Under W, select the database titled Web of Science.
If you are off campus, you will be asked to authenticate using your name and YSU id#.
The database defaults to Web of Science Core Collection. You can also dropdown the menu to select other available sources to search.
We will be searching the Web of Science Core Collection, but you can also search:
See the Home Page of this guide for descriptions of each source.
Under More settings, you can select the sources you would like to search within Web of Science Core Collection:
We are going to leave it at the default of searching all sources within Web of Science Core Collection.
We are going to search by Topic, but you can dropdown the menu and also search by other parameters, such as Title, Author, etc.
We are doing a Topic search for plant* osmosis not reverse which will look for articles which include the terms plant and osmosis but not in conjunction with the term reverse. This should eliminate most articles on facilities involving water filtration and concentrate on items featuring plant physiology and the related osmosis process.
Click Search.
There are 373 results related to the topic. You can refine a search to narrow down results.
Sort by: can be used to order the results by publication date (ascending or descending).
You can also use the options on the left to Refine Results. Each "refinement" must be made separately.
Under Document Types, we refine or narrow the results by selecting Article and Proceedings Papers (conference proceedings).
Click Refine.
This narrows the results from 373 to 337.
We can also refine the results by Web of Science Categories.
To see all Categories, click on more options / values...
This leads to a list of subjects, each one noting the number of results classified under that subject. Selecting the box next to a subject will include those articles in the list of results.
We choose Plant Sciences, Biochemistry Molecular Biology, and Cell Biology.
Click Refine.
We see the list of 59 results classified under those 3 subjects.
To see details about a specific article/proceedings paper, click on the article title.
The article record provides citation information for the article, including article title, author(s), source (journal title), etc.
Below the citation information is an abstract, a synopsis or summary of the article.
Listed on the right is the number of times the article has been cited by other authors. Click on Times Cited to view those articles.
Below that is Cited References, the number of sources the author used in creating the article.
To find the full text of the article, click on Find Full Text.
NOTE: Do not use the Look Up Full Text link. It will not necessarily help you find the full text in Maag databases.
This will open a separate window indicating the database(s) where you can find the article if it is available full text.
This article is available full text in the ScienceDirect and Electronic Journal Center databases.
If we click on the ScienceDirect link...
We are transferred to that article's record in the ScienceDirect database. For the full text of the article, we click on Download PDF...
...then Download this article.
This leads us to the full text of the 16-page article.
We can also access the full text of the article by clicking on Electronic Journal Center.
This leads us to that article's record in the Electronic Journal Center database, where we can click on PDF Full Text...
...to access the full text of the 16-page article.
If we do not have full text access to the article, you can use InterLibrary Loan to request a copy of the article from another institution.
At the Maag Library Home Page (maag.ysu.edu), click on Request Forms.
If Maag does not have full text access, you are able to request books, journal articles, conference proceedings, a chapter or portion of a book (limited by copyright), theses, dissertations, and government publications from other institutions.
For example, click on Journal Article.
Enter your name and YSU id# and Submit.
Fill out the online form with the article's citation information as completely as possible, then SUBMIT THIS REQUEST.
InterLibrary Loan staff will request your article from another institution and send it to your YSU email when it is received. This process usually takes a few days to a week. Please note that the timing of this process is dependent on the response time of other institutions.
