Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to Youngstown State University's Maag Library!
This is a subject guide specifically created to assist students in the Social Work program locate information and resources to successfully complete research and assignments. The guide will cover the library collection, statistics, data sets, databases, journals and government, organization and private websites essential to social work research.
Use MaagNet to search for books that are available here at YSU. These books can be checked out until the end of the semester. Look for the Call Number, Status, and Location before going to find your book
Use OhioLink to search for books throughout the state of Ohio. Books can be checked out for 21 days at a time and renewed up to 6 times. They will be delivered to YSU in 2-3 days. Use the green button to request items.
OneSearch allows users to search the MaagNet and OhioLINK catalogs, Electronic Journals, online articles, multimedia resources, eBooks, and more all through one search box. This is a great place to begin research!
Social Work- Background Information
Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare by
Call Number: HV40|b.C635 2008
Publication Date: 2008-03-07
The Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare presents a comprehensive and up-to-date review of this constantly evolving field, featuring contributions from renowned national and international experts. Organized by major foundational areas within the social work curriculum, each volume includes cutting-edge information related to all aspects of the profession to guide practice and policy decision-making across the field. Social work researchers, educators, practitioners, and students will gain important insight as well as practical resources related to this dynamic profession.
International Encyclopedia of Public Policy and Administration by
Publication Date: 1997-11-13
This four-volume encyclopedia is the first major international and comprehensive reference to combine public administration and policy in a single work.Containing approximately 900 articles by over 300 experts, the International Encyclopedia of Public Policy and Administration covers all of the core concepts, terms, and processes of the following areas: applied behavioral science, budgeting, comparative public administration, development administration, industrial/organizational psychology, industrial policy, international trade, labor relations, management, nonprofit management, organization theory and behavior, policy analysis, political economy, political science, public administration, public finance, public law, public management, public personnel administration, public policy, and taxation.
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culture by
Publication Date: 2006-04-12
The Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culturecovers gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender and queer (GLBTQ) life and culture post-1945, with a strong international approach to the subject. The scope of the work is extremely comprehensive, with entries falling into the broad categories of Dance, Education, Film, Health, Homophobia, the Internet, Literature, Music, Performance, and Politics. Slang is also covered. The international contributors come from a wide array of backgrounds: scholars, journalists, artists, doctors, scientists, lawyers, activists, and an enormous range of ideologies and points of view are represented. Major entries provide in-depth information and consider the intellectual and cultural implications of their subjects in a global context. Information is completely up-to-date, including full coverage and analysis of such current or ongoing issues as same-sex marriage/civil union and the international AIDS epidemic. Additionally, there are important appendices covering international sodomy laws and archival institutions, which will be of great value to researchers. The Encyclopediais fully cross-referenced and many entries carry a bibliography. Where possible internet references have been given and there is a full index. The combination of its wide scope, determined international coverage and appendices make the Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culturea uniquely ambitious work and an extremely rich source of information. It is a priority addition for all libraries serving scholars and students with an interest in GLBTQ culture, history and politics across the disciplines.
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women by
Publication Date: 2000-12-27
For a full list of entries and contributors, sample entries, and more, visit the Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women website. Featuring comprehensive global coverage of women's issues and concerns, from violence and sexuality to feminist theory, the Routledge International Encyclopedia of Womenbrings the field into the new millennium. In over 900 signed A-Z entries from US and Europe, Asia, the Americas, Oceania, and the Middle East, the women who pioneered the field from its inception collaborate with the new scholars who are shaping the future of women's studies to create the new standard work for anyone who needs information on women-related subjects.
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America
Publication Date: 2003-12-05
This new three-volume set is an accessible and scholarly reference that provides a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States. Long needed by researchers, the "Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America includes approximately 545 articles ranging from short biographical entries to longer essays surveying topics such as the Stonewall riots, federal law and policy, same-sex institutions and AIDS. Wide-ranging in scope, this new encyclopedia complements courses in a variety of disciplines, including history, American studies, literature, psychology, sociology and others. Features include a guide to archival sources, a chronology/timeline, a historical overview essay and a comprehensive index.
Reference Librarian, Health & Human Services
Subjects: Dental Hygiene
, Family & Consumer Studies
, Health & Wellness
, Hospitality & Tourism
, Human Ecology
, Kinesiology & Sport Science
, Physical Therapy
, Social Work