aired on PBS Western Reserve
Maag Library provides access to books and articles on American History in a variety of formats. The resources and tips on this page can help you locate the resources you need. For additional assistance, please contact me directly.
Use these resources for definitions of historical terms or general information.
Books can be found through MaagNET, the Maag Library online catalog, through the OhioLINK Catalog, or through the Worldcat Catalog. Use MaagNet to locate items available through Maag Library. Use the OhioLINK catalog to locate items available through other OhioLINK institutions. Use Worldcat to locate materials in libraries outside of the OhioLINK system. These items can be requested and delivered to Maag Library for pickup.
For more help finding books, see Finding Books.
Browsing for books
The American History collection is located on Floor 3A (General Collection), in the Reference Room, and in Serials (Journals/Periodicals) on the 6th Floor. All collections are arranged according to the Library of Congress Classification System. Once you locate a book or journal that is useful in one of these areas, you can locate information on the same or similar topics by locating the same call number in the other areas of the library. See Call Numbers and Floor Plans for assistance. Some of the call numbers where you will find information on American History are:
Searching For Books
To find books by subject, search MaagNet or the OhioLINK catalog. If you are not sure of the exact subject for the topic you are researching, begin with History and browse the list of subjects or use one of the subjects below to get started.
History articles are available in print and electronic sources. The information below will help you decide where to begin searching for articles.
Articles in print
History journals that Maag Library receives in print can be located by searching MaagNet, browsing by call number or through the list of History journals received by Maag Library. These journals are located on the sixth floor of Maag Library and are arranged in call number order.
Many history journals are now available through online subscription databases and through the OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center. Various terms can be used to search these databases, including subject, keywords, names, historical periods, etc. Most databases allow access by current YSU faculty, students and staff from off campus, although a few are restricted to in-library use only. For more information about connecting from home, see off-campus access.
These databases provide a starting point for your research. To see other available databases, visit the Research Databases page.
American Memory, which is a digital record of American history and creativity, provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America.