LibGuides: English As A Second Language: Dictionaries

Online Dictionaries

Merriam Webster's English Dictionary
Merriam-Webster's English Dictionary is a great, free resource for quick definitions on most common words in English.
The Free Dictionary
Oxford English DIctionary
This dictionary gives very detailed definitions. You can access it online when you are on campus. If you are off campus, you will need to access it via our OhioLINK databases from the Maag Library website.

Print Dictionaries

A Dictionary of American Idioms by Adam Makkai; Maxine Tull Boatner (Editor); John Edward Gates (Editor); Brenda Belmonte
Call Number: PE2839 .D5 2004
ISBN: 0764119826
Publication Date: 2004-03-01
Dictionary of Americanisms by Richard Lederer; John Russell Bartlett
Call Number: PE2835 .B3 2003
ISBN: 047122877X
Publication Date: 2003-01-03
A classic reference book on American slang.
Longman Handy Learner's Dictionary of American English by Laurence Delacroix (Editor); Pearson Education Staff
ISBN: 0582364728
Publication Date: 2000-10-02
This popular, pocket-size dictionary is ideal for students who need a quick and easy reference to American words and phrases. This handy new dictionary also has a hard-wearing plastic cover.
McGraw-Hill Education - Essential ESL Dictionary by McGraw-Hill Education Editors
ISBN: 9780071840187
Publication Date: 2014-09-04
Learn and understand thousands of new English words. This book was developed to meet the needs of ESL students.
McGraw-Hill's American Idioms Dictionary by Richard A. Spears
ISBN: 9780071478939
Publication Date: 2006-12-04
Shape up your English with thousands of idioms.
Newbury House Dictionary of American English with Integrated Thesaurus by Philip M. Rideout; Newbury House Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 0883770172
Publication Date: 2003-07-08
This dictionary focuses on what English language learners need and want to know.
NTC's American Idioms Dictionary by Richard A. Spears
Call Number: PE2839 .S64 1994
ISBN: 0844208256
Publication Date: 1995-02-01
Completely revised, updated, reorganized, and enlarged with 600 new entries. Essential for writers and learners of American English.
The Merriam-Webster Dictionary by Merriam-Webster, Inc. Staff (Editor)
ISBN: 9780877799306
Publication Date: 2004-07-04
A completely revised edition! This best-selling language reference covers the core vocabulary of everyday life. More than 75,000 definitions. Includes pronunciations, word origins, synonym lists, and more than 7,000 usage examples.