LibGuides: Environmental Sciences Subject Guide: Articles

Finding Print and Electronic (Online) Articles

Most Environmental Science journals are available through online subscription databases with access limited to current YSU faculty, students and staff. Search by title or ISSN in Maag Journal Finder to find a specific journal. Results show if the journal is available through a subscription database to current YSU faculty, students, and staff. Or, you can browse specific categories in Maag Journal Finder such as Environmental Sciences to find journals. Listed below are the primary databases in which to find articles on stem cell research.

American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals
Use this database index for an initial search of chemistry articles.
Directory of Open-Access Journals (DOAJ)

Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK)
Full-text article repository. Do definitive searches in other databases and then retrieve article/s through the EJC.
Includes the full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas. Most electronic indexes available to the Ohio academic community link from article citations to the full text in the EJC.
Energy & Power Source (EBSCO)
A comprehensive full-text database providing information to the energy and power industries.
The collection provides full-text information to the energy and power industries, including areas focused on petroleum, natural gas, electric power, coal, nuclear power, renewable energy, among others. This product provides information on research, exploration, extraction, processing, production, distribution, marketing, selling, and more. The database's indexing covers energy-related journals, monographs, magazines, and trade publications. Included are energy-focused industry and market reports, benchmarks, and best practices.
Environment Complete (EBSCO)
Indexes, abstracts and full text of articles on environmental studies.
Covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. The database indexes approximately 1,200 domestic and international journals, as well as 100 monographs and provides full text to the conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.
GeoRef (EBSCO)
Database indexes geo-science literature: Geology of North America (1785-present) and worldwide geology (1933-present), and includes references to all USGS publications.
GeoRef covers the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered.

Over 3,500 journals are reviewed for indexing as well as books, maps, government reports, conference papers, and theses and dissertations.
JSTOR
Indexes up to the last 3-5 years. In Advanced Search select from subcategories such as "Aquatic Sciences" or "Ecology and Evolutionary Biology."
With 50 million pages digitized, and an additional 3 million pages added each year, JSTOR includes more than 2,000 academic journals, plus thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Access to approximately 3,000 journal titles. While some titles and ebooks are not available to YSU students, others may be found in OhioLINK's Electronic Journal Center (EJC).
SciFinder
First-time users must register for a SciFinder account:
HOW TO REGISTER FOR A SCIFINDER ACCOUNT
American Chemical Society. The choice for Chemistry research.
SciFinder Training

SciFinder Registration Directions
How to do first-time registration with SciFinder.

Web of Science
Indexes, abstracts, and cited references for articles in the sciences.
Using Web of Science Guide
Basic Web of Science training
More Extensive Web of Science training

Reference Librarian: Science & Engineering

Christine Adams

Email Me

Contact:

Christine Adams, MLS
Co-Director & Head of Research and Academic Support
William F. Maag Jr. Library
Information Services
Phone: 330.941.3681
Email: cmadams02@ysu.edu

330.941.3681

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Company Information, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Geography, Government Information, Hospitality & Tourism, Industry Research, Management, Marketing, Ohio, Statistics