Historic photographs of the Erie Islands and Lake Erie’s western basin; from the Charles E. Frohman Collection in the Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Center
A collection of historic photographs of northwestern Ohio, documenting the local history of the Erie Islands and Lake Erie’s western basin. These black and white images were produced by Sandusky, Ohio, commerical photographer Ernst Niebergall between 1909 and 1915. From ice harvesting and railroads to early aviation and island leisure activities, the Niebergall photographs richly depict the everyday lives and activities of Lake Erie’s southern shoreline residents. The photographs provide a record of communities in transition as old methods gave way to advances in industry and technology. The original photos are part of the Charles E. Frohman Collection at the Manuscripts Division of the Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Center.
Landsat (name indicating Land + Satellite) imagery is available since 1972 from six satellites in the Landsat series. Landsat supplies high resolution visible and infrared imagery.
These satellites have been a major component of NASA's Earth observation program, with three primary sensors evolving over thirty years: MSS (Multi-spectral Scanner), TM (Thematic Mapper), and ETM+ (Enhanced Thematic Mapper Plus). Landsat supplies high resolution visible and infrared imagery, with thermal imagery and a panchromatic image also available from the ETM+ sensor.
Historic forestry photographs. Images portray trees, cultivation, care, and the effects of human activity. Many pictures were taken in Ohio but other states and countries are also represented.
A collection of photos of forestry, dating back to the early 20th century. Images portray trees, cultivation, care, and the effects of human activity. Many pictures were taken in Ohio but other states and countries are also represented.
Over 40,000 detailed maps of Ohio cities drawn between 1882 and 1962.
Large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. Sanborn Maps show the outline of each building including the location of windows and doors together with street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.
These maps are heavily used in both public and academic libraries by a wide range of researchers including local historians to locate and identify buildings and neighborhoods, urban historians to study the growth of towns and cities, and environmentalists concerned about impact of new developments.
Photographs documenting the invention of the airplane and the lives of the Wright Family
A collection of photographs documenting the invention of the airplane, the lives of the Wright Family, and the Wrights' flying exhibitions in Europe and the United States. The collection provides thorough coverage of the Wrights' early inventive period documenting their early gliders and flight testing in both North Carolina and Ohio. Much of it should show that Orville and Wilbur Wright were technically excellent photographers who painstakingly documented their process of invention. The content posted to date also provides a valuable record of their home life, camp life, and the flora and fauna of the Outer Banks 100 year ago.
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
Streaming music database of international works in a variety of genres from classical to spoken word with over 78,000 tracks available
The OhioLINK Music Center, a subset of the Naxos Music Library, is an online streaming music database of international works from Classical to Spoken Word. The 78,000+ tracks, 21,000+ works can be searched or browsed by track, title, performer, album, composer and date of composition. Flash player is required. Access to the music files is restricted to the students, faculty and staff of OhioLINK member institutions.
