LibGuides: Italian Language & Literature: Literature &amp; Research

General Info

Maag Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System. Most Italian literature books are found in the PQ4000-PQ5999 classifications of Maag Library.

Use the online catalog to find books and other resources similar to those listed on this page.

Exhibits

Accademia della Crusca
Uno dei principali punti di riferimento per le ricerche sulla lingua italiana.
Museo ItaloAmericano
The only museum in the United States devoted exclusively to Italian and Italian-American art and culture

Literature Publications

The Oxford companion to Italian literature
PQ4006 .O84 2002

Breaking Open: Reflections on Italian-American women's writing
PS153.I8 B74 2003

Encyclopedia of Italian literary studies
REF PQ4006 .E536 2007 - 2 vols.

Italian novelists since World War II, 1965-1995
REF PS21 .D5 v.196

A Concise Encyclopaedia of the Italian Renaissance
REF DG445 .C66

Allegoria e derisione
PQ4835 .R37 P7 1983

Scrittori d'Italia: Antologia per lo studio della letteratura italiana nelle scuole medie superiori
PQ4201 .S34 - 3 vols.

Articles and Other Information

These links are to databases to which Maag Library subscribes, so that you may have better information than just what's generally available on the Internet. Click on the Info button for a description of each database.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
more...less...
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Digital Commons Network This link opens in a new window
Scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
Brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areas, from Architecture to Zoology.

Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest)
more...less...
Index contains more than 2 million entries for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Since 1997, new publications have been available electronically, and many publications can be ordered through the system for a fee. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities.
ERIC [Educational Resources Information Center] (EBSCO)
more...less...
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
Foreign Language Video Instruction
more...less...
A collection of foreign language video clips in which native speakers elaborate on a wide variety of topics about their culture, family, daily life, and more. Each video clip is accompanied by a description of its contents, the country of the speaker, and additional grammar and vocabulary notes. These videos are produced by the ViewPoints Project of the Five Colleges of Ohio consortium.
Fuente Academica (EBSCO)
more...less...
Fuente Académica offers more than 450 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. The database is updated weekly.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
Google Scholar is an online, freely accessible search engine that lets users look for both physical and digital copies of articles. It searches a wide variety of sources, including academic publishers, universities, and preprint depositories looking for:

Peer-reviewed articles
Theses
Books
Technical reports
Abstracts
Reprints

Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO)
more...less...
Literary Reference™ Center (LRC Plus) is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center Plus contains everything in Literary Reference™ Center, plus the following: over 1,200 additional full-text literary reference books/works, over 200 additional full-text literary journals and magazines, 35 volumes of new contemporary literature titles from Salem Press, 40 full-text literary study guides and 72 literary videos.
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO)
more...less...
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,950 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, 84,011 biographies, 83,472 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 192,999 photos, maps and flags.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
more...less...
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920's and contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale)
more...less...
A database that is helpful for writing critical essays, researching reports or term papers, or preparing for a debate, or just the latest information on hot topics.
SocINDEX (EBSCO)
more...less...
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
WorldCat (FirstSearch)
more...less...
Catalog of books and other materials held by libraries worldwide.

Literature and Research

Duecento: la poesia italiana dalle origini a Dante
Un archivio che raccoglie testi della poesia italiana antica, del periodo che va dalle origini fino a Dante
Italian Literature - Electronic Texts
Italian Women Writers
IWW includes authors from the 13th century up to authors born in 1945, with works of all types included.
Princeton Dante Project
An annotated electronic text of Dante's Divine Comedy for instructional and scholarly use. The PDP combines a traditional approach to the study of Dante's Comedy with new techniques of compiling and consulting data, images, and sound.
Project Gutenberg - Italian
Full-text public domain works in Italian
Wikipedia - L'enciclopedia libera
Over 1,200,000 articles
Yale University Library - Italian Language & Literature
Selected Internet resources of all types and topics related to Italian language and literature.

Subject Guide

Kevin Whitfield

Email Me

Contact:

330-941-2922

Subjects: Foreign Languages & Literatures, Philosophy & Religion