LibGuides: STEM 1520 -- STEM First-Year Information Literacy: Overview

Welcome!

Welcome to Maag Library's STEM First-Year Information Literacy module. This module covers basic library resources and their navigation. Using the different tabbed sections, you will learn how to:

Read a call number
Find an item in Maag's online catalog, MaagNet
Order items from other academic libraries through OhioLINK
Recognize a scholarly journal
Locate a scholarly journal article in Academic Search Complete, a general database
Locate a scholarly journal article in Web of Science, a STEM-specific database

This overview covers general resources and services within Maag Library. To learn about each discipline's specialized resources navigate to the STEM Subject Guides.

Basic Resources

MaagNET Library Catalog
This is the catalog for items available at Maag Library.

OhioLINK Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Catalog of OhioLINK-member academic libraries.
A combined catalog of over 7.8 million books and other library materials from many of Ohio’s universities, colleges, community colleges and the State Library of Ohio. OhioLINK’s design allows you to transfer a search from your local library catalog to the OhioLINK combined catalog with the touch of a button. The OhioLINK catalog provides immediate access to the library holdings of the whole system, including current availability status. Requested books and other materials are delivered to your library within a few days. Catalog entries for electronic books and journals link directly to those resources.

Research Databases
Provide access to indexes and journal articles.
Maag Journal Finder
Is there direct access to a specific journal or article?

Maag Library Tour Assignment

Library Audio Tour Assignment
Check out an iPod at the research services desk on the main floor of the library and complete this assignment as you walk through the building.

Maag Library Audio Tour and online quiz
Go paperless! This is the online version of the audio tour. Follow the link in the video description to the online quiz.

Maag Library Building Guide

FLOOR	SERVICES, COLLECTIONS & CALL NUMBERS	ELEVATOR
6A	Call Numbers: QD 86 - Z	3
6	Silent Study Floor Government Documents	1 and 2
5A	Call Numbers: PR 1500 - QD 85	3
5	Silent Study Floor Archives & Special Collections Call Numbers: N - PR 1499	1, 2, and 3
4A	Call Numbers: HG - LT	3
4	Group Study Floor Group Study Rooms Library Instruction Room	1 and 2
3A	Call Numbers: DT - HF	3
3	Group Study Floor FitDesk Bikes Maag Café Call Numbers: A - DS, M-MT	1, 2, and 3
Main Level	Administrative, Librarian & Staff Offices Library Services Desk & Course Reserves Current Newspapers InterLibrary Loan Research Lab	1, 2, and 3
Lower Level	English Language Institute Family Study Room Lactation Room Podcasting Rooms Testing Center Writing Center Vending Machines	1, 2, and 3
Beeghly College of Education	Wilcox Curriculum Resource Center (CRC)

Reference Librarian: Science & Engineering

Christine Adams

Email Me

Contact:

Christine Adams, MLS
Co-Director & Head of Research and Academic Support
William F. Maag Jr. Library
Information Services
Phone: 330.941.3681
Email: cmadams02@ysu.edu

330.941.3681

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Company Information, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Geography, Government Information, Industry Research, Management, Marketing, Ohio, Statistics