Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: World Music

A comprehensive resource guide for music research

Ethnomusicology Websites

Google Search

Google Scholar Search

Additional Recommended Databases

General World Music Reference

Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World / John Shepherd, David Horn and Dave Laing
REF ML 102 .P66 C66 2003 v.1-7 (and online)

Ethnomusicology and Folk Music:  An International Bibliopgraphy of Dissertations and Theses / F. Gillis and A.P. Merriam, comp.
ML 128 .E8 G5

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
MMC REF ML 100 .G16 1998 v.1-10

Reference Materials in Ethnomusicology / Bruno Nettl
REF ML 128 .M8 N5 1967

World Music: The Rough Guide / Simon Broughton
REF ML 3545 .W66 1994

African-American Reference

Afro-American Religious Music: A Bibliography and a Catalogue of Gospel Music / Irene V. Jackson
REF ML 128 .S4 J3

Bibliography of Black Musics / D. De Lerma.
REF ML 128 .B45 D44 v.1-4

Biographical Dictionary of Afro-American and African Musicians / Eileen Southern
REF ML 105 .S67 1982

Black American Music: Past and Present / Hildred Roach
REF ML 3556 .R58 1992

Black Music in America:  A Bibliography / J. Skowronski.
REF ML 128 .B45 S6

Black Music in the United States: An Annotated Bibliography of Selected Reference and Research Materials / Samuel A. Floyd
REF ML 128 .B45 F6 1983

Lift Every Voice: The History of African American Music / Burton W. Peretti
REF ML 3556 .P45 2009

Source Book of African and Afro-American Materials for Music Educators / J.A. Standifer, Barbara Reeder
REF ML 120 .A35 S76

African Music Reference

The Da Capo Guide to Contemporary African Music / Ronnie Graham
REF ML 3502.5 .G7 1988

Biographical Dictionary of Afro-American and African Musicians / Eileen Southern
REF ML 105 .S67 1982

 

American Folk Music Reference

A Bibliography of North American Folklore and Folksong / Charles Haywood
REF Z 5984 .U5 H3

Folk Music in America:  A Reference Guide / T.E. Miller.
REF ML 128 .F74 M5 1986

The Folk Music Sourcebook / Larry Sandberg
ML 19 .S26

Traditional Anglo-American Folk Music: An Annotated Discography of Published Sound Recordings / Norm Cohen
REF ML 156.4 .F5 C64 1994

Asian Music References

Ancient and Oriental Music / Egon Wellesz
ML 160 .N44 v.1

An Introduction to Asian Music / William L. Purcell
ML 330 .P8

Jade Flute: The Story of Chinese Music / T.C. Lai
ML 336 .L118 1985

The Music of Hindostan (1914) / A.H. Fox Strangways
ML 338 .F79

The Story of Indian Music and its Instruments: A Study of the Present & a Record of the Past
ML 338 .R6

Studies in Indian Music / Tirupasoor Venkata Subba Rao
ML 338 .S8 1962

Eurpopean Folk Music References

Allgemeines Deutsches Lieder-Lexikon: Oder, Vollstandige Sammlung Aller Bekannten Deutschen Lieder und Volksgesange in Alphabetischer Folge / Wilhelm Bernhardi
PT 1153 .A5 1968 v.1-4

Cante Flamenco / Ricardo Molina
ML 3712 .C35 1969

Canzoniere Italiano: Antologia della Poesia Popolare / Pier Paolo Pasolini
PQ 4217 .A2 C3 1992 v.1-2

The Companion to Irish Traditional Music / Fintan Vallely, ed.
REF ML 101 .I73 V35 1999

Cuentos, Romances, Y Cantares: A Collection of Spanish Popular Tales, Ballads, and Songs / Aurelio Espinosa
PC 4117 .E67 v.7

French Folk Songs, Nursery Rhymes, Songs, & Children Rounds / A. Fassio
Maag Scores Oversize: M 1997 .F3 F7

Hebridean Folksongs: A Collection of Waulking Songs / Donald MacCormick
Maag Scores: M 1746 .M126 H4

Music and German National Identity / Celia Applegate and Pamela Potter, eds.
ML 275 .M933 2002

Neder-Landtsche Gedenck-Clanck / Adriaan Valerius
Maag Scores Oversize: M 1754 .V25 N4 1626a

Old English Popular Music / William Chappell
ML 3652 .C46 1961

The Oxford Book of Sea Songs / Roy Palmer
Maag Scores: M 1977 .S2 O95 1986

Latin & South American Music References

Awakening Spaces: French Caribbean Popular Song, Music, and Culture / Brenda F. Berrian
ML 3486 .A1 B47 2000

Folk and Traditional Music of the Western Continents: With Chapters on Latin America / Bruno Nettl and Berard Béhague
ML 3545 .N285 1990

A Guide to the Music of Latin America / Gilbert Chase
ML 120 .S7 C47 1962

Island Sounds in the Global City: Caribbean Popular Music and Idenity in New York / Ray Allen and Lois Wilcken
ML 3477.1 .I85 1998

Music in Cuba / Alejo Carpentier
ML 207 .C8 C313 2001

Music in the Caribbean / John Sealey and Krister Malm
ML 3565 .S4 1982

Music of Latin America / Nicolas Slonimsky
ML 199 .S55

Música tejana : the cultural economy of artistic transformation / Manuel Peña
ML 3481 .P45 1999

Musical Cultures of Latin America: Global Effects, Past and Present / Steven Loza, ed.
ML 3549.1 .M87 2003x

Native American Music References

A Cry from the Earth: Music of the North American Indians / John Bierhorst
ML 3930 .A2 B57

On the Music of the North American Indians / Theodore Baker
ML 3557 .B1613

Song of the Sky: Versions of Native American Song-Poems / Brian Swann
Oversize: PS 3569 .W256 S66 1993

Multimedia Librarian

Position Vacant's picture
Position Vacant
Contact:
For research assistance, visit the Reference Desk on the main floor of the library or call 330.941.3686.