Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Organ Resources: Printed Music

Resources for organ performance, research, and repertoire

How do I find organ music?

If you have a specific piece in mind, you can search by title, author (person/organization/composer), or both on MaagNET. Below are general call number ranges for organ music. You can browse the shelves or you can consult MaagNET for a listing of materials by call number. To search by call number on MaagNET, select LC Call Number and enter the beginning of a call number, ex. M214

*Some of the recommended call numbers below contain music that does not include the organ. For those, consider limiting the results to "words in subject" = "organ" or "words in subject" = "organs."

Suggested Call Numbers for Organ Music (links provided for call numbers currently in use in MaagNET)

M6 - M14 Organ Solo
M6 Miscellaneous Collections
M7 General Collections - Original Compositions
M8 Sonatas
M9 Suites & Cyclical Works
M10 Fugues (with or without preludes)
M11 General Pieces
M11.2 Pedal Pieces
M12 Arrangements - Collections
M13 Arrangements - Separate Works
M14 Accompaniments to Collections of Psalms & Hymns
   
M180 - M181 1 or more organs, 2 or more players
M180 Collections
M181 Separate Works
M182 - M186 Organ and 1 Other Instrument (including piano)
M182 Miscellaneous Collections
M183 Original Compositions - General Collections
M184 Original Compositions - Special Collections & Separate Works
M185 Arrangements - Collections
M186 Arrangements - Separate Works
   
M200 - M204 Organ and 1 other instrument (M200, M201, M202, M203, M204)
M300 - M304 Organ and 2 other instruments (M302, M304)
M400 - M404 Organ and 3 other instruments (M402, M404)
M500 - M504 Organ and 4 other instruments (M502, M504)
M600 - M604 Organ and 5 other instruments (M602, M604)
M700 - M704 Organ and 6 other instruments
M800 - M804 Organ and 7 other instruments (M802)
M900 - M904 Organ and 8 other instruments (M902)
   
M1005 Concertos with Orchestra
M1006 Concertos with Orchestra (arranged)
M1008 Concertos with String Orchestra
M1009 Concertos with String Orchestra (arranged)
   
MT180 - MT208 Studies and Methods
MT180 General
MT182 Systems & Methods
MT185 Studies & Exercises
MT187 Pedal Techniques
MT189 Registration Techniques
MT190 Accompaniment techniques for Gregorian chant and other liturgical music 
MT191 Other (A-Z)
MT192 - MT199 Electronic (including synthesizers with keyboards) (MT192)
MT200 - MT208 Reed Organ (Harmonium)

The Largest Pipe Organ in the World

Multimedia Librarian

Position Vacant's picture
Position Vacant
Contact:
For research assistance, visit the Reference Desk on the main floor of the library or call 330.941.3686.