Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: Popular Music

A comprehensive resource guide for music research

Popular Music Guides and Encyclopedias

All Music Guide: The Best CDs, Albums, & Tapes / Michael Erlewine, ed
REF ML 156.9 .A56 1992

Encyclopedia of Popular Music / Irwin Stambler
REF ML 102 .P66 G84 2006 v.1-10

Encyclopedia of Pop, Rock & Soul / Irwin Stambler
REF ML 102 .P66 S8 1989

Encyclopedia of Popular Music in America / Robert Lissauer
REF ML 128 .P63 L57 1996 v.1-3

Encyclopedia of Rock / Phil Hardy & David lang
REF ML 102 .R6 H37 1988

The Oxford Companion to Popular Music / Peter Gammond
REF ML 102 .P66 G35 1991

The Penguin Encyclopedia of Popular Music / ed. by Donald Clarke
REF ML 102 .P66 P45 1989

Popular Music: A Reference Guide / Roman Iwaschkin
ML 128 .P63 I95 1986

Rock Song Index: Essential Information on the 7,500 Most Important Songs of Rock and Roll / Bruce Pollock
REF ML 128 .R6 P65 1997

The Rolling Stone Illustrated History of Rock & Roll / Jim Miller, ed.
REF ML 3534 .R64 1980

The Rolling Stone Record Guide: Reviews and Ratings of almost 10,000 Currently Available Rock, Pop, Soul, Country, Blues, Jazz, and Gospel Albums / Dave Marsh
REF ML 156.4 .P6 M37 (1979)

Popular Music Websites

Popular Music General Reference

The Complete Encyclopedia of Popular Music and Jazz, 1900-1950
REF ML 102 .P66 K55 v.1-4

Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World / John Shepherd, ed.
REF ML 102 .P66 C66 2003 v.1-7 (and online)

The Encyclopedia of Pop, Rock, & Soul / Irwin Stambler
REF ML 102 .P66 S8 1989

The Encyclopedia of Popular Music / Colin Larkin, ed.
REF ML 102 .P66 G84 2006 v.1-10

The Encyclopedia of Rock / Phil Hardy & Dave Laing
REF ML 102 .R6 H37 1988

The Great Song Thesaurus / Roger Lax & Frederick Smith
REF ML 128 .S3 L4 1989

Lissauer's Encyclopedia of Popular Music in America: 1888 to the Present / Robert Lissauer
REF ML 128 .P63 L57 1996 v.1-3

The Literature of Rock 1954-1978 / Frank Hoffmann
REF ML 128 .R6 H6

The Oxford Companion to Popular Music / Peter Gammond
REF ML 102 .P66 G35 1991

The Penguin Encyclopedia of Popular Music / Donald Clarke, ed.
REF ML 102 .P66 P45 1989

Popular Music: An Annotated Index of American Popular Songs
REF ML 120 .U5 S5 v.1-6 + Suppl.

Rock: An Illustrated History / Stephen Barnard
REF ML 3534 .B32 1986

The Rock & Roll Almanac / Mark Bego
REF ML 3534 .B43 1996

Rock Music in American Popular Culture: Rock 'n' Roll Resources / B. Lee Cooper
REF ML 3534 .C663 1995

The Rock Music Source Book / Bob Macken, Peter Fornatale, & Bill Ayres
REF ML 3534 .M3

Rock Stars / Pop Stars: A Comprehensive Bibliography 1955-1994 / Brady J. Leyser, ed.
REF ML 128 .R6 L49 1994

The Rock Who's Who / Brock Helander
REF ML 102 .R6 H5 1996

That Old Time Rock & Roll: A Chronicle of an Era 1954-1963 / Richard Aquila
REF ML 3534 .A68 1989

Who Wrote That Song? / Dick Jacobs & Harriet Jacobs
REF ML 120 .U5 J23 1994

Individual Artists

Backbeat: Earl Palmer's Story / Tony Scherman
ML 419 .P38 S34 1999

The Beatles: The Ultimate Recording Guide / Allen J. Wiener
OVERSIZE ML 156.7 .B4 W53 1992

Bob Dylan: A Bio-Bibliography / William McKeen
ML 420 .D98 M25 1993

Dark Star: The Tragic Story of Roy Orbison / Ellis Amburn
ML 429 .O78 A8 1990

Heavier than Heaven: A Biography of Kurt Cobain / Charles R. Cross
ML 420 .C59 C76 2001

Home Before Daylight: My Life on the Road with the Grateful Dead / Steve Parish
ML 421 .G72 P37 2003

Me and a Guy Named Elvis: My Lifelong Friendship with Elvis Presley / Jerry Schilling
ML 420 .P96 S33 2006

Riders on the Storm: My Life with Jim Morrison and The Doors / John Densmore
ML 419 .D46 A3 1990

The Velvet Underground / Richard Witts
ML 421 .V44 W58 2006

Singles/Albums

The All Music Book of Hit Albums: The Top 10 US & UK Album Charts from 1960 to the Present Day (1995) / Dave McAleer
REF ML 156.4 .P6 M42 1995

All Music Guide: The Best CDs, Albums, & Tapes / Michael Erlewine & Scott Bultman
REF ML 156.9 .A56 1992

American Popular Songs from the Revolutionary War to the Present / David Ewen
ML 128 .N3 E9

The Billboard Book of Number One Hits / Fred Bronson
REF ML 156.4 .P6 B76 1985

The Billboard Book of Number One Rhythm & Blues Hits / Adam White & Fred Bronson
REF ML 156.4 .B6 W55 1993

The Billboard Book of Top 40 Hits, 1955 to Present (1983) / Joel Whitburn
REF ML 156.4 .P6 W473

Billboard Top 1000 Singles, 1955-1992 / Joel Whitburn
REF ML 156.4 .P6 W445 1993

Popular Music: An Annotated Index of American Popular Songs
REF ML 120 .U5 S5

Rock Record / Terry Hounsome & Tim Chambre
REF ML 156.4 .R6 H68

Rock Song Index: Essential Information on the 7,500 Most Important Songs of Rock and Roll / Bruce Pollock
REF ML 128 .R6 P65 1997

The Rolling Stone Record Guide: Reviews and Ratings of Almost 10,000 Currently Available Rock, Pop, Soul, Country, Blues, Jazz, and Gospel Albums / Dave Marsh, ed.
REF ML 156.4 .P6 M37

Top 40 Music on Compact Disc, 1955-1981 / Pat Downey
REF ML 156.4 .P6 D695 1994

Multimedia Librarian

Position Vacant's picture
Position Vacant
Contact:
For research assistance, visit the Reference Desk on the main floor of the library or call 330.941.3686.