Maag Library provides access to books and articles on American History in a variety of formats. The resources and tips on this page can help you locate the resources you need. For additional assistance, please contact me directly.
Trying to decide on a topic? Use these resources for definitions of historical terms or general information.
This dictionary includes some 3,000 short alphabetically-arranged entries that cover from the colonial period to the present and includes information about African American, women's and Native American history.
Great events from history: American Series
The three-volume American Series of Great Events from History begins with the arrival of the Indians, the first Americans, from Asia and ends with the first manned lunar landing in 1969. Between these two noteworthy happenings, 336 additional events are studied in depth through the scholarly literature they have inspired.
The Reference Room has over 300 titles on topics to help you get started
Books can be found through MaagNet, the Maag Library online catalog, through the OhioLINK Catalog, or through the Worldcat Catalog. Use MaagNet to locate items available through Maag Library. Use the OhioLINK catalog to locate items available through other OhioLINK institutions. Use Worldcat to locate materials in libraries outside of the OhioLINK system. These items can be requested and delivered to Maag Library for pickup.
Browsing for Books
The American History collection is located on Floor 3A (Call Numbers E and F), in the Reference Room, and in Serials (Journals/Periodicals) on the Floor 6. Collections are arranged according to the Library of Congress Classification System. Once you locate a book or journal that is useful in one of these areas, you can locate information on the same or similar topics by locating the same call number in the other areas of the library. See Call Numbers and Floor Plans for assistance. Some of the call numbers where you will find information on American History are:
Articles for American History topics are available in print and electronic sources. The information below will help you decide where to begin searching for articles.
Articles in print
History journals that Maag Library receives in print can be located by searching MaagNet, browsing by call number or through the list of History journals received by Maag Library. These journals are located on the sixth floor of Maag Library and are arranged in call number order. Current issues are arranged by title.
Many history journals are now available through online subscription databases and through the OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center. Various terms can be used to search these databases, including subject, keywords, names, historical periods, etc. Most databases allow access by current YSU faculty, students and staff from off campus, although a few are restricted to in-library use only. For more information about connecting from home, see off-campus access.
Index and abstracts to articles covering world history from 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada).
Electronic Journal Center
Academic Search Premier
Digital Commons Network (OhioLINK)
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies
These databases provide a starting point for your research. To see other available databases, visit the Research Databases page.
The links below provide access to History resources on the Internet.
Hyper History Online
Contains almanacs, atlases, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and timelines of world history.
Repository for documents for teaching and understanding contemporary world history and the struggle for social progress.
Provides links to a wide variety of history sites. Covers such topics as ancient times, mathematics, military, U.S., and technology.
New Video Resource, a YSU production! Ash and Smoke: The Holocaust in Salonika.
For more information or assistance, feel free to contact:
Many students have found that this Maag Library database, Opposing Viewpoints in Context is a good place to start finding subjects and as the name implies, views from both sides of an issue.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Resources are divided into topics which contains numerous full text pieces further categorized by the nature of their material: viewpoints (essays), reference, statistics, magazines and newspapers, images, primary documents and web sites. Give it a try!
image created by Kathleen Hanna, librarian at IUPUI
History Department Home http://web.ysu.edu/class/history
Like us on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/groups/254983387857081/
History Club Facebook https://www.facebook.com/groups/256094007962/
Judaic and Holocaust Studies http://www.ysu.edu/academics/college-liberal-arts-social-sciences/judaic-studies-minor.