LibGuides: Social Work: Finding Articles

Psychology and Sociology Databases

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Covers emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. This database includes nearly 515 full text titles and over 490 peer-reviewed journals.

Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. Offers content of interest to both researchers and general users.

PsycINFO
Electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
SocINDEX
Covers all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Social Work Abstracts (1965-Present)
Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service, and social issues and problems.
Sociological Collection
A comprehensive database covering information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. This database provides complete full text for more than 500 important journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.

Using the Maag Journal Finder

If you are looking for the full text of a specific article you will need:

The full citation for an article (Journal name, author, title or the article, volume/issue number, year published, page numbers)

If you are looking for any journal in your subject area you will need:

The main focus area of your research

For Full Text:

1) Make sure you are in the titles tab

2) Search for the name of the journal in your citation

3) Choose the link that matches your journal name and has the year listed in your citation

*NOTE: Embargo 1 year means that articles are not available online until they have been published for 1 year.

For Browsing your Subject Area:

1) Make sure you are in the subjects tab

2) Choose your subject area in the drop down menu

3) Select the sub-section closest to your research topic. This will give you a list of subject specialty journals.

Screenshot of page showing subject search for medicine

General Resources

Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 4300 periodicals and contains full text for over 3400 scholarly publications.
Directory of Open Access Journals
A directory of freely accessible full-text scholarly journals. There are over 1600 journals that can be browsed, with over 400 that can be searched for articles. To see if a journal is listed, click “Find Journals.” To search for articles on a particular topic, click “Search Articles.”
EBSCO E-Book Collection
Electronic books (e-books) with an imprint earlier than 2005 on many academic subjects.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Over 25,000 encyclopedic entries.
Gale Power Search
Collection of authoritative periodicals,scholarly journals, newspapers, and reference content.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Select electronic reference materials from Gale.
General OneFile--Gale
Gale's largest general-interest database, with more than 8,000 titles--many full text without embargo.
Global Issues in Context
Global Issues in Context ties together sources to present a rich analysis of issues--social, political, military, economic, environmental, science-related, health-related, cultural--and headlines in world hot spots. Provides information on 21st-century issues and events while highlighting global connections and the interdependence of all nations.
MasterFILE Premier
Index, abstracts, and full text from popular magazines covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more. Designed for a general (as opposed to academic) audience.
Newspaper Source
Full text for regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, and newspaper columns.
OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC)
Full-text articles from OhioLINK electronic journal subscription databases. Currently includes over 4000 scholarly journals.
Web of Science
Provides references to cited authors and articles as well as keyword searches for the journal literature of the sciences. On the initial screen, select Web of Science. On the next screen, select the databases/years you would like to search, then click either “General Search” for topics or “Cited Ref Search” to find where an article has been cited.

Requesting an Article Not Available Full Text

Sometimes you will find an article that is not available full text. To get a copy of this article for free you can fill out the Journal Article Request Form. Note: This process can take 1-2 weeks to complete depending on responses from other libraries.

1) Go to the Journal Article Request Form. You will be asked to log in if you have not already.

Screenshot of MaagNET Library Record Logon Page

2) Fill out the citation information for the article you want, then click "SUBMIT THIS REQUEST" when finished.

Screenshot of InterLibrary Loan Journal Request Form