Skip to main content

Archives & Special Collections: Archives

Learn about the Archives' collections and how to use them.

Where to find the Archives

The Archives and Special Collections is located on the 5th floor of Maag Library

campus map

Tel: 330-941-3487

Hours: Monday-Friday, 1pm to 4pm

Like our FaceBook page

Follow Maag Library on Twitter (@MaagYSU)

Catalog

Digital Archive

The University Archives contains historical records from campus offices and departments dating from the founding of Youngstown College in 1908. Although we have some early records, most of the archival collections cover the years after the University joined the State system (1967) up to the present day. These records generally include meeting minutes, correspondence, reports, publications, and budget records. 

Also included in the Archives are a small set of papers of faculty members, staff, and alumni.

Some of these collections are available online at Digital.Maag, but most of the archival collections must be used in the Reading Room on the 5th floor of Maag Library during our open hours (or by appointment). Archives staff is ready to help researchers locate the right materials. 

Photocopying/Scanning Policy:

There are no self-service photocopy machines in this department due to the fragile nature of the materials. The staff will evaluate the materials requested to be photocopied on criteria such as the tightness of the binding, fragility of the paper, and the size of the item. If they can be copied without damage, the staff will do the copy/scanning as time permits. Large orders may take several days to complete. Researchers may use their own hand-held cameras to make “fair use” or study copies of materials in good condition. The use of bright lights, copy stands, or other equipment deemed harmful to the materials is not permitted.

The University Archives and Special Collections department abides by the U.S. Copyright Law, section 108 and has the right to refuse a copying order if, in their judgment, fulfillment of the order would violate any of the copyright law. By providing reproductions or digital copies, the Library does NOT grant permission to publish or exhibit. Reproductions are provided for educational, scholarly, and informational purposes only. If needed, it is the users’ responsibility to get the appropriate permissions for all materials used, including books, theses, Jambar articles, and photographs. 

What makes it archival?

Archival material is made of inactive records that have been evaluated and kept because they have historical or research value. They are usually unique, paper records, and are therefore different than published books you find on a library shelf. Due to their uniqueness and research value, they must be kept in a secure area and be handled carefully. 

Finding Aids

A finding aid is a document that describes an archival collection. It gives information about the creator of the collection, its scope, and the kinds of documents that are included in it. It will also have a list of the files in each box of the collection. Archivists make an effort to keep collections in the same order in which they were created and/or used, so each collection has a unique arrangement. 

Each collection in the Archives has a finding aid or a preliminary inventory. Most of them are available online.