Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Index, abstracts, and full text for articles and other publications on all aspects of theater and performance.
Provides full text of journal articles on all aspects of theater and performance, plus indexing for books, book articles and dissertation abstracts. IBTD with Full Text is a multicultural and inter-disciplinary research tool for theater students, educators and professionals. IBTD was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research and continued by the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College.
Information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
A comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. LRC includes:
+ Over 1,200 Additional Full-Text Literary Reference Books/Works, including titles with a focus on plays/drama, poetry, religious literature, childrenâ€™s literature, Hispanic literature, and other areas
+ Over 200 Additional Full-Text Literary Journals & Magazines, including titles with a focus on multi-cultural studies, folklore, Latin America literature, and historical literature
+ 35 Volumes of New Contemporary Literature Titles from Salem Press relating to Fantasy/Science Fiction, Contemporary Literature, World Philosophy, Quotations In Context, Religious Literature, and Biographies of Nobel Literature Prize Winners
+ 40 Full-Text Literary study guides
+ plot summaries, synopses and work overviews
+ articles of literary criticism
+ full text of literary journals
+ author biographies
+ book reviews
+ author interviews
+ images of key literary figures
Play Index covers over 30,000 plays written in or translated into English, including mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama.
Play Index searches over 30,000 plays written from Antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present in the convenient electronic form that patrons prefer. An invaluable aid to finding the perfect plays, Play Index covers a wide range of plays written in or translated into English, including mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama. Search for plays by title; author; subject (sisters, culture conflict, marriage); style (symbolism, experimental theater); genre (comedy, melodrama, musical); cast type.
Biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present.
Provides biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, along with thousands of images. BRB offers substantive narrative profiles, each about 2,000 words long, from H.W. Wilson publications and other respected publishers.
The biographies are searchable by name, profession, title, place of origin, gender, race/ethnicity, titles of works, date of birth, date of death, keyword, and presence of images. Daily updates provide up-to-the-minute coverage of newsmakers.
Full-text articles, abstracts, and images gleaned from thousands of magazines and journals cover new names and expand on existing profiles. Book review excerpts and full text reviews help users find and select print biographies.
Index to doctoral dissertations and master's theses from North America and Europe.
Contains more than 2 million entries for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Since 1997, new publications have been available electronically, and many publications can be ordered through the system for a fee. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities.
Online theses and dissertations from the students of Universities of Ohio State
The OhioLINK Electronic Theses and Dissertation (ETD) Center is an open access, online database of undergraduate, master, and doctoral degree theses and dissertation from OhioLINK ETD Center member institutions. Abstracts are available, as well as full-text when provided.
Index, abstracts, and full text of articles related to film and television.
The online resource for film and television research. It is a comprehensive bibliographic and full text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 270 publications (and selected coverage of more than 300), as well as full text for more than 70 journals and nearly 50 books.
An internet search engine that specifically searches scholarly literature and academic resources.
Google Scholar is an online, freely accessible search engine that lets users look for both physical and digital copies of articles. It searches a wide variety of sources, including academic publishers, universities, and preprint depositories looking for:
Index, abstracts, and full text for journals, books and other resources in the humanities.
Provides indexing, abstracting, and full text of journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), Humanities International Complete provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,900 titles, and full text of hundreds of journals books and other publications. The database includes citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Humanities International Complete is a resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
With 50 million pages digitized, and an additional 3 million pages added each year, JSTOR includes more than 2,000 academic journals, plus thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education.
Index to books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
An index to books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the Association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography are also included.
Only certain reference titles have been purchased.
Select "Show books in my subscription" (left column).
Black Women in America, 2nd ed. (2005)
Dictionary of African Biography (2011)
Dictionary of American Family Names (2006)
Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law, 3rd ed. (2009)
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2008)
Encyclopedia of African American History 1896 to the Present (2009)
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895: From the Colonial Period to the Age of Frederick Douglass (2009)
Encyclopedia of Climate & Weather, 2nd ed. (2011)
Encyclopedia of Enlightenment (2005)
Encyclopedia of Evolution (2005)
Encyclopedia of Global Change (2005)
Encyclopedia of Human Rights (2009)
Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 4th ed. (2009)
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric (2006)
Encyclopedia of Semiotics (2007)
Encyclopedia of Social Work, 20th ed. (2008)
Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls (2008)
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages (2005)
Green’s Dictionary of Slang (2011)
International Encyclopedia of Dance (2005)
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics, 2nd ed. (2003)
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World (2008)
Grove Encyclopedia of American Art (2011)
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art & Architecture (2007)
Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts (2006)
Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art & Architecture (2009)
Grove Encyclopedia of Materials & Techniques in Art (2008)
Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art (2009)
The Oxford Classical Dictionary, 3rd rev. ed. (2005)
The Oxford Companion to Archaeology, 2nd ed. (2012)
The Oxford Companion to Architecture (2009)
The Oxford Companion to Comparative Politics (2012)
The Oxford Companion to Indian Theatre (2011)
The Oxford Companion to Music (2011)
The Oxford Companion to the Book (2010)
The Oxford Companion to World Exploration (2007)
The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium (2005)
The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 6th ed. (2013)
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, 3rd rev. ed. (2009)
The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion, 2nd ed. (2011)
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages (2010)
The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance (2005)
The Oxford Encyclopaedia of the Music of India (2011)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought (2010)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature (2005)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt (2005)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece & Rome (2010)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature (2006)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Children’s Literature (2006)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History (2005)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food & Drink in America, 1st ed. (2005)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos & Latinas in the United States (2005)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Maritime History (2007)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare & Military Technology (2010)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures (2006)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World (2009)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation (2005)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & Performance (2005)
The Oxford Encyclopedia Women in World History (2008)
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History (2009)
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace (2010)
Index, abstracts, and full text covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Covers emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. This database includes nearly 515 full text titles and over 490 peer-reviewed journals.
Index, abstracts, and full text for articles and other publications in sociology.
Provides full text of journal articles, and indexing and informative abstracts for "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, plus "priority" coverage journals and "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. SocINDEX with Full Text features subject headings from a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. Searchable cited references are also provided.
SocINDEX covers all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Catalog of books and other materials held by libraries worldwide.
The OCLC union catalog, containing more than 43 million records describing books and other items owned by libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings. WorldCat covers thousands of subjects and includes records for items as far back as 1000 B.C. Materials covered in the catalog include: books, internet resources, computer data files, computer programs, films, journals, magazines, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, slides, sound recordings, and videotapes. WorldCat does not include individual article titles or stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters.