Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Book Search Engines
Use MaagNet to search for books that are available here at YSU. These books can be checked out until the end of the semester. Look for the Call Number, Status, and Location before going to find your book
Use OhioLink to search for books throughout the state of Ohio. Books can be checked out for 21 days at a time and renewed up to 6 times. They will be delivered to YSU in 2-3 days. Use the green button to request items.
Physical Therapy Print Resources at YSU
ACSM's Resource Manual for Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription by
Call Number: RM725 .R42 2010
Publication Date: 2009-02-01
Designed as a companion to ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription and as a resource for ACSM certification candidates, this book covers all the major aspects of preventive rehabilitative and fitness programs and the major position stands of the American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) and other scientific organizations. It provides readers with the necessary background information to address the knowledge, skills and abilities (KSAs) set forth inACSM's Guidelines. Content comprises both theoretical and practical physiological concepts, with related examples of exercise testing, training and programming. Along with the text, readers have access to a companion website with the fully searchable text.
Clinical Reasoning for Manual Therapists by
Call Number: RM701 .C597 2004
Publication Date: 2003-11-21
A practical text covering the theory and the practice of clinical reasoning skills for all physical therapists. Provides readers with activities to improve their own clinical reasoning within their own clinical setting. With a range of very high-caliber international contributors in the field of physiotherapy practice, this book gives the answers to the practitioner's question of how does one apply the theoretical knowledge involved in clinical reasoning to practice and how can one become a better practitioner as a result.
Evidence-Based Guide to Therapeutic Physical Agents by
Call Number: RM701 .B45 2003x
Publication Date: 2002-02-22
This pocket-sized handbook provides essential information on 14 of the most common therapeutic physical agents used in rehabilitation, physical medicine, and sports therapy around the world. The pocket guide includes key steps in planning, executing, and charting a safe, effective, and evidence-based therapeutic application. In a user-friendly format, this reference offers insight into the existing body of human peer-reviewed literature related to the practice of these agents. Chapters contain sections related to each agent: historical perspectives, biophysical characteristics, physiologic and therapeutic effects, considerations for application, indications, contraindications, and more.
Handbook of Pediatric Physical Therapy by
Call Number: RJ53.P5 L66 2002
Publication Date: 2001-09-07
This updated quick reference provides a contemporary perspective on pediatric physical therapy for both students and professionals. Following the "Guide to Physical Therapist Practice," this invaluable tool addresses growth and development, pediatric disorders, measurements, interventions, assistive technologies, and administrative issues--all in a rapid access format for daily consultation. The authors present each condition's etiology, assessment considerations, and treatment protocols. Also included are a Table of Measurement Resources and a comprehensive listing of disorders for easy reference.For easier use, this edition features a larger trim size, with new boxes, figures, charts, and conditions. Language has been updated to reflect the "Guide to Physical Therapist Practice." Separate chapters cover Intervention, Measurement & Disorders, and Assistive Technology. Expanded coverage of growth and development includes the outcomes that occur when development is disrupted. Insurance coding information includes structured guidelines for determining correct diagnosis coding. An abbreviation chart ensures accuracy.
Quick Reference Dictionary for Physical Therapy by
Call Number: RM696.5 .Q53 2003
Publication Date: 2003-06-13
Quick Reference Dictionary for Physical Therapyhas been revised and updated into a second edition to include the latest information in the field of physical therapy. This reference book, designed specifically for the physical therapy student and practitioner, provides many terms, concepts, and conditions essential to the field. This second edition provides quick access to over 3,000 words and their definitions that are encountered on a day-to-day basis. There are 39 appendices included in this user-friendly, handy reference where you can find materials such as selected APTA documents and World Wide Web resources. Inside you will also find lists of standardized acronyms and abbreviations for words, medical roots from which many words are derived, commonly used acronyms for evaluative tests and measures, and guidelines for documentation. Quick Reference Dictionary for Physical Therapy, Second Editionis the perfect, pocket size companion for school, clinical affiliations, preparation for the licensure exam, and physical therapy practice.
Exercise Testing and Prescription by
Call Number: RC683.5.E94 A24 2003
Publication Date: 2003-07-24
Exercise Testing and Prescription Lab Manualfills a void for the health fitness practitioner studying for the American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) Health Fitness Instructor Certification Exam. The manual offers a focused, step-by-step presentation of the skills included in the exam. The text includes all the worksheets needed for every lab activity, and it presents 12 case studies to help readers learn how to thoroughly examine and interpret available information on real-life patients in terms of risk factors, appropriate goals, and program design. Labs are easy to understand and provide an excellent tool for test preparation. The text's features include -13 experience-based labs that correspond directly with the practical skills evaluated on the ACSM's Health Fitness Instructor exam, -reference tables and charts that supply all the information necessary to complete the labs, and -sequentially organized information that carries readers progressively through each phase of exercise testing and prescription. Part I,“Pretest Responsibilities,” reviews lab instruments, procedures, and responsibilities as well as risk factor evaluation, informed consent, and medical history. Part II,“Techniques in Exercise Testing,” includes five labs that focus on techniques used to assess the components of health-related fitness, from body fat assessment to ECG placement and monitoring operations. Part III,“Exercise Prescription,” includes labs that address the three phases of exercise prescription and participant goal assessment. The practical examples used throughout Exercise Testing and Prescription Lab Manualreinforce specific information for readers, providing a solid foundation of knowledge for the Health Fitness Instructor certification. The text is a must-read for anyone preparing for the ACSM exam. This manual is also a good accompaniment to the Health Fitness Instructor's Handbook, Fourth Edition,by Edward T. Howley, PhD, and B. Don Franks, PhD, when preparing for the ACSM Health Fitness Instructor Certification.
Subjects: Dental Hygiene
, Family & Consumer Studies
, Health & Wellness
, Hospitality & Tourism
, Human Ecology
, Kinesiology & Sport Science
, Physical Therapy
, Social Work