Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Music Scores
The following are resources for online scores with various scorings. Read the description of each to determine which resource(s) best suit(s) your needs.
Arts Song Central
An archive and directory of free, printable vocal sheet music with emphasis on standard classical and traditional repertoire. IPA transcriptions available for every German, French, Italian, and Latin song in the index.
Choral Public Domain Library (ChoralWiki) (CPDL.org)
CPDL began in December of 1998 and has become one the largest free sheet music sites. The archive focuses on choral and vocal music in public domain.
International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP)
The ultimate goal of the IMSLP is to gather all public domain music scores, in addition to the music scores of all contemporary composers who wish to release them to the public free of charge. Another goal is to facilitate the exchange of musical ideas outside of compositions: for example, the analysis of a particular piece of music.
J.S. Bach's Church Cantatas
Vocal scores of all of Bach's church cantatas.
The Mutopia Project offers sheet music editions of public domain classical music for free download. "... a volunteer-build Web-based collection of musical scores ... the content tends to derive from public domain editions of music from the Baroque, Classic, and romantic eras, along with many hymns and traditional/anonymous pieces ... a handful of more recent pieces appear, mostly contributed by the composers themselves, who tend to be under 40 and unpublished elsewhere." Works have been set using Lily Pond notation software.
Naxos Music Library: Sheet Music
The Naxos Music Library offers members over 45,000 free sheet music titles, powered by the largest online digital sheet music store, FreeHandMusic.com. The library service delivers digital sheet music in all classical genres, spanning music from Medieval to the 21st century and composers from Bach to Arvo Part. You can download the music easily and print using our convenient shopping cart systems.
NMA Online: Neue Mozart-Ausgabe
The goal of Neue Mozart-Ausgabe online is to make Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's musical compositions widely and conveniently accessible to the public, for personal study and for educational and classroom use. The digitized version offers the musical text and the critical commentaries of the entire Neue Mozart-Ausgabe, edited by the Internationale Stiftung Mozart in cooperation with the Mozart cities of Augsburg, Salzburg, and Vienna.
Project Gutenberg: The Sheet Music Project
Project Gutenberg began in 1971 with the goal to make literature available free of charge. This website also offers digitized public domain sheet music free of charge to enable study and performance. The Sheet Music Project is currently dormant.
Sheet Music Consortium
The Sheet Music Consortium is a group of libraries working toward the goal of building an open collection of digitized sheet music. this project is hosted by UCLA Digital Library Program, which provides an access service to sheet music records at the host libraries. The collection allows users direct access to the music itself and--in many cases--covers and advertisements that offer evidence of the cultural context in which the songs were published.
UR Research--at the University of Rochester--Eastman School of Music--Sibley Music Library
Scores and books in the public domain. Many of these are unique to the Sibley Music Library collection.
Check the Internet.
This link is a Google search for "online music scores."