Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CMST 1545 - Communication Foundations: Speeches

Resources for research projects & speeches

QUOTATION SOURCES

Bartleby.com: Familiar Quotations: over 11,000 searchable quotations

Bartleby.com: Quotations: 120,000 most authoritative quotations on the web, with 50,000 other short selections.

BrainyQuote: Family-friendly quotations from history's most prominent figures through to today's newsmakers - famous celebrities, athletes, politicians, authors, and everything in between.

Inspirational Quotes: Thousands of quotations by topic to inspire and motivate.

Quote Investigator: Records the investigatory work of Garson O’Toole who diligently seeks the truth about quotations. Who really said what?

The Quotations Page: Over 28,000 quotations online from over 3,400 authors.

Quoteland.com: Steps and search engine for tracking down quotes.

QuoteWorld.org: Over 15,000 quotations and famous quotes.

Wikiquote: Free online compendium of sourced quotations from notable people.

SPEECH COLLECTIONS & GOVERNMENT RESOURCES

The American Presidency Project: Authoritative, non-partisan source for presidential public documents. Seeks to promote a more informed citizenry, high quality scholarly and media analysis, and a better understanding of American democracy throughout the world.

American RadioWorks: Say It Plain Say It Loud: A Century of Great African American Speeches

American Rhetoric Online Speech Bank: Database of and index to 5,000+ audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two.

Bartleby.com: Inaugural Addresses of the Presidents of the United States

C-SPAN: Live access to the proceedings of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate, and to other forums where public policy is discussed, debated and decided.

Congress.gov: Official website for U.S. federal legislative information.

CRS Reports: The Congressional Research Service  approaches complex topics from a variety of perspectives and examines all sides of an issue. Staff members analyze current policies and present the impact of proposed policy alternatives.

EmersonKent.com: Famous Speeches in History

Gifts of Speech: Women's Speeches from Around the World: Nonprofit project dedicated to preserving and creating access to speeches by inspirational, influential and contemporary, women from around the world.

The Guardian: Great Speeches of the 20th Century

History & Politics Out Loud: Listen to famous speeches made by influential leaders of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.

The History Channel: Speeches & Audio

The History Place: Great Speeches Collection

Internet Archive: Greatest Speeches of the 20th Century

Miller Center: Presidential Speeches: Specializes in presidential scholarship, public policy, and political history and strives to apply the lessons of history and civil discourse to the nation's most pressing contemporary governance challenges.

National Jukebox: Historical recordings from the Library of Congress.

TED Talks: Nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). Covers almost all topics in more than 100 languages.

Database Resource

Vital Speeches of the Day: 10/8/1934 to present in Academic Search Complete
Monthly collection of the best speeches in the world.