Music Composition: Musician Dates & Bios

• A Bio-Bibliographical Dictionary of 'Twelve-Tone and Serial Composers.  (1970)
  ML 105 .C39
• Contemporary American Composers:  A Biographical Dictionary. 2d ed. 
  REF ML 390 .A54 1982
• Composers in America: Biographical Sketches of Contemporary Composers with a Record of their Works (1947)
  ML 390 .R38 1947
• Contemporary Composers
  REF ML 390 .M677 1992
• A Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Composers (1911-1971)
  REF ML 118 .T5
• Directory of Music Faculties in Colleges and Universities, U.S. and Canada
  ML 13 .D57
• Index to Biographies of Contemporary Composers
  ML 105 .B9 v.1-
• Music Since 1900 (1994)
  REF ML 197 .S634 1994

• Black Women Composers: A Genesis
  ML 390 .G83 1983
• International Encyclopedia of Women Composers
  REF ML 105 .C7 1987
• Women Composers: a Handbook
  REF ML 105 .S7
• Women Composers, Condutors, and Musicians of the Twentieth Century
  ML 82 .L46
• Women in Music: A Biobibliography.
  REF ML 105 .H6

• Concert and Opera Conductors
  ML 128 .B3 C68 1987
• Concert and Opera Singers
  REF ML 128 .B3 C7 1985
• Conductors' Gallery: Biographical Sketches of Well-Known Orchestral Conductors
  ML 402 .B76 1947
• Conductors on Record
  REF ML 105 .H65
• The Penguin Dictionary of Musical Performers
  REF ML 105 .J33 1990
• Twentieth-Century Brass Soloists
  ML 399 .M4 1994

Visit the LibGuide

• Art Song Composers of Spain: An Encyclopedia
  REF ML 106. S7 D73 2009
• Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians
  REF ML 105 .B16 2001 v.1-6
• Biographical Dictionary of Black Musicians and Music Educators
  ML 85 .B43
• Biographical Dictionary of Russian/Soviet Composers
  REF ML 106. S68 B56 1989
• Contemporary Musicians
  REF ML 385 .C615
• The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music
  REF ML 105 .H38 1996
• International Dictionary of Opera
  REF ML 102. O6 I6 1993 v.1-2
• International Who's Who in Music and Musicians' Directory
  REF ML 106. G7 W4
• The New Grove Dictionary of American Music
  REF ML 101. U6 N48 1986 v.1-4
• The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
  MMC REF ML102.J3 N48 1994
  REF ML102.J3 N48 1988
• The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
  MMC REF ML 100 .N48 1980 (more current online)

• Biographical Dictionary of Afro-American and African Musicians
  REF ML 105 .S67 1982
• Biographical Dictionary of American Music
  REF ML 106. U3 C6
• Contemporary American Composers: A Biographical Dictionary
  REF ML 390 .A54 1982
• Dictionary of American Composers 
  REF ML 106 .U3 B87 1984
• Directory of Music Faculties in Colleges and Universities, U.S. and Canada
  ML 13 .D57
• Fifteen Black American Composers: A Biography of Their Works
  REF ML 106 .U3 T57
• The New Grove Dictionary of American Music
  REF ML 101 .U6 N48 1986 v.1-4
• Who's Who in American Music. Classical. 2nd ed. (1985)
  REF ML 106 .U3 W35

• Afro-American Religious Music: A Bibliography and a Catalogue of Gospel Music
  REF ML 128 .S4 J3
• Biography of Gospel Song and Hymn Writers
  ML 390 .H25 1971
• The Complete Encyclopedia of Popular Music and Jazz, 1900-1950
  REF ML 102 .P66 K55 v.1-4
• Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World
  REF ML 102 .P66 C66 2003
• The Encyclopedia of American Gospel Music
  REF ML 102 .G6 E63 2005
• Encyclopedia of Pop, Rock and Soul
  REF ML 102 .P66 S8 1989
• Encyclopedia of World Pop Music, 1980-2001
  ML 102 .P66 J44 2003
• The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 4th ed.
  REF ML 102 .P66 G84 2006 v.1-10
• Encyclopedia of Rock
  REF ML 102 .R6 H37 1988
• The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
  MMC REF ML102.J3 N48 1994
  REF ML102.J3 N48 1988
• The Oxford Companion to Jazz
  REF ML 3507 .J32 2000
• The Rock Who's Who
  REF ML 102 .R6 H5 1996
• The Virgin Directory of World Music
• REF ML 3470 .S95 1992
• Who's Who of Jazz: Storyville to Swing Street
  REF ML 106 .U3 C5 1985