Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nursing Books at YSU
The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy by
Call Number: RC55 .M4
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
The Merck Manual covers all subjects expected from the leading internal medicine textbook. Included is detailed information on a multitude of topics, including pediatrics, gynecology, psychiatry, ophthalmology, otolaryngology, and dental disorders. In addition, The Merck Manual Centennial Edition, for Mobipocket is capable of being used from any device that uses the Handheldmed Mobipocket Reader (including Smartphones, PDAs, Desktop computers, Laptop computers, and Tablet computers). Truly the most versatile version of The Merck Manual available.
Encyclopedia and Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, and Allied Health by
Call Number: R121 .M65 2005x
Publication Date: 2005-02-23
The Miller-Keane Encyclopedia & Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Allied Health is highly regarded for its accuracy, the clinical usefulness of its entries, and its multidisciplinary approach that encompasses current topics across the entire spectrum of health care. Trademark features include comprehensive encyclopedic entries, portable size, soft cover, printed thumb tabs, unique "Windows" essays, and a color A&P atlas. Organized by major terms with related terms defined as subentries, Miller-Keane's organization provides easy access to information on a variety of closely related topics in one location. Encyclopedic entries are included for significant topics, such as diseases, disorders, or conditions. These encyclopedic entries include the definition along with a concise overview of the most important information related to Symptoms, Treatment, Patient Care, Prevention, etc. Miller-Keane also includes an extensive list of appendices. Dorland's spellchecker software and a companion Evolve website supplement this edition making it a powerful tool to building and using a medical vocabulary for all health professionals. Includes more than 40,000 terms. Entries are either main entries or subentries. Subentries are compound terms that are based on the main entry, (i.e. myocardial is a main entry; myocardial infarction would be a subentry). Windows boxes throughout feature distinguished leaders in the health sciences who expand on the entries. Pronunciation guides enhance verbal communication skills. Tables provide at-a-glance information on a variety of subjects such as insurance-related terms, abbreviations used in health care reform, and many other topics. The vocabulary of the Unified Nursing Language System (UNLS), including NANDA, NIC, NOC, and the Omaha system provides a quick reference for standardized nursing languages. 14 Appendices present important info in a concise, easy-to-use format. Approximately 3,900 new terms provide extensive coverage for all areas of nursing, medicine, and allied health. Smaller trim size (5 ½ x 8 ½) and soft cover enhance portability and ease of use. New NANDA information has been incorporated throughout. New hot topics, such as HIPPA and SARS, added. An updated 32-page full color atlas of human anatomy and an expanded 8-page full color atlas of common disorders provide detailed visual references. Medical spellchecker CD-ROM, packaged with each copy of the text, includes more than 275,000 medical, nursing, and health professions terms. This has been updated for compatibility with the most recent operating systems in use. Appendix 14-3 has been updated to include new interventions from the most current NIC and definitions for each intervention are now included
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions by
Call Number: R121 .M89 2006
Publication Date: 2005-10-21
This bestselling, full-color dictionary of health care terminology is well known for its combination of relevant, thorough definitions and vibrant color illustrations and line drawings that illuminate all subject areas. More than just a dictionary, you'll also find a comprehensive anatomy atlas, numerous useful appendices, and a new companion CD-ROM featuring a medical spellchecker, audio pronunciations, and English-Spanish phrase translations. The new 7th edition is thoroughly up to date with current clinical information and over 5,000 new definitions. Comprehensive, authoritative definitions - including major diseases, disorders, procedures, and drugs - offer the most accurate, complete information available. Nearly 2,500 colorful photographs and drawings illustrate all subject areas - more than 800 new! Large, clear type is easy to read. Pronunciations and eponyms for key entries assist the reader in learning and using terminology in everyday practice. British spellings of selected entries help users recognize alternate spellings. Helpful tables provide essential information at a glance. Color Atlas of Human Anatomy contains dozens of clearly labeled drawings. Hundreds of lab test definitions describe and explain key lab tests. A companion Evolve website provides hundreds of web links to help you find authoritative information online, as well as content updates and other helpful resources. 5,000 new definitions have been added, representing all areas of nursing, medicine, and the health-related professions, with special emphasis on definitions related to new drugs, health professions, changes in health care delivery, bioterrorism, and new technological developments. More than 10,000 definitions have been updated and revised to reflect current practice. All nursing diagnosis entries reflect the 2005-2006 NANDA terminology and the newest information for NIC and NOC. New and updated appendices cover JCAHO changes in documentation, functional health patterns, new nutritional information, and much more. Selected definitions - particularly those for major diseases, disorders, and procedures - have been expanded to enable the user to obtain detailed information quickly from a single source. Expanded definitions of over 70 additional conditions now contain full, detailed nursing process information. Updated, expanded drug entries include specific drugs currently on the market. New colored entry words and convenient thumb indexing make searching easier. All tables have been updated, and more than 800 illustrations have been replaced or updated. A new companion CD-ROM with helpful tools, including over 400 medical terminology questions, a printable Spanish-English phrasebook, an audio glossary containing pronunciations of over 25,000 terms, a full retail version of Medical Spellchecker software, and more.
Minidictionary for Nurses by
Call Number: RT21 .D537 2003
Publication Date: 2003-04-24
The fifth edition of this best-selling and trusted dictionary has been fully updated and revised to take account of recent developments in nursing practice and related fields. Updates cover the fields of surgical techniques, paediatrics, gynaecology, nephrology, endocrinology, and ENT, as well as the latest reorganization of the National Health Service.Fully revised, this dictionary provides comprehensive coverage of the ever-expanding vocabulary of the nursing professions. In addition to specifically nursing terms, there are many entries in the fields of medicine, anatomy, physiology, psychiatry, nutrition, and pharmacology (including new drugs recently introduced into medical practice).Over 10,100 clear and concise entries, all written by medical and nursing specialists, cover the theory and practice of nursing. 100 helpful illustrations and 12 appendices covering nutritional requirements, normal values for biochemical and haematological data, standard values for body weight, and much more, make this an invaluable reference tool for all nursing students and professionals. This mini-dictionary has a sturdy flexi-cover and is a useful pocket size for easy transportation and quick-reference.
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by
Call Number: R121 .T18 2005
Publication Date: 2005-03-17
Why is TABER'S 20th Edition the ONLY CHOICE for your students?Because for more than 65 years, Taber's has provided students and practitioners with the definitions and information they need to provide superior care for their patients: 56,000 definitions with 2,400 brand new to the 20th edition almost 50% more than our nearest competitorMore than 6,000 revised terms700 superior illustrations with more than 500 in full color100 more Patient Care sections NEW!Cautions statements added to almost 350 terms bold and in a second colorNew and revised appendices, including Nutrition, Complementary Medicine, and Appendix 13, which explains the roles of the Health Professions health care team members NEW!Improved placement of multi-word entries (for example, Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary disease and Irritable bowel syndrome are now listed in natural word order) NEW!Almost 30,000 pronunciations of new and current termsMore colorful interior design NEW!Easier to understand definitions NEW! New and revised terms in Taber's 20th Edition give your students the answers at their fingertips, such as:Cephalostat AndropauseFilm speed Pulmonary interstitial emphysema Magnetic resonance angiography Complementary and alternative medicine definitions keep your students at the forefront of care:Stress management Flaxseed oil Glucosamine Patient Care Statements offer clinically pertinent information on such conditions as:Acute respiratory distress syndromeFractureMyasthenia gravis New and revised illustrations and tables complement the text and strengthen students' understanding of the terms:Cheyne-Stokes respiration Prostate cancer Paranasal sinus Important Considerations in Palliative Care We recruit top educators and practitioners from virtually every health profession to make sure the information is relevant and accurate. This is just one more way we make certain that Taber's provides your students with the best, most up-to-date reference.The Proven Choice Since 1940. "Taber's is the best. I've used it for over 20 years. It has been selected by our faculty as a required resource for our students." -- Gwena Pollard, RN, BC, BSN, Hannibal Public School of Practical Nursing, Hannibal, Missouri "Couldn't have finished nursing school without it. It's a Nurse's Bible." -- Marilyn Runnells, LVN, LVN Program, North Orange ROP, Anaheim, California "Taber's just keeps improving each edition -- when I think you've done the best you can do, you come up with another spectacular edition!" -- Brenda Phillips, RN, BSN, Southwest Technology Center, Altus, Oklahoma "I feel Taber's is the best medical dictionary published. I have used Taber's since I was a radiography student in 1975. I tell students Taber's is the best. I would recommend it to anyone." -- Mike Cochran, Assistant Professor of Radiology, Southwest Virginia Community College, Richlands, Virginia "My students and I use it every single day." -- Kandace Oldroyd, RN, CNA-Med Terms, BATC, Logan Utah
Nursing Interventions Classification (NIC) by
Call Number: RT42 .N858 2003
Publication Date: 2003-10-28
Nursing Interventions Classification (NIC) presents the full range of nursing interventions, from general practice to all specialty areas. Developed by a research team at the University of Iowa, this clinical tool standardizes and defines the knowledge base for nursing curricula and practice, communicates the nature of nursing, and facilitates the appropriate selection of nursing interventions for nurses, including practicing nurses, nursing students, nursing administrators, and faculty. Includes 514 research-based nursing intervention labels to provide standardization of expected nursing interventions. Presents for each intervention: a definition, a list of activities the nurse does to implement the intervention, and references. Includes the full range of nursing interventions - physiologic and psychosocial; illness treatment and prevention; health promotion; individual, group, family, and community; indirect and direct care; and independent and collaborative interventions - for use in all practice and educational settings. Features a section that links NIC interventions to NANDA diagnoses to promote clinical decision making. Includes examples of implementation in practice and educational settings. Provides specialty core interventions for 43 specialties.
Subjects: Dental Hygiene
, Family & Consumer Studies
, Health & Wellness
, Hospitality & Tourism
, Human Ecology
, Kinesiology & Sport Science
, Physical Therapy
, Social Work