African American History Resources

Below are some of the databases available in the A-Z Research Databases list:

AMERICA: HISTORY & LIFE (EBSCO)
Index and abstracts of literature covering the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

DIVERSITY STUDIES (Gale OneFile)
Includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals in social science, history, and liberal arts.

NEWSBANK: BLACK LIFE IN AMERICA
Comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from earliest times to today. Sourced from nearly 19,000 American and global newspapers from 1704 to the present, including over 400 African American newspapers.

RACE RELATIONS ABSTRACTS (EBSCO)
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

U.S. HISTORY (Gale in Context)
Primary and secondary history sources combined with media-rich selections.

U.S. HISTORY (Gale OneFile)
Provides full-text, balanced coverage of both current thoughts on events in U.S. history as well as scholarly work established in the field.

FILMS ON DEMAND
Keyword search or click on three parallel lines at top left of screen to view Subjects, Popular Categories, and Featured Producers. Subjects: Ethnic & Diversity under Cultural Anthropology.

Black Soldier, White Army: The 24th Infantry Regiment in Korea: Center of Military History, U.S. Army

Freedom by the Sword: The U.S. Colored Troops, 1862-1867: U.S. Army, Center of Military History

Integration of the Armed Forces, 1940-1965: Center of Military History, U.S. Army

Lift Every Voice : Planning Guide: National Museum of African American History & Culture, Smithsonian

Path Breakers: U.S. Marine African American Officers in Their Own Words: History Division, United States Marine Corps

Tuskegee Airmen Chronology: Organizational History Branch, Air Force Historical Research Agency