Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Times of London Resources: Times(London)

Accessing local and online issues of the oldest continuous newspaper in the world.

Exploring the Times of London

The Times of London at Maag Library

Maag Library has the complete collection of the world’s oldest continuous newspaper, The Times. The United Kingdom’s premier paper started publication in London in 1785 as The Daily Universal Register. It has been officially titled The Times since 1788. Outside of Great Britain, it is often referred to as the Times of London, to help differentiate it from the the host of papers around the world (New York Times, Irish Times, Times of India, etc.) that were named in its honor as the standard for fine journalism. The paper remains a valuable resource for not only European studies, but as Woodrow Wilson once said “You will never know international politics unless you read the London Times.” The same could be said for business, education, humor, and literature.

The Maag Microform Center holdings start in 1785 and continue through 2011. The microfilm collection also includes sister publications such as the Sunday Times (with the Sunday Times Magazine), Times Literary Supplement, Times Educational Supplement and The Higher.

To view recent and today’s Times, visit their website. timesonline.co.uk

The complete paper index from 1785 to 2011 is in the Microform Center Guides and Indexes.

To find an article in the Times from 1785 to 1995, search the the archive at the online version http://archive.timesonline.co.uk/tol/archive/ . A limited number of articles can be viewed there. You may purchase articles from them OR use the citation to find the article in our microform collection and the copy it for free either on paper or digitally.


How to Make a Copy of Microform Materials
Copies of articles from the Times of London may be obtained from our three reader/printers. They are available on a first come first serve basis and can be utilized with self service.
 
Use our  digital microform reader/printer to save microform images of a newspaper article to a disk, jump drive, or e-mail it to yourself. Most of the one million items in  the Microform Center can be accessed in this manner.