Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where to find the Archives
The Archives and Special Collections is located on the 5th floor of Maag Library.
Hours: by appointment only
Like our FaceBook page
Follow Maag Library on Twitter (@MaagYSU)
More detailed descriptions of our archival collections and some digital versions of them can be found in Digital.Maag.
Resources in Maag Library
The University Archives collects many different types of items that document the history of Youngstown State University. Archives staff members are available to help patrons find the right resources for their research.
Our most popular materials include:
- Yearbooks (1926-1992, 2004-2006)
- Course catalogs (1930-2015)
- Youngstown City directories (1880, 1889, 1895-2013)
- Dana School of Music concert programs (1962- present)
- Commencement programs (1922- present)
We also collect papers from University departments, faculty members, and student groups. Inventories and descriptions of these collections can be found in our Finding Aids.
Our collection of historical photographs can be found and searched on our online archives. More recent photographs are accessible in the University Archives.
Digital.Maag is the online archival repository for the University.
Particular communities that will be useful for researchers include:
Books about YSU history
Youngstown State University: From YoCo to YSU by As Youngstown State University prepares to celebrate its centennial anniversary in 2008, this book is a reflection on its history and heritage. Starting as a YMCA law school in 1908, the institution that became Youngstown State University is now a major and vital force in the community and the region. The images collected here illustrate the transformation of the institution from a storefront operation in the downtown area, to classroom space in former mansions, to a full-blown 21st-century campus. As the community itself became more diverse, the institution that it spawned followed suit as did its student body, faculty, staff, and programs.
Call Number: LD6373 .D43 2007x
Publication Date: 2007
Youngstown history resources
This guide lists sources for information about the city of Youngstown and surrounding areas. They are available in Maag Library or online.