Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: Jazz

A comprehensive resource guide for music research

Jazz Encyclopedias

The Big Book of Blues: A Biographical Encyclopedia / Robert Santelli
REF ML 102 .B6 S26 1993

The Encyclopedia of Jazz / Leonard Feather
REF ML 3561 .J3 E552 1960b

The Encyclopedia of Jazz in the Seventies / Leonard Feather
REF ML 105 .F36 1987

Jazzology: The Encyclopedia of Jazz Theory for All Musicians / Robert Rawlins & Nor Eddine Bah
OVERSIZE MT 6 .R263 2005 (also in REF)

The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz / Barry Kernfeld, ed
MMC REF ML 102 .J3 N48 1994
REF ML 102 .J3 N48 1988 v.1-2

The Oxford Companion to Jazz / Bill Kirchner, ed.
REF ML 3507 .J32 2000

Jazz Biography

The Al Jolson Discography / Larry F. Kiner and Philip R. Evans
REF ML 156.7 .J64 K5 1983

Cats of Any Color: Jazz Black and White / Gene Lees
ML 394 .L39 1994

Count Basie: A Bio-Discography / Chris Sheridan
ML 156.7 .B38 S5 1986

Giants of Jazz / Studs Terkel
ML 385 .T45 1975

Jazz People / Ole Brask
ML 87 .B65 1993

Jazz Masters of the Forties / Ira Gitler
ML 395 .G58 1983

Jazz Singing: America's Great Voices from Bessie Smith to Bebop and Beyond / Will Friedwald
ML 3508 .F74 1990

John Coltrane: A Discography and Musical Biography / Yasuhiro Fujioka
Oversize ML 156.7 .C58 F85 1995

Mission Impossible: My Life in Music / Lalo Schifrin
ML 410 .S2575 A3 2008

Sidney Bechet: The Wizard of Jazz / John Chilton
ML 419 .B23 C5 1996

Tommy Dorsey: On the Side / Robert L. Stockdale
ML 156.7 .D67 S7 1995

Who's Who of Jazz: Storyville to Swing Street / Cohn Chilton
REF ML 106 .U3 C5 1985

Jazz Research Guides

Jazz Reference and Research Materials: A Bibliography / Eddie S. Meadows
REF ML 128 .J3 M33 1981

Jazzforschung (Jazz Research) - Journal in German and English 
ML 5 .J35

Jazz General Reference

A Bibliography of Jazz / Alan P. Merriam
ML 128 .J3 M4 1970

A Guide to the Blues: History, Who's Who, Research Sources / Austin Sonnier, Jr.
REF ML 3521 .S58 1994

Jazz: A History of America's Music / Geoffrey C. Ward, based on a documentary film by Ken Burns
Oversize ML 3506 .W37 2000

Jazz Heritage / Martin Williams
ML 3507 .W53 1985

Jazz Milestones: A Pictorial Chronicle of Jazz 1900-1990 / Ken Vail
REF ML 3506 .J48 1993

Jazz Talk / Robert S. Gold
ML 102 .J3 G7 1982

The Literature of Jazz / Donald Kennington
REF ML 128 .J3 K45 1980

Jazz Discography

The Blackwell Guide to Soul Recordings / Robert Pruter
REF ML 156.4 .S6 B6 1993

Ellingtonia: The Recorded Music of Duke Ellington and his Sidemen / W.E. Timner
REF ML156.5.E45 T5 1988

The Essential Jazz Records / Max Harrison, Charles Fox, and Eric Thacker
ML 156.4 .J3 H33 1984

The Jazz Discography / Tom Lord
REF ML 156.4 .J3 L67 1992 v.1-8

Jazz on LP's: A Collector's Guide Jazz on Decca, Brunswick, London, Felsted, Ducretet-Thomson...
ML 156.4 .J3 J44 1978

The Jazz Standards: A Guide to the Repertoire / Ted Gioia
ML 128 .J3 G56 2012

Pepper Adams' Joy Road: An Annotated Discography / Gary Carner
ML156.7.A32 C37 2012

Jazz-Related Web Sites

Multimedia Librarian

Position Vacant's picture
Position Vacant
Contact:
For research assistance, visit the Reference Desk on the main floor of the library or call 330.941.3686.