African American History Resources: Home

Use the OhioLINK Library Catalog to locate items available through other OhioLINK institutions. Available items may be requested and delivered to Maag Library for checkout (allow 3-5 business days delivery time).

Below are some of the items that can be found in the Curriculum Resource Center in Beeghly Hall:

When using A-Z Research Databases off campus:

Below are some of the ebook titles from Cambridge University Press Ebooks:

Below are some of the ebook titles from Electronic Book Center:

Below are some of the ebook titles from ProQuest Ebook Central:

Below are some of the databases available in the A-Z Research Databases list:

AMERICA: HISTORY & LIFE (EBSCO)
Index and abstracts of literature covering the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

DIVERSITY STUDIES (Gale OneFile)
Includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals in social science, history, and liberal arts.

NEWSBANK: BLACK LIFE IN AMERICA
Comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from earliest times to today. Sourced from nearly 19,000 American and global newspapers from 1704 to the present, including over 400 African American newspapers.

RACE RELATIONS ABSTRACTS (EBSCO)
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

U.S. HISTORY (Gale in Context)
Primary and secondary history sources combined with media-rich selections.

U.S. HISTORY (Gale OneFile)
Provides full-text, balanced coverage of both current thoughts on events in U.S. history as well as scholarly work established in the field.

Below are some of the journals available through Maag Library:

ASC=Academic Search Complete; BSC=Business Source Complete; CMMC=Communication & Mass Media Complete; EJC=Electronic Journal Center

African American Review: 9/14/2009-present in EJC

Berkeley Journal of African-American Law & Policy: 1/1/1994-present Open Access

Black Camera: A Micro Journal of Black Film Studies: 3/4/2009-present in EJC

The Black Scholar: 6/1/1991-present (15-month delay) in ASC

Black Theology: An International Journal: 11/1/2002-present (12-month delay) in ASC

Cultural Diversity and Ethnic Minority Psychology: 2/1/1999-present in EJC

Endarch: Journal of Black Political Research: 1/1/1974-present Open Access

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion: An International Journal: 1/1/2010-present at Publisher Site

Ethnic and Racial Studies:1/1/1978-present (18-month full-text delay) in SocINDEX

Fire!!!: 1/1/2012-7/1/2020 in JSTOR

Howard Journal of Communications: 3/1/1988-present (18-month delay) in CMMC

INSIGHT into Diversity: 11/1/2009-present in BSC

James Baldwin Review: 1/1/2015-present Open Access

Journal of African American Males in Education: 2/1/2010-present in Education Full Text

Journal of African American Studies: 6/1/2003-present in EJC

Journal of Best Practices in Health Professions Diversity: Education, Research & Policy: 3/1/2007-present in BSC

Journal of Black Psychology: 8/1/1974-present in EJC

Journal of Black Sexuality and Relationships: 1/15/2014-present in EJC

Journal of Black Studies: 9/1/1970-present in EJC

Journal of Cultural Diversity: 3/1/2003-present in ASC

Journal of Diversity in Higher Education: 3/1/2008-present in EJC

Journal of Health Care for the Poor and Underserved: 3/25/1990-present in EJC

Journal of Mulitcultural Counseling & Development: 1/1/2012-present in EJC

Journal of Multicultural Discourses: 6/1/2006-present (15-month delay) in CMMC

Journal of Negro Education: 1/1/1994-present in Education Full Text

Multicultural Education: 3/1/2005-present in SocINDEX

Multicultural Perspectives: 1/1/1999-present (15-month delay) in ASC

Poverty & Race: 11/1/2009-present in Points of View Reference Center

Profiles in Diversity Journal: 9/1/2007-present in BSC

Race & Class: A Journal on Racism, Empire & Globalisation: 10/1/1974-present in EJC

Race & Justice: 1/1/2011-present in EJC

Race & Social Problems: 3/1/2009-present in EJC

Slavery & Abolition: 4/1/2004-present (15-month delay) in ASC

Sociology of Race and Ethnicity: 1/1/2015-present in EJC

Spectrum: A Journal on Black Men: 10/11/2012-present in EJC

Women, Gender, and Families of Color: 9/14/2014-present in LGBTQ + Source

FILMS ON DEMAND
Keyword search or click on three parallel lines at top left of screen to view Subjects, Popular Categories, and Featured Producers. Subjects: Ethnic & Diversity under Cultural Anthropology.

Black Soldier, White Army: The 24th Infantry Regiment in Korea: Center of Military History, U.S. Army

Freedom by the Sword: The U.S. Colored Troops, 1862-1867: U.S. Army, Center of Military History

Integration of the Armed Forces, 1940-1965: Center of Military History, U.S. Army

Lift Every Voice : Planning Guide: National Museum of African American History & Culture, Smithsonian

Path Breakers: U.S. Marine African American Officers in Their Own Words: History Division, United States Marine Corps

Tuskegee Airmen Chronology: Organizational History Branch, Air Force Historical Research Agency