LibGuides: Theatre: Technical Aspects

Lighting and Set Design - Books in Maag Library

The ABC of Stage Lighting by Francis Reed
Call Number: REF PN 2091 .E4 R39 1992
ISBN: 0896761193
Publication Date: 1992
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life by Joyce E. Salisbury (Editor); Gregory S. Aldrete (Editor); Andrew E. Kersten (Editor); Lawrence Morris (Editor); Peter Seelig (Editor)
Call Number: REF GT 31 .G74 2004 v.1-6
ISBN: 0313325413
Publication Date: 2004
This exciting new resouce offers an unprecedented look at human history's living heart: the billions of anonymous men and women often forgotten by historical studies, but without whose lives human history would be meaningless. Perfect for general readers and students of world history, U.S. history, literature, drama, social studies, anthropology, religion, and more.
Lighting in the Theatre by Gosta M. Bergman
Call Number: PN 2091 .E4 B45 1977
ISBN: 0874716020
Publication Date: 1977
New Theatre Forms by Stephen Joseph
Call Number: PN 2085 .J6 1968b
Publication Date: 1968
The Stage Lighting Handbook by Francis Reid
Call Number: PN 2091 .E4 R4 2001bx
ISBN: 0713653965
Publication Date: 2001
"The Stage Lighting Handbook" is well established as the classic practical lighting guide. The book explains the process of designing lighting for all forms of stage production and describes the equipment used. This new edition includes up-to-date information on new equipment and discusses its impact on working methods.
Theatre Lighting from A to Z by Norman C. Boulanger
Call Number: REF PN 2091 .E4 B59 1992
ISBN: 0295972149
Publication Date: 1992
Includes bibliographical references (p. 196-197) and index.
Theatrical Design and Production by J. Michael Gillette
Call Number: OVERSIZE PN2085 .G5 2013
ISBN: 0073382221
Publication Date: 2012
Theatrical Design and Production is a comprehensive and practical survey that examines the technical and design aspects of play production, including scene design and construction, lighting, sound, costume, and makeup. Design is presented as both an art closely integrated with the director's, actor's, and playwright's visions, and a craft that provides practical solutions for the physical manipulation of stage space.

Online Resources for Set Design

The 10 Commandments of Stage Management
Basic Stage Manager Duties
Directory of Theatrical Prop Shops
Online Images
Looking for pictures of period props? Try Google Images using different synonyms and years. Example: us army rations 1942
Prop Agenda: Making & Finding Props for Theatre, Film, & Hobbies
The Properties Directors Handbook
Props & Wardrobe for sale on eBay
Set Design FAQ
Stage Manager Duties
Theatre House Theatrical Supplies
Theatre Production 101
Performing arts from the local and regional perspective, from little theatres to regional venues, and encompassing all aspects of staging, production, administration, promotion, and more.

Online Museums

Daphne Dare Collection
This collection includes costume and scene designs from more than fifty productions by British designer Daphne Dare (1929-2000). Dare designed for major theatres on both sides of the Atlantic as well as for television and film.
Helen Louise Allen Textile Collection
The mission of the Helen Louise Allen Textile Collection is to further "the understanding of human beings within their material and social environments through the study of textiles of artistic, cultural, and historic significance." It is primarily a teaching collection serving the University of Wisconsin-Madison's School of Human Ecology's Design Studies Department. It includes 13,000 textiles and related objects spanning spanning various places, techniques, and time periods.
more...less...
The Digital Collections database provides open access to images and cataloging information for almost 9,000 items in the HLATC. This unique trove is very useful for research and instruction in the study of textiles. The collection is especially strong in ethnographic textiles and costumes from all over the world, especially Latin American, African, South and Southeast Asian, and Turkish objects. It is also strong in 19th- and 20th-century American and European home furnishing and apparel fabrics. The database is fully searchable by keyword, title, subject, and geographic area. (Y. Cortes, Skidmore College for CHOICE)
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
The collections of the Prints & Photographs Division include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
Lucas Museum of Narrative Art - Set Design
A collection of narrative art that tells stories from many places and times—some you will recognize, others that will become new favorite tales.
Motley Collection of Theatre and Costume Design
The digitized version of the Motley Collection of Theatre and Costume Design is based on originals housed in the Rare Book & Manuscript Library at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. The Motley Collection consists of over 5000 costume and set designs, sketches, notes, photographs, prop lists, storyboards, and swatches of fabric. The collection documents 150 productions of Shakespeare and modern classics, dating from 1932 to 1976, staged in England and the United States, from the West
more...less...
The majority of the collection has been digitized, and can be searched by play title, theater name, actor and director names, as well as medium. In addition, production notes have been compiled for selected plays; for example, a researcher interested in a 1954 production of A Midsummer Night's Dream can view excerpts of reviews, commentary from the set and costume designer, Margaret Harris, and a cast list including Vanessa Redgrave who played Helena.
[DS]
New York Public Library Digital Collections
This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring over 700,000 prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
Virtual Tours: Museums
Over 300 virtual tours and museums around the world.