It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journals that Maag Library receives in print are found on Maag's sixth floor. Search for them through MaagNet or browse by Library of Congress (LC) call numbers.
Electronic (Online) Articles
Many Biology journals are available through online subscription databases, which allow access by current YSU faculty, students and staff from off campus; a few are on-campus use only. Use the resources listed below to start your research.
Find Maag Library journal access through the Maag Journal Finder. Search for a specific journal by title or ISSN or browse under the Biology or Life Sciences general discipline categories. Once one of these categories has been selected, filter the search by selecting specific topics from the the left-side subjects listings.
Database for the National Agricultural Library (NAL) as well as agricultre and allied disciplines (plant sciences, forestry).
Indexed publications and resources encompass all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition. Auxiliary subjects that support NAL's Information Center activities, such as agricultural trade and marketing, rural information, and animal welfare are also included.
Full-text article repository. Do definitive searches in other databases and then retrieve article/s through the EJC.
Includes the full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas. Most electronic indexes available to the Ohio academic community link from article citations to the full text in the EJC.
Covers ecosystems, ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater, pollution & waste management, environmental technology & law as well as public policy, social impacts, and urban planning.
Covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. The database indexes approximately 1,200 domestic and international journals, as well as 100 monographs and provides full text to the conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.
Indexes up to the last 3-5 years of journals. In Advanced Search use any of the following categories: "Biological Sciences," "Botany and Plant Sciences," "Developmental and Cell Biology." "Ecology and Evolutionary Biology," or "Zoology."
With 50 million pages digitized, and an additional 3 million pages added each year, JSTOR includes more than 2,000 academic journals, plus thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education.
National Library of Medicine (NLM) database; includes pre-print publications.
Provides access to MEDLINE, the NLM database of more than 11 million bibliographic citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Includes access to additional selected life sciences journals not in MEDLINE. Links to the full-text of articles at participating publishers web sites. Links to the molecular biology databases maintained by NCBI. Interface developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Links to full-text of selected articles are available using this URL to access PubMed.
Nature is the world's most highly cited interdisciplinary science journal, according to the 2013 Journal Citation Reports Science Edition (Thomson Reuters, 2014). Its Impact Factor is 42.351. The impact factor of a journal is calculated by dividing the number of citations in a calendar year to the source items published in that journal during the previous two years. It is an independent measure calculated by Thomson Reuters, Philadelphia, USA.
Brings breaking news in scientific research and science policy, including ScienceInsider (news and analysis from the world of science policy), and Sifter, a pointing to the best science stories on the web.